WMIPRVSE.EXE?

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Rilla927, Sep 9, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Rilla927

    Rilla927 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    1,710
    I have two entries in OP FW of wmiprvse.exe so I done a search for this file and the search came up with 8 of them. Do you guys have this many? Is this normal? Also it asked for direct disk access through OP and I blocked it.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    Assuming it is not some malware (probably not but double check if uncertain) allow it access in OP
     
  3. Hel

    Hel Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Posts:
    1
    Imho, it looks suspicious to me. Geniune should locate here C:\Windows\System32 wmiprvse.exe but you have several from different folders.
     
  4. Rilla927

    Rilla927 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    1,710
    I'm using vista so I don't know if that is usual.
     
  5. ABee

    ABee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Posts:
    330
    Apparently it's not. (I'm not overly familiar with Vista.)

    You have the actual 'wmiprvse.exe' in system32/wbem, right where it's supposed to be.
    You have 'prefetch' listings. (Multiple, but probably for the same reason as below.) Nothing unusual about that.
    You have listings for the 'Windows Side by Side' folder (winsxs). Nothing unusual there, either:

    SxS.png

    https://www.faultwire.com/file_detail/wmiprvse.exe*41939.html

    I imagine it's the different .dlls in the SxS folder being called by wmiprvse.exe that gives you the multiple firewall entries.
     
  6. Rilla927

    Rilla927 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    1,710
    Thanks Abee. I guess that explains it.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.