Wither Nod64?

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by Escalader, Nov 7, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Escalader

    Escalader Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Posts:
    3,710
    Location:
    Land of the Mooses
    I know I can download a 64 bit version. But I'm assuming ( always dangerous) that it is the "same" as the 32 bit just tweaked to run in a 64 bit environment.

    So my question for ESET is are you guys working on Nod64?:D
     
  2. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    What benefits would you have from a native 64-bit version? There wouldn't be any noticable to common users.
     
  3. ccomputertek

    ccomputertek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Posts:
    371
    I have a better question, can you run the 32 bit on 64 bit OS, I know you can run / install 32 bit apps on 64, why does antivirus have to be 64 bit on 64bit OS ?
     
  4. ePost

    ePost Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Posts:
    105
    It's a great marketing idea. :cool: Nod64. Sounds progressive and ahead of things. And when Microsoft finishes Windows 8 with 128-bit you should have a Nod128...
     
    Last edited: Nov 7, 2009
  5. Escalader

    Escalader Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Posts:
    3,710
    Location:
    Land of the Mooses
    Hi Marcos:

    Hey! It was just a question not a challenge. So the answer is no for now.

    Other than the advantages due to 64 bit systems addressing larger memory arrays and the speed I can't answer your question. If I read you right I can just use the Nod32 64 bit version and be happy! :D
     
  6. Escalader

    Escalader Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Posts:
    3,710
    Location:
    Land of the Mooses
    Well Marco didn't agree! No problem! But yes it does "sound" advanced. Taking your post and pushing it out Windows 256 would need Nod256! ;)
     
  7. stratoc

    stratoc Guest

    what problems are you having with the 64 bit version?
     
  8. jimwillsher

    jimwillsher Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    Posts:
    668
    He's not...
     
  9. Escalader

    Escalader Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Posts:
    3,710
    Location:
    Land of the Mooses

    Hi :

    Right, all this was caused by my OP which was only a question.

    Is a Nod64 being worked on? The answer is apparently no, and there is not a sense that it would have any value.

    I'm not having problems (yet) running on 64 bit W7, as the machine has yet to arrive.
     
  10. agoretsky

    agoretsky Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,032
    Location:
    California
    Hello,

    ESET NOD32 Antivirus (and ESET Smart Security) are compatible with both 32-bit (x86) and 64-bit (x64) operating systems. For 64-bit versions of Microsoft Windows, the parts of the program which need to be in 64-bit code are 64-bit, such as filter drivers, while other parts that do not show major benefits from being refactored are in 32-bit code.

    Keep in mind that these days, "NOD32" is more of a generic name than a statement of only being compatible with 32-bit operating systems.

    Regards,

    Aryeh Goretsky
     
  11. Escalader

    Escalader Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Posts:
    3,710
    Location:
    Land of the Mooses

    Hi Aryeh:

    Now that's a response I really like. Seems Eset has worked the 64 bit portions that matter.

    You make a good point re the "32" ! Shows the wisdom of not putting anything techi in future product names! No sooner than you get it done and the technology shifts and the name "appears" outdated!
     
  12. agoretsky

    agoretsky Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,032
    Location:
    California
    Hello,

    Not really anything anti-malware specific, but I found a message here on a mailing list discussing some of the differences between 32- and 64-bit software for Microsoft Windows.

    Regards,

    Aryeh Goretsky
     
  13. Escalader

    Escalader Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Posts:
    3,710
    Location:
    Land of the Mooses
    Thanks again, the interest in this 64 bit is I suspect very linked to W7. There is a sea change occurring and not just due to my individual concerns. I just returned from BB and NOT 1 32 bit processor was on the floor.
     
  14. ccomputertek

    ccomputertek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Posts:
    371

    I must have had a brain fart when I posted that question, I should have known the answer, of course the drivers need to be 64-BIT :gack: :ouch:
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.