WiseVector Stop-X

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by bellgamin, Aug 10, 2020.

  1. tadaima

    tadaima Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2021
    Posts:
    1
    Location:
    United States
    Running WiseVector on a fresh XP install, with SP3 installed as well as the unofficial SP4 and post-SP4 update. Many times, after logging in, WV will freeze my taskbar and prevent me from opening programs, including Task Manager. This usually prevents me from using the Start Menu and therefore bars me from shutting down without holding down the power button. On the rare occasion that nothing has frozen, I will be alerted that "NotifyMsg" is not responding and will be given the option to end the task. After ending the task, the system will wait about half a minute to start shutting down.

    This happens with both 2.73 and the 3.00 beta, so I don't think it's a conflict with the Windows Firewall (which I have not disabled). Disabling automatic updates for WV also had no effect. After installing WV (which I have to do in Safe Mode), the problem vanishes.

    Is there anything I can do to prevent this problem, or should I wait for the next version?
     
  2. WiseVector

    WiseVector Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2020
    Posts:
    471
    Location:
    China
    Hi,
    Thanks for your advice and support! Yes, we would like to sell 3-5 years license.:)
     
  3. WiseVector

    WiseVector Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2020
    Posts:
    471
    Location:
    China
    Thanks for your feedback. We are going to do more in-depth tests on XP. Please wait for the V3.01 to be released.
     
    Last edited: Jun 30, 2021
  4. GPM

    GPM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2014
    Posts:
    18
    Latest Windows 10 update, 3.00 beta, CS Comodo configuration and iVPN with Wireguard connection. Internet connection dropped every 6-8 hours. Nothing short of rebooting would restore connection. Reinstalled 2.73 and no further drops.
     
  5. WiseVector

    WiseVector Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2020
    Posts:
    471
    Location:
    China
    Hi GPM,

    I think we have solved this problem in 3.01, we will release V3.01 ASAP, thank you for your feedback.
     
  6. Eru

    Eru Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Posts:
    104
    Location:
    Poland - Sosnowiec
    Hi!
    Will there be a lifetime license?
     
  7. Hiltihome

    Hiltihome Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2013
    Posts:
    1,031
    Location:
    Baden Germany
  8. Eru

    Eru Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Posts:
    104
    Location:
    Poland - Sosnowiec
  9. drhu22

    drhu22 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Posts:
    507
    From all Ive read the free version still gives very good protection, esp with Cruelsister's Comodo Firewall config, so dont discount it completely.
     
  10. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    7,999
    It's not viable for AV publishers to provide lifetime licenses. But there will continue to be a free version, and it provides excellent protection.
     
  11. Lyx

    Lyx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Posts:
    133
    Hello,
    This is generally true, but not completely true. For example, I have 2 lifetime MBAM license, but (for what I remember)
    this offer was only made for a short period of time.
     
    Last edited: Jul 7, 2021
  12. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    7,999
    I have a lifetime Malwarebytes license too, and yes they stopped selling lifetime licenses years ago, because it wasn't viable to keep offering them.
     
  13. digmor crusher

    digmor crusher Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2012
    Posts:
    907
    Location:
    Canada
    yes, but they stopped selling them, 2014maybe, because it wasn't viable financially. Very few, if any, softs are lifetime now and if they are chances are they won't be around long.
     
  14. lucd

    lucd Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2018
    Posts:
    640
    Location:
    Island of Woman
    as far as I know they sell lifetime licenses all the time with software, the problem is that is a lie, when they release major version they ask to pay price differences or to upgrade
    not talking about this programme but in general, this is what happens - a marketing trick. Nothing is permanent or very rarely is
     
  15. Baldrick

    Baldrick Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2002
    Posts:
    2,585
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    Hi WV

    Any news as to the release of v3.01?
     
  16. WiseVector

    WiseVector Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2020
    Posts:
    471
    Location:
    China
    Thanks for your concern.
    V3.01 will be released in a few days.
     
  17. Baldrick

    Baldrick Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2002
    Posts:
    2,585
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    Thanks WV

    I can hardly wait. :D
     
  18. WiseVector

    WiseVector Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2020
    Posts:
    471
    Location:
    China
    Next week;)
     
  19. Baldrick

    Baldrick Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2002
    Posts:
    2,585
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    :rolleyes::isay::geek:
     
  20. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    9,593
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    This is a vital security program "especially" for those who rely on or use predominately Windows XP-7 and 8 as their workhorse system.

    On 10 it's simply icing on the cake. The other predecessor Windows Versions certainly cannot rely on depreciated windows defender and it's likely the mainstream commercial heavyweights, formidable as they are, use plenty of low end system juice
     
  21. lucd

    lucd Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2018
    Posts:
    640
    Location:
    Island of Woman
    for those who rely on or use predominately Windows XP-7

    I am not sure Easter, Umbra who I believe is a smart guy said you need system patches to stop certain exploits, (system and hardware level exploits) I am not sure an AV can handle this
     
    Last edited: Jul 13, 2021
  22. WiseVector

    WiseVector Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2020
    Posts:
    471
    Location:
    China
  23. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    17,278
    Location:
    UK
    Installed over the top without issue.
    Reboot required.
     
  24. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    17,278
    Location:
    UK
    With real time protection on I do a quick scan using 3.0.1 beta..
    Why does it not show in the scan logs?
    Does it have to find something in order to have a log?
     
  25. WiseVector

    WiseVector Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2020
    Posts:
    471
    Location:
    China
    Yes, the log only records malicious activities.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.