WiseVector Stop-X

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by bellgamin, Aug 10, 2020.

  1. lucd

    lucd Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2018
    Posts:
    591
    Location:
    Island of Woman
    I create very large files very often, I work with large files, can I be impacted, normally an AV checks hashes, when I exit WVSX I am bit faster
     
    Last edited: Jun 10, 2021
  2. WiseVector

    WiseVector Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2020
    Posts:
    421
    Location:
    China
    You can prevent WVSX from scanning new files by clicking Settings->Real-Time Protection->Set up-> uncheck "Scan on file creation"
     
  3. Mops21

    Mops21 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Posts:
    2,335
    Location:
    Germany
  4. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    9,296
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    Greetings @WiseVector

    This question is apparent. On time frame for new release beta WVSX.
     
  5. Antarctica

    Antarctica Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Posts:
    1,953
    Location:
    Canada
    @EASTER, I like your avatar! How was Windows 9 by the way:D
     
  6. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    9,296
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    Thanks and HI @Antarctica. Always good for me to read your posts. :)

    Working simply awesome. What you do is take the default Windows 8.1 and begin scaling back useless services and adding via regfile right click context menu items of importance to your preferences. Such as https://superuser.com/questions/120...rshell-to-open-with-command-prompt-when-shift

    (Works with Windows 10 latest) Why chase after settings when you can have them at your fingertips.

    Strip away default files icons (yes even SYSTEM) and replace them with 21st Century streamlines. I could go on and on but you get the point.

    Another reason that it's so refreshing that WVSX sports a flat super and simple settings menu as well as fantastic GUI. Best part is that WiseVector unlike others, focuses on what matters. It's excellent functionalities while being so very lite.
     
    Last edited: Jun 16, 2021
  7. avman1995

    avman1995 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    Posts:
    944
    Location:
    india
    @WiseVector Is the beta coming out this week or next? This week is already coming to an end pretty much... :D
     
    Last edited: Jun 17, 2021
  8. avman1995

    avman1995 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    Posts:
    944
    Location:
    india
    Really Impressive how WSVX signature detections are so strong.... This ransomware sample was very new and hardly 3 vendors caught it (SecureAplus APEX misses it as well) but WSVX sigs caught it! Check this hash on virustotal
    2f358fd158f4d54b786f1361663da584
     
  9. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    9,296
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    Just did. WVSX making a formidable splash on circumventing the mundane into Excelling!
     
  10. WiseVector

    WiseVector Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2020
    Posts:
    421
    Location:
    China
    Hi @EASTER @avman1995

    Thank you for your continued interest and support of WVSX, the 3.0 beta version will be released tomorrow.
     
  11. avman1995

    avman1995 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    Posts:
    944
    Location:
    india
    Considering there are not that many fps. This would be the first time an AI engine impressed me.

    @WiseVector thanks looking forward to testing it. What do we exactly consider WVSX to be? An AI only engine or it has some malware signatures as well in the mix that / generated by analysts writing them etc? Thanks so much for what makes up to be a superb free product and a future kick butt paid one too.
     
  12. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    16,982
    Location:
    UK
    Cannot receive updates at the moment, says they failed. (manual updates)

    Anyone else having a problem at the moment?
     
  13. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    4,955
    @stapp

    Can confirm. I got the same as you just now, when I tried to receive an update.
     
  14. avman1995

    avman1995 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    Posts:
    944
    Location:
    india
  15. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    16,982
    Location:
    UK
    Thanks guys for confirming.
     
  16. drhu22

    drhu22 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Posts:
    498
    Manual update failing here
     
  17. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    9,296
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    Updates AWOL here as well
     
  18. JRViejo

    JRViejo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    65,160
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    Checked with Firefox 89.0.1, trying to download from Home Page. Getting a Warning: Potential Security Risk Ahead page with the following text under Advanced:
    Perhaps this is the issue.
     
  19. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    9,296
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    About gave us a cardiac @WiseVector. This is a fabulous start to a very efficient defensive program.

    And you can count on your user's continued interest and support!
     
  20. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    8,803
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    The home page opens here without any errors JR.
     
  21. avman1995

    avman1995 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    Posts:
    944
    Location:
    india
    E-mailed their support about it hopefully they will notice it and fix it soon!
     
  22. drhu22

    drhu22 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Posts:
    498
    The home page opens fine... its when you hit the download link that the error comes up, in FF at least

    Edit: Good news, I just performed a manual update successfully
     
  23. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    8,803
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Yeah, you're right!
     
  24. drhu22

    drhu22 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Posts:
    498
    Im guessing maybe more info on Malwaretips... too busy now though

    Edit: Nope nothing there... maybe some glitch rolling out a major update?
     
    Last edited: Jun 18, 2021
  25. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    7,919
    It's failing for me too. If not for comments here, I would not have noticed. I never open WiseVector, I just let it run in background, and in very rare instances, disable its protection or close it, from the right click menu.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.