WiseVector Stop-X

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by bellgamin, Aug 10, 2020.

  1. lucd

    lucd Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2018
    Posts:
    682
    Location:
    Island of Woman
    yes but not protecting browser is also bad, stuff like obfuscated java script that avast blocks just fine (it wasn't an fp I did some tests in VM), I feel "naked" with WiseVector, ie I don't think that monitoring of traffic and checks for obfuscation techniques is bloating the program like some users appear to think here, but we already agreed on that

    there is some compatibility problem with unreal engine, it finds 1 trojan in unreal engine install, you need to install unreal engine and run aggressive full scan on its folder, and it finds most likely an fp on one of its dependencies, I guess that's bad news for game developers:)
     
    Last edited: Jan 5, 2021
  2. WiseVector

    WiseVector Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2020
    Posts:
    495
    Location:
    China
    Hi,
    Sorry for the inconvenience, V2.67 can't update to V2.71 directly, since V2.71 is still a beta version. After V2.72 is released, V2.67 can get updated after then.
    In the LUA account, you need to manually start WVSX. In the admin account, WVSX can start automatically. The main program handle updates.
     
  3. WiseVector

    WiseVector Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2020
    Posts:
    495
    Location:
    China
    Sorry. V2.71 is a beta version, V2.67 can't update to it directly and the installer on our official site is still V2.67.
    The download link of V2.71:
    https://update2.wisevector.com/WiseVector_StopX_V27.exe
    https://www.wisevector.com/WiseVector_StopX_V27.exe
     
  4. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,805
    :confused:o_O
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jan 6, 2021
  5. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,805
  6. ako

    ako Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Posts:
    665
    Thanks for answering!

    Can I set WV main program as a scheduled task so that I am automatically protected after startup when using LUA? When using scheduled task the main program can be seen with the Task Manager, but I do not see the icon in the taskbar, not in the LUA and not in the admin account. Starting the main program again does not help. The icon cannot be seen and the UI cannot thus be seen nor used.
     
  7. TerryWood

    TerryWood Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Posts:
    961
    Hi@WiseVector

    For information to those who use Shadow Defender and Wise Vector Tech Support

    I use WiseVector StopX v2.71 in conjunction with Shadow Defender v1.5.0.726 on Win 10.

    Prior to the update to WiseVector 2.71 this week everything worked OK. After the update Shadow Defender does not go into Shadow mode.

    If you disable Wise Vector protection Shadow Defender works OK

    So grateful WV and others confirm that there is a problem.

    Terry
     
  8. WiseVector

    WiseVector Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2020
    Posts:
    495
    Location:
    China
  9. garmin

    garmin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2018
    Posts:
    4
    Location:
    uzes france
    Hi WiseVector

    Just a question please.
    Does WS can replace antivirus soft. It is enough to disable Microsoft antivirus Defender and just have WS in real time with spyshelter premium.

    Thanks
     
  10. WiseVector

    WiseVector Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2020
    Posts:
    495
    Location:
    China
    Hi,
    Thanks for your feedback. We will test soon!
     
  11. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    17,686
    Location:
    UK
    I am writing this post in Shadow Defender mode v1.5.0.726 on Win 10 20H2. So for me there is no issue
    WiseVector is the update2 build downloaded from this post
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/threads/wisevector-stop-x.431502/page-41#post-2980352
     
  12. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,805
    In my post #1029 the photo was taken from your official website and it was shown as WiseVector StopX V2.71
    Now you changed to WiseVector StopX V2.71 Beta.

    You may have to edit your post #1015 too =
     
  13. TerryWood

    TerryWood Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Posts:
    961
    Hi @ WiseVector

    Reference my post 1032

    your post 1035

    Stapps post 1036

    I am using Win 10 - Version 10.0.19042 Build 19042

    The WiseVector update this morning was an Automatic one. Given Stapps comments I downloaded the version he used ie https://update2.wisevector.com/WiseVector_StopX_V27.exe

    First, I installed over the top of my existing WiseVector. Re-Started and re-tried Shadow Defender. STILL NOT WORKING

    Second, I completely uninstalled Wise Vector. Then cleared out all the remaining Registry/and folder entries.

    Third, I reinstalled WiseVector and retried Shadow Defender. STILL NOT WORKING

    Fourth, if I untick Basic Protection in WiseVector. Shadow Defender WORKS.

    I hope this clear. Do you need any more information?

    Thanks

    Terry
     
  14. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    17,686
    Location:
    UK
    How strange Terry.
    I have Basic Protection ticked.
    I have Auto Start at startup ticked.
    I have enable real time ticked.
    Heuristics set to normal.
    In the update settings I have nothing ticked. I do it manually.
    ShadowDefender works with WV.

    This machine has Win Defender running on it as AV.
     
  15. TerryWood

    TerryWood Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Posts:
    961
    Hi Stapp

    I have everything ticked except 1) Proxy 2) Folder Protection

    Heuristics set at - Normal

    Like you I have Windows Defender installed and fully active as AntiVirus
     
  16. pvsurfer

    pvsurfer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2004
    Posts:
    1,545
    Location:
    USA
    @TerryWood, just like @stapp reported, I have updated WVSX to v2.71 (same settings as @stapp) and have not experienced any Shadow Mode issues when using SD 1.5.0.726 'on-demand' (I'm in Shadow Mode as I am writing and posting this).
     
    Last edited: Jan 6, 2021
  17. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    5,374
    Location:
    Milan and Seoul
    Same here, Shadow Defender and WVSX work fine together.
     
  18. Hiltihome

    Hiltihome Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2013
    Posts:
    1,043
    Location:
    Baden Germany
    WVSX auto-updated to V2.71.
    During the update WD asked for permission to upload several related files, which I allowed.
    WD returned no threat, and did not block the update.

    Most important to me:
    WSVX does not interfere with Veeam-Agent.
     
    Last edited: Jan 7, 2021
  19. WiseVector

    WiseVector Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2020
    Posts:
    495
    Location:
    China
    Thanks for your info. We will continue testing and I will let you know once having the result.
     
  20. TerryWood

    TerryWood Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Posts:
    961
    Hi @ WiseVector

    I have some more information for you.

    After reading post 1043 (Hiltihome) I remembered that there was a small problem with the auto update. It seemed to hang. I remember so I restarted the update again (auto) and it appeared to work OK.

    So, this morning I re-checked Shadow Defender to see if it was working. It was NOT working. I then unticked Basic Protection in WiseVector and Shadow Defender worked and went into Shadow Mode.

    Because of Hiltihome's post, I then decide to remove all protection from Windows Defender, (With WiseVector Fully Protected). Lo and behold Shadow Defender works and goes into Shadow Mode.

    I have narrowed it down to removing only the Real Time Protection in Windows Defender and Shadow Defender will work.

    To summarize:-

    1) Shadow Defender will NOT work if Windows Defender and WiseVector are both fully protected.

    2) If EITHER Real Time Protection (WD) or Basic Protection (WVStopX) is switched OFF and the other one remaining protected, then Shadow Defender will work.

    Please remember these results are after a FULL restore of WiseVector after cleaning registry remnants etc.

    Could this be a conflict between Windows Defender and Wise Vector?

    Hope this helps

    Terry
     
  21. WiseVector

    WiseVector Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2020
    Posts:
    495
    Location:
    China
    Hi,
    I think it's enough.:)
     
  22. WiseVector

    WiseVector Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2020
    Posts:
    495
    Location:
    China
    Hi,
    Modern browser have built-in sandbox to prevent drive-by download attack, so please don't worry.
    Generally, setting on Aggressive, WiseVector StopX can detect more suspicious files during static scanning, but there might be more false positives. Therefore setting on Normal or High is appropriate for most users.
    There are different versions of unreal engines. Can you please send us the FP file to virus@wisevector.com? Then we can have a test and fix the issue. Thanks!
     
  23. WiseVector

    WiseVector Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2020
    Posts:
    495
    Location:
    China
    Thanks for your reminder. Sorry, the post can't be edited now.
     
  24. ako

    ako Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Posts:
    665
    Wisevector,

    Can I set WV main program as a scheduled task so that I am automatically protected after startup when using LUA? When using scheduled task the main program can be seen with the Task Manager, but I do not see the icon in the taskbar, not in the LUA and not in the admin account. Starting the main program again does not help. The icon cannot be seen and the UI cannot thus be seen nor used.
     
  25. TerryWood

    TerryWood Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Posts:
    961
    Hi @ Wilders

    Can anyone suggest where I can download WiseVector v2.70 (Not v2.67 or v2.71beta).

    Reason I ask is because I downloaded from WV Hiltihome what I thought was v2.70, but it turned out to be v2.71

    Thanks

    Terry
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.