WiseVector Stop-X

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by bellgamin, Aug 10, 2020.

  1. Hiltihome

    Hiltihome Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2013
    Posts:
    940
    Location:
    Baden Germany
    Thank you for your stellar support.
     
  2. WiseVector

    WiseVector Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2020
    Posts:
    199
    Location:
    China
    Hi, thanks for your report.
    We have installed Acronis True Image 2021 and WVSX flagged "kernel.dat" as malicious.
    Now it has been fixed.:)
     
  3. WiseVector

    WiseVector Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2020
    Posts:
    199
    Location:
    China
    Thanks for your suggestion.
    We focus on improving technology nowadays, at the same time, we do not give up any opportunity to collaborate with others.
     
  4. Richard981

    Richard981 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2020
    Posts:
    9
    Location:
    Canada
    Acronis is almost like a virus if not an actual virus, very invasive with tons of services installed and still there after uninstall
    I would avoid
     
  5. Hiltihome

    Hiltihome Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2013
    Posts:
    940
    Location:
    Baden Germany
    Acronis was installed temporarily, to create a bootable USB-drive.
    I already uninstalled it.
     
  6. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    7,135
    Location:
    Hawaii
    I have a small issue with getting WV to launch at startup.

    WV does not start when I boot or reboot Windows and, yes, there IS an "X" in the following box of WV's settings: "Automatically launch at system startup."

    This issue has existed since I first began using WV several weeks ago. However, I haven't reported the issue until now because I have been very busy with other matters. In the meantime, I have easily started WV manually each day by executing C:\Program Files (x86)\WiseVector\WiseVector.exe.

    Today, however, I decided to try & streamline this manual start of WV by putting a copy of WiseVector.exe into the folder: C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu\Programs\Startup.

    When I restarted Windows, so as to test this work-around, WV did NOT launch. Instead I received the following pop-up message:
    A quick check revealed that libcrypto-1_1.dll IS present in my computer's file folder at C:\Program Files (x86)\WiseVector. Moreover, the fact that WV readily starts manually makes it obvious that WV DOES have a valid libcrypto-1_1.dll file available.

    By the way, i'm running Windows 7 and my computer is quite stable. My only other real-time security apps are Simplewall (a firewall) and SecureAPlus (an anti-exe, white-list app). This issue might (or might not) be unique to my computer but I thought you would like to know about it.
     
  7. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    7,596
    WiseVector won't run at startup unless you are using an Admin account. It's a known limitation. To get it to run at startup you would need to add a shortcut to the WiseVector exe file, rather than copying the file there. Hopefully that would work.
     
    Last edited: Nov 21, 2020 at 4:31 AM
  8. Feandur

    Feandur Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2005
    Posts:
    411
    Location:
    Australia
    @bellgamin

    Have long respected and followed your posts Sir.

    An earlier post in this thread suggested scheduling it as a task.

    May I suggest here.

    I am not a used, as the limitation with standard user accounts is a deal breaker for me.

    Best of luck. :thumb:

    feandur
     
  9. WiseVector

    WiseVector Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2020
    Posts:
    199
    Location:
    China
    Hi@bellgamin,
    As roger_m said, WVSX can run at startup automatically when you are using an Admin account ( sorry for the inconvenience ). Please refer to the post here, #280.
    Do you use a Standard account since you first began using WVSX? And please check if "WiseVector" is in your task scheduler library or not. Thanks.
     
  10. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    7,135
    Location:
    Hawaii
    I did as @roger_m suggested. Instead of putting WiseVector.exe into Startup folder, I put a shortcut to WiseVector.exe into Startup folder. WV now loads just fine at start & restart. Problem solved. 10Q to the nth, Roger!!!

    @Feandur -- Aloha to you from Hawaii! Thanks for your kind comments. :thumb:

    @WiseVector -- Thanks for your speedy & informative reply to my issue. I have always run as an Admin account. Thus, according to that criterion, WV should have launched at startup because I selected that option in WV's settings.

    Your comment #834 says (in part): "And please check if "WiseVector" is in your task scheduler library or not." Task Scheduler is disabled on my computer. I have dozens of apps that are set to launch at Startup and, despite the absence of Task Scheduler, they all launch just fine. Does WV depend on Task Scheduler in order to launch itself at Startup? If so, I'm sure you have excellent reasons for such a dependency.

    In any event, Roger's work-around is simple to do & works splendidly so.... issue resolved. WiseVector is a magnificent security app. I am eagerly awaiting the paid version! :-*
     
  11. Hiltihome

    Hiltihome Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2013
    Posts:
    940
    Location:
    Baden Germany
    @bellgamin:
    Software startet via task scheduler, can run at windows start.
    Software started via startup folder starts at user logon.
    So the latter delays protection.
     
  12. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    7,135
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Excellent information, @Hiltihome -- I have learned a new thing!
     
  13. Hiltihome

    Hiltihome Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2013
    Posts:
    940
    Location:
    Baden Germany
  14. WiseVector

    WiseVector Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2020
    Posts:
    199
    Location:
    China
    @bellgamin
    Thanks for your feedback! We are working on some new features these days and the paid version will follow after then.;)
    @Hiltihome
    Thanks for your advice.
    WVSX has Behavior Detection which can prevent suspicious driver from loading. If WVSX is installed and keeps working before a rootkit infection, the malicious driver will be blocked.
    If the system is infected by a rootkit before WVSX is installed, the situation will be tricky, since the rootkit runs within ring 0 it can do almost anything including prevent users from installing any AV. On the other hand, ELAM-driver is useful for cleaning up if the malware infection is not serious. We will add it in the future.
     
  15. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    13,122
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    It depends on you, if you believe that blocking exploits is important then HMPA is probably the best. However, WSVX is focused on blocking malware just like any other AV, so no matter if malware tries to run via some exploit it still should be stopped.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.