WinXP SP3 - Dynamic Disks no longer accessible after upgrade.

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by shinyspoon, Oct 15, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. shinyspoon

    shinyspoon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Posts:
    2
    Location:
    UK
    Hi,

    Has anyone else come across this?

    After upgrade from TI 11 to Acronis True Image Home 2009 all dynamic disks are no longer accessible. Disks are shown as dynamic, healthy and online without any drive letters assigned.

    Attempts to assign drive letters via Disk Manager give the following:

    "The operation did not complete because the partition or volume is not enabled. To enable the partition or volume, restart the computer."

    Hot/Cold reboots don't change anything.

    Windows restore back to TI 11 and the disks are all accessible again.

    I tried logging a support call via the web, but no luck so far.

    Regards,
    Pete
     
  2. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
    Did you ever successfully restore a dynamic disk using TI 11 Home? AFAIK, the home version of TI, any version, does not support dynamic disks.
     
  3. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
    Merely installing the program shouldn't cause any disks to disappear. The current release of ATI12/2009 is known to cause probs making USB devices disappear or misbehave in critically bad ways. So far, Idon't think anytihng beens posted about dynamic drives so this might be a new prob in ATI12 or some other prob with your system. However, as noted above, ATI Home does not support dynamic drives and should be used on dynamic drives.
     
  4. shinyspoon

    shinyspoon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Posts:
    2
    Location:
    UK
    Just a quick update:

    TrueImage2009.9615_s_en.exe appears to have resolved the issue.

    Regards,
    Pete
     
  5. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello shinyspoon,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    We are sorry for delayed response.

    Please be aware that home versions of Acronis True Image do not support dynamic disks. It's not recommended to use them together.

    Current versions of Acronis True Image that do support dynamic disks are Aconis True Image Echo family.

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.