WinPatrol and Wondows 7

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by JRCATES, Apr 24, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. JRCATES

JRCATES Registered Member

Long time WinPatrol user here, but I am new to Windows 7 (have always used XP)

I'm hoping that someone uses this combination (WinPatrol with Windows 7) and can help me with a somewhat annoying problem.

EVERY TIME.....that I simply want to OPEN the WinPatrol GUI....I am greeted with a message from Windows saying:

Can someone who uses WinPatrol on a Windows 7 machine tell me what I need to do to get this message to stop popping up EVERY TIME that I simply try to open the WinPatrol GUI o_O

2. The Red Moon

The Red Moon Registered Member

Are you running in a standard user account.?

If so did you install win patrol as an administrator.?

3. JRCATES

I believe as an administrator.

When "setting up" my new Dell PC....as I was going through the process, I was asked to "set up a password" - which I believe was actually setting me up as the administrator.

WinPatrol was the first program I installed once I had the computer up and running and internet access.

4. twl845

twl845 Registered Member

I'm the only person who uses my computer, so when I am asked to set up a password on a new computer, I pass on that. I also have a one year old DELL running as the administrator. The only thing I remember is typing my name when asked. When I access Winpatrol, I double click the sys tray icon and it comes on. What's the program that's trying to access the computer? If you know that, click yes when it asks and I would think that would be it. Perhaps because Winpatrol is the first program you installed on your commuter, every time it sees something new it asks you if it's OK. :)

5. JRCATES

Yes, but as I'm sure you know, Dell is a strange bird. They like to be special and change things up all the time.