WindowsXP unable to come up after HiJack clean

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by rugby1, Jul 6, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. rugby1

    rugby1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2004
    Posts:
    20
    Hello everybody,

    I have been trying to clean up my son's computer with all of these trojans etc. https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=39350 (please check this thread).

    I haven't been able to reboot the machine cleanly for several days. It comes up to this screen that states that last shutdown wasn't clean and gives me options: Start Windows Normally, Last Known Good Config...., Safe Mode, Safe mode networking, Safe mode Command Prompt. The Safe mode does say Safe mode but there isn't any command prompt, and all the others go to a black screen, no blue screen.

    I just tried to boot from floppys that I made yesterday, but receive this message: biosinfo.inf could not be loaded. error code 4096.

    After the first cleaning I was able to use the internet, but the following day I have encountered these problems. Before the first cleaning my SysLink router was unusable because of a storm. I have replaced it with a Belkin, and after the first cleaning Saturday night, early Sunday, I was able to use the internet. However, the machine says that the network connection is unplugged. So, yesterday when the machine was up I tried to re-establish connection using Belkin's wizard to no avail. I do have a restore CD that came with this emachine that is two years old, and I'm ready to try and restore XP with that. Any suggestions would be appreciated.

    Thanks
     
  2. rugby1

    rugby1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2004
    Posts:
    20
    Hi,

    We cleaned this machine of some nasty trojans(see previous post's link). I can't boot to blue screen(WindowsXP Home Edition). I tried using the restore CDs and receive a message: 'OAK TECHNOLOGY INc. OTI-91X CD-rom Device driver, Rev D91XV352 Device name GEMCD001' , which Emachine technician says that I should take it to CompUSA and have them wipe out the hard drive, and possibly replace it, because their restore disk can't see the C:\ drive. I'm able to get to the C: drive using 'Recovery Console' from floopy boot Install disks. So, should I pack this machine up and have CompUSA clean it, or is there anything I can do from the Recovery Console?

    Thanks
     
  3. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,742
    Location:
    Texas
    Rugby1

    I don't know if you have seen this link or not. It is for XP Pro. It should work on XP Home.

    It also sounds like your cd rom driver is missing. The floppy set set should install a generic driver for your cd player/writer unless it is damaged somehow.

    Recovery Console
     
    Last edited: Jul 7, 2004
  4. snapdragin

    snapdragin Administrator

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2002
    Posts:
    8,415
    Location:
    Southern Ont., Canada
    Hi rugby1, I did do a search for the earlier error message you received:
    biosinfo.inf could not be loaded. error code 4096
    But the only link I could find was a thread here:
    http://daniweb.com/techtalkforums/showthread.php?t=2385

    Not sure if you would find anything of help in that discussion, since your second error message, or not. But hopefully the link ronjor posted will be of some more help now that you're able to get into the Recovery Console.

    Regards,

    snap
     
  5. Close_Hauled

    Close_Hauled Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2004
    Posts:
    1,015
    Location:
    California
    Rugby;

    The recovery console is definitely the way to go. I would like to recommend that you use Norton Ghost to back up the drive if you can. The reason why I am recommending this is that sometimes, in your zeal to fix the problem, you can create new problems.

    I just recently recovered my system from a major crash, and that is exactly what I did. I backed it up to another system, and then I worked on the system. My first attempt failed, so I restored, and tried again. I went through this cycle a couple of times until I found the real problem. Now the system is running fine.

    Close Hauled
     
  6. rugby1

    rugby1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2004
    Posts:
    20
    Good Grief, I was in Recovery Console and copied the system files from C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\Repair into system and now the Administrator password is not working, before I copied the file the password was blank. Now I have no idea what it is. Anybody know what the Administrator password is after you copy the repair system file over the current one?

    Thanks
     
  7. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,742
    Location:
    Texas
    Guessing that there isn't a password now. Just hit enter and see if that works.
     
  8. rugby1

    rugby1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2004
    Posts:
    20
    That was the password before I copied the system file from /repair, now i don't know what it is.
     
  9. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,742
    Location:
    Texas

    Recovery console

    If you can't enter a password, I'm not sure how to continue. I'll keep looking.
     
  10. Close_Hauled

    Close_Hauled Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2004
    Posts:
    1,015
    Location:
    California

    Rugby;

    I wish that I could help. :doubt: Did you backup the drive? o_O

    Close Hauled
     
  11. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,742
    Location:
    Texas
    Disregard this post. Still looking.
     
    Last edited: Jul 7, 2004
  12. Close_Hauled

    Close_Hauled Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2004
    Posts:
    1,015
    Location:
    California
    Ronjor;

    I am reposting that link, 'cause it has some useful information anyway. I was going to go to that site and check it out, when all of a sudden it was gone. So as a service to anyone else who is interested;

    http://www.theeldergeek.com/recovery_console.htm

    Close Hauled
     
  13. Close_Hauled

    Close_Hauled Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2004
    Posts:
    1,015
    Location:
    California
  14. Bulldog

    Bulldog Spyware Expert

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Posts:
    8
    Is it the RC Administrator password or for normal Windows mode ?

    If it is the RC..try this. It is a good idea anyway.

    change the second value under this key:

    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\Setup\RecoveryConsole

    SecurityLevel from 0(zero) to 1(one)

    Reboot to RC and you will not be asked for a password.
     
  15. Close_Hauled

    Close_Hauled Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2004
    Posts:
    1,015
    Location:
    California
    Rugby;

    I just tested this boot floppy on a Windows 2000 PC and it worked at reseting the admin password. Set the password to a blank password, do not enter a new one, or you will screw up the admin account

    http://home.eunet.no/~pnordahl/ntpasswd/bd040116.zip

    Close Hauled
     
  16. rugby1

    rugby1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2004
    Posts:
    20
    Thanks, but I have Windows XP Home edition. I tried it and it stops.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.