Windows XP will not load.

Discussion in 'Acronis Disk Director Suite' started by Mumby, Nov 21, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Mumby

    Mumby Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Posts:
    4
    Hi everyone,

    I have been using Acronis Disk Director Suite 9.0 for about 8 months and until yesterday evening hadn't had a problem I couldn't solve. I am running XP and Suse Linux.

    Now, I switch on my laptop, OS selector comes up as usual, I select Windows XP, the screen goes black and absolutely nothing happens no matter how long I wait. Suse Linux boots and runs perfectly well.

    I did search this forum but couldn't find anyone with a similar problem, apologies if I am repeating a topic though.

    Specs: Dell Inspiron 1150, 2.6GHz, 30GB HD, 512MB RAM etc...

    Disk 1 looks like this:
    FAT16 PRI 54.88MB 47.56MB
    NTFS(C: ) PRI, ACT 16.7GB 1.86GB
    Linux Swap 0.988GB
    ReiserFS 2.451GB 0.015GB
    ReiserFS 4.244GB 1.616GB
    FAT32 PRI 3.501GB 1.723GB
    Unallocated 7.844MB

    I hope someone can help,

    all the best, Mumby
     
  2. Mumby

    Mumby Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Posts:
    4
    Ok, maybe I'm asking the wrong question, allow me to try this:

    Can anybody say if this is likely to even be an Acronis problem or is more likely to be a windows problem? Perhaps even a hardware problem?

    All guesses welcomed;)

    P
     
  3. bodgy

    bodgy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    2,387
    Location:
    Qld.
    Could be 6 of one and half of the other. Have you downloaded any updates or loaded on new software for XP ?

    Using DD or Linux can you still see the XP files lurking?

    Colin
     
  4. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Mumby,

    Thank you for using Acronis Disk Management Software.

    Could you please do the following?

    - Download Acronis Report utility from http://www.acronis.com/files/support/AcronisReport.exe;
    - Run Acronis Report utility and select the "Create bootable floppy" option;
    - Insert a blank floppy disk in the floppy drive and proceed with creating the bootable diskette;
    - Boot the computer under consideration from this diskette and wait for report creation process to complete;
    - Send us the report.txt file from the floppy disk.

    This would provide us with detailed information on the hard disk partition structure.

    Please collect the information requested above and contact us from our web-site: http://www.acronis.com/homecomputing/my/support/ . Please don't forget to send the link to this thread along with gathered information. This would allow us to investigate the problem and help you with the solution.

    Thank you.
    --
    Semyonov Vasily
     
  5. Mumby

    Mumby Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Posts:
    4
    Thank you both for the replies,

    bodgy: Its XP SP2, other than that no major d/l's. I can still see all the windows folders from Linux so have managed to back everything up to the disk at work. Thanks again.

    Semyonov: I'll get on it right away, thanks.

    Regards,

    Mumby
     
  6. Mumby

    Mumby Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Posts:
    4
    Quick update: Upon inspecting the NTFS part of the drive, I notice I have an error saying: "Runlist Corrupted". None of the guys at work have ever even heard of this!

    Mumby
     
  7. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Mumby,

    Could you please do the following?

    - Go to the Command Prompt (Start -> Run -> cmd)
    - Enter the command: "chkdsk DISK: /f"
    where DISK is the partition letter you need to check.

    Please note, that checking the C: drive may require you to reboot the machine.

    If this does not fix the problem please create Acronis Report and Windows System Information as it is described in Acronis Help Post and submit a request for technical support. Attach all the collected files and information to your request along with the step-by-step description of the actions taken before the problem appears and the link to this thread. We will investigate the problem and try to provide you with the solution.

    Thank you.
    --
    Kirill Omelchenko
     
  8. Rick_G

    Rick_G Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Posts:
    55
    Location:
    Just south of the Big Chicken
    Mumby can't load Windows, so I doubt he can run CHKDSK /F.
     
  9. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Rick and Mumby,

    Thank you for your comment Rick.
    Please accept my apologies. I should have provided more detailed response.

    Mumby will need to boot PC from Windows installation CD and run CHKDSK /F command in order to fix this error.

    Thank you.
    --
    Kirill Omelchenko
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.