Windows XP SP3?

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by sweater, Oct 25, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. sweater

    sweater Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,674
    Location:
    Philippines, the Political Dynasty Capital of the
    Maybe, I am just late coz I forgot to check it out. Do you have upgraded and installed windows xp sp3 in your pc? coz I am still using xp sp2 and have no problem with it...

    I hesitates installing it. Are there any problem encountered with sp3? o_O
     
  2. ThunderZ

    ThunderZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,459
    Location:
    North central Ohio, U.S.A.

    Where are you seeing SP3? Last I read it was being delayed probably until after Vista is released.
     
  3. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,797
    Location:
    Texas
  4. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    WinXPsp3 is Microsoft's plan B, if winVISTA isn't successful. :)
     
  5. ThunderZ

    ThunderZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,459
    Location:
    North central Ohio, U.S.A.

    Some how I have a feeling that MS`s definition of successful and other peoples definition will be two different ones. ;)
     
  6. gerardwil

    gerardwil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2004
    Posts:
    4,748
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Run Belarc and you will see SP3

    Gerard
     

    Attached Files:

    • xp3.gif
      xp3.gif
      File size:
      4.8 KB
      Views:
      145
  7. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    I also have those types of entries when I check with BelarcAdvisor. I have these and 21 more xpsp3 updates.
     

    Attached Files:

  8. nadirah

    nadirah Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Posts:
    3,647
    Those are windows hotfixes. Wonder why it calls them SP3? Do all those hotfixes make up SP3? o_O Anyway I won't be testing any beta versions of SP3. The SP2 beta versions crashed my system badly last time. It's a nightmare.
     
  9. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    Since there will probably be no actual sp3 this is about as close as we are going to get I imagine.
     
  10. gerardwil

    gerardwil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2004
    Posts:
    4,748
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Because they came after SP2 and I think they will be included in the SP3 CD (or download). The same way as happened with SP2.
    (yep they are windows hotfixes :) )

    Gerard
     
  11. nadirah

    nadirah Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Posts:
    3,647
    Windows XP SP1 is already retired. When will they pull the plug on XP SP2? I hope they don't... the size of sp3 should be bigger than sp2. Look at those number of hotfixes, do some addition and you can imagine what it would be like.
     
  12. gerardwil

    gerardwil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2004
    Posts:
    4,748
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Just a guess: october 2008

    Gerard
     
  13. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    My guess would be at the end of 2007 after Vista has gotten an sp of it's own.
     
  14. ThunderZ

    ThunderZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,459
    Location:
    North central Ohio, U.S.A.

    Right you are. Never noticed the SP3 before. :oops: And apologies to Sweater. But if you are running a fully updated OS then I guess you are already running SP3 by default if not by name. :D Still shows as SP2 in system properties. :doubt:
     
  15. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    there is no actually SP3 but there are "SP3" hotfixes.

    like thunderz said, if ur system is fully patched then you should be fine.
     
  16. gerardwil

    gerardwil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2004
    Posts:
    4,748
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    You are correct but also nobody says there is a SP3.
    Actually SP 3 (I am talking about XP Home/Pro) is planned for the first half year of 2008.

    Gerard
     
  17. sweater

    sweater Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,674
    Location:
    Philippines, the Political Dynasty Capital of the
  18. nadirah

    nadirah Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Posts:
    3,647
    I've encountered some people who are confused over XP SP3. That article is describing Microsoft Office XP SP3.
    What we are discussing here is:
    Microsoft WINDOWS XP SP3
    not
    Microsoft OFFICE XP SP3


    I guess some people are confused over the two products as they both have the same letters: XP.
     
  19. ThunderZ

    ThunderZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,459
    Location:
    North central Ohio, U.S.A.

    Title of article, "Description of Microsoft Office XP Service Pack 3". I believe what we have here is a slight misunderstanding that has lead to some gains in knowledge.....at least for me. ;)
     
  20. nadirah

    nadirah Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Posts:
    3,647
    LOL LMAO! :D
     
  21. gerardwil

    gerardwil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2004
    Posts:
    4,748
    Location:
    The Netherlands
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.