Windows XP SP3 Questions.......

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by bgfalconboy, Jul 20, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. bgfalconboy

    bgfalconboy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Posts:
    226
    Is this a really recommended update? I've heard some people have had problems with this new service pack. Should I be worried or has anyone else with a similar system as mine had any problems with SP3? Thanks.
     
  2. AnthonyG

    AnthonyG Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2004
    Posts:
    614
    As far as I am aware SP3 simply is a collection of security fixes, nothing more.

    Or at least nothing of significance more.

    I have been using it since day of release on a very low spec machine and cannot find any problems.

    My only suggestion would be if possible to slipstream it onto your current windows installation CD and do the full from dos install as opposed to installing the older version of XP and then updating to SP3.

    Here is the method I used to slipstream
     
  3. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,787
    I think problems with SP3 are rare, and it is advisable to keep your system up to date. I think as suggested, some sort of backup would be good if you are at all concerned. I have always used imaging software myself. If you have another partition or HD, then just create an image of your current system and you can always revert to that if necessary.
     
  4. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,652
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    bgfalconboy,

    I've installed SP3 on our five computers. No problems.

    Of interest, after you delete the unnecessary backup folders following the install, you will have around 50 MB of extra free space in your C: drive.
     
  5. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    5,650
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Where are those folders located?
     
  6. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,652
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
  7. bgfalconboy

    bgfalconboy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Posts:
    226
    This slipstreaming thing sounds rather complicated to me. I may stick with just creating a new restore point before downloading SP3. On another note, would anyone care to recommend a good free back-up imaging program. Would that do a better job than system restore?
     
  8. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,787
    Yep, see this thread: https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=215526

    Clonezilla works very well on Win, and it's free as well. Used it a lot here recently with no problems.
     
  9. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    8,055
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    I also want to install XP SP3, but I´m a bit scared. I´m mean what if something goes wrong? I have to admit I´m also a bit lazy to do a complete new install, eventhough it´s probably the best thing to do. :argh:
     
  10. blacknight

    blacknight Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,434
    Location:
    Europe
    Use nLite, as in link post previous by Brian K: the process is very easy. Anyway I confirm: no problem with SP3
     
  11. Fly

    Fly Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Posts:
    2,069
    I've decided to skip service pack 3. If you have all relevant updates, there is little to gain by installing service pack 3. (maybe a few things, but you should be able to take care of that yourself).

    One particular problem that I recall: there was a problem on some machines with HP software and an AMD CPU, supposedly because the HP software was using software meant for Intel chips. Or maybe I'm confused, and that was a Vista thing !

    I'm a little paranoid, like there might be a kill-switch.
     
  12. jpcummins

    jpcummins Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Posts:
    422
    Location:
    Terre Haute, IN
    Please forgive my complete ignorance I am not very knowledgeable when it comes to computers. Can Clonezilla be used along with an external drive? What I have seen it refers to a CD/DVD/Flash Drive but not specifically to an external drive.

    I have been very hesitant about installing SP3. One of the other posts alludes to creating a restore point prior to installing SP3. Just how safe would that method be. I feel that I have been keeping up with the MicroSoft updates so I don't really know whether or not I even need to install SP3.

    As always any replies will be very much appreicated and I thank you in advance.

    John
     
  13. snowbound

    snowbound Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Posts:
    8,723
    Location:
    The Big Smoke
    I have kept up too, no install of SP3 yet and am not concerned one iota about it. It took me over a year to install SP2 after it's release and it might be even longer for SP3 if ever but that's just me. :D



    snowbound
     
  14. DVD+R

    DVD+R Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Posts:
    1,979
    Location:
    The Antipodes
    I recently had a new computer built,and the Windows Xp Pro OEM CD has SP3
    So Microsoft are already shipping SP3 out for System Builders
     
  15. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    I used my Reg Supreme Pro registry cleaner and deleted all that old stuff after the upgrade to SP3.
     
  16. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    As a fellow non techie, I am always hesitant because if it goes in the toilet, I don't always have the knowledge to get myself out of a jam. Just do a backup before you start and do it. It went flawlessly. Like someone else said, you will gain about 50Mb after its done. :thumb:
     
  17. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,787
    Hard to imagine anyone actually needing 50mb in this day and age though.. :)
     
  18. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,652
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Kerodo,

    It's not the 50 MB gain that is the advantage. It's the deletion of almost 1 GB of unnecessary files that is the advantage.
     
  19. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,787
    That's another matter altogether then.... A gig saved is a gig earned I guess.....
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.