Windows XP SP3 ISO available

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Franklin, Jun 25, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Franklin

    Franklin Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,517
    Location:
    West Aussie
    XP SP3 ISO
     
  2. Coolio10

    Coolio10 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2006
    Posts:
    1,124
    Is it safe to download the .iso and mount it with daemon tools or must it be burnt?

    Are you sure this is real? The installer looks kind of fake and non microsoft-ish. I clicked a link in the installer for more information about SP3 and it loaded information about SP2.

    Look strange to me, im staying away until someone else tests it.
     
    Last edited: Jun 25, 2008
  3. NGRhodes

    NGRhodes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Posts:
    2,331
    Location:
    West Yorkshire, UK
  4. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
  5. SYS 64738

    SYS 64738 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Posts:
    130
    :blink: The US-version is bigger than any other one...
     
  6. Ancient_Techno

    Ancient_Techno Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Posts:
    4
    Just so I have this right. This is just service pack 3 for windows xp, right ?
    For a minute there I thought it was windows XP SP3, the whole OS + SP3 all in one as an ISO.

    I was just hoping I could a new stock windows XP disc but with SP3 integrated into it. I know I could do it with n-lite or something but just worried I'd mess it up somehow.

    by the way, I'm new here so hi.
     
  7. Ancient_Techno

    Ancient_Techno Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Posts:
    4
    never mind, though I was getting lucky but it's just the SP3 itself. :(
     
  8. Franklin

    Franklin Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,517
    Location:
    West Aussie
    Considering I hate bloat and the SP3 update is twice the size of my latest nLited XP Pro install I doubt I will even look at it.

    Besides, SP3 has no security enhancements that can benefit my setup.
    Nlited XP.JPG
     
  9. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    Is this just the small HD space it takes or u also get some speed advanatge?
     
  10. Franklin

    Franklin Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,517
    Location:
    West Aussie
    Speed advantage is in certain areas such as defrags and creating ghost images which are much smaller in size.

    That XP install iso is still quite large compared to some I've seen around.

    It's really more of a hobby/learning curve of mine than anything else.
    Vista Ultimate install iso below.
    Vista Ultimate.JPG
     
  11. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    So how much total space ur instlled XP n Vista take on C drive/ partition?
     
  12. Franklin

    Franklin Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,517
    Location:
    West Aussie
    The below installs are on my new quad core system I built on the weekend and am still in the process of finding/thinning/deleting/tweaking.

    My duo core installs of Vista/XP are smaller again.

    Vista Ultimate with my needed/maintenance/security apps - about 3.6 gig with a pagefile of 512 mb min included.

    XP Pro is around 900 meg, I think, with no pagefile.Will check when I have that drive hooked up which is partitioned exactly the same as this one.

    XP doesn't seem to worry about no pagefile but Vista seems to run a bit smoother with paging turned on regardless of how much ram I have.
    Drives.JPG
     
  13. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    Thanks. That,s nice but I am always afraid to do it. I hate if i need something in future and it,s not there. Alo it neeeds a lot of time n testing etc.
     
  14. Franklin

    Franklin Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,517
    Location:
    West Aussie
    Yep, you're right there Aigle.

    Have burnt many coasters after using nLite asnd vLite and have just about got it spot on as to what I need after a lot of time and testings.

    With XP you could always do a full install with all your needed apps, make a backup image, then follow Bold Fortune's Slimming XP Guide

    If you have any strife along the way you can always image back.
     
  15. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    Yes, it's only SP3. The reason why I created this CD was to update my WinXPproSP2 with all the security patches, ever published. I had an arrear of 81 security patches over almost 2 years, so it was high time to do someting about it.

    You can do this with nLite of course, but my prediction is that nLite/vLite won't have a long future, because M$ will terminate all these softwares systematically on long term, including all these websites that provide Windows updates.
    The termination of Autopatcher by M$ is just the beginning. Maybe it was the first one on an alphabetical list.
    Of course this can take awhile, years perhaps, but I don't think that M$ is very happy with all these websites and softwares for duplicating original Windows Installation CD's. Would you like this as an owner ? :)
     
    Last edited: Jun 26, 2008
  16. NGRhodes

    NGRhodes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Posts:
    2,331
    Location:
    West Yorkshire, UK
    FYI
    If you slipsteam SP3 onto an XP install CD and reinstall, you save space (compared to isntalling SP3 seperately), because it does not create a ServicePackFiles folder, which on my machine is 564 MB.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.