Windows x64 NOD "locks" on startup

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by MOR512, Dec 26, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. MOR512

    MOR512 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4
    Hi, running x64, and as such there is a lack of virus solutions unfortunately. I tried Avast! but it has a well known problem of locking up x64 on shutdown.

    I have the exact opposite with NOD, which otherwise I am very impressed with and plan to buy. But during 75% of startups, when the spashscreen appears, it locks up my machine. The spashsceen stays on before the sig version numbers etc appear, and all I can do is move my mouse, I can CTRL-ALT-DEL but I cannot open task manager. The HDD also stops. I uninstalled NOD and the system worked perfectly again.

    I have reinstalled it and I plan to modify the settings over and over again to hopefully pinpoint the problem, but this will take time as its a complicated bit of kit. I was wondering if anyone had any experience of NOD locking up during the spashscreen loading period which would help me sort the problem out.

    Thanks. I downloaded it from the UK Site today, and its the correct 64-bit version :)
     
  2. CrazyM

    CrazyM Firewall Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    2,428
    Location:
    BC, Canada
    Hi MOR512

    ... and welcome to Wilders :)

    Not something I have experienced with NOD and XP x64. You mention modifying settings, does it occur with default settings?

    Regards,

    CrazyM
     
  3. BJStone

    BJStone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    139
    Just a shot in the dark ...What happens when you disable the splashscreen ?
     
  4. MOR512

    MOR512 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4
    Ive rebooted my machine about 50 times. It appears to be the Real Time Scanner, AMON. With that enabled it locks up half the time.

    At first I had the spash off, makes no difference im afraid.
     
  5. Dryopithecus

    Dryopithecus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Posts:
    22
    It seems I met this problem before. But I'm not very sure.....

    Please try to disable your "Local Area Connection" temporarily (just temporarily), and see if the problem "solved".
     
  6. MOR512

    MOR512 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4
    Thanks but no luck :( Took me 8 times to get into windows :)
     
  7. vlk

    vlk AV Expert

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Posts:
    618
  8. Happy Bytes

    Happy Bytes Guest

    Yup, i had a few times the same effect. It has to do with updating NOD. Are you connected to Internet when this lockup happens? Because during this time NOD tries to update itself.
     
  9. Happy Bytes

    Happy Bytes Guest

    And one more hint: If you have any network cards installed (but not connected) disable them. Otherwise the DHCP Client tries to get Adresses for a non-existing connection (to make the update...) and this takes a ridiculous amount of time (all freezes during this time)
     
  10. MOR512

    MOR512 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4
    I think the updating is the problem, because it doesn't totally crash the system. But ive disabled automatic updates in NOD, and in the AMON I disabled "Enable Instant Virus Signature Database Update" Still no luck im afraid. Ive also tried disabling all the network cards etc.

    Im on a cable modem, I tried telling it I had no connection but still no luck. Thanks tho guys :D It works fine aslong as I start AMON after boot.
     
    Last edited: Dec 27, 2005
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.