Windows Vista SP1 Released to Windows Update

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by ronjor, Mar 18, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,774
    Location:
    Texas
    WindowsVistaBlog
     
  2. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    thanks Ron
    installed,rebooted.
    vista works faster all round.
    vista starts up login right away and everything is there and ready. no hanging around.
    i may do a reinstall at the weekend but maybe decide its not worth it since its working so well.
    didnt think i would ever say this but well done microsoft:thumb:
     
    Last edited: Mar 18, 2008
  3. NICK ADSL UK

    NICK ADSL UK Administrator

    Joined:
    May 13, 2003
    Posts:
    9,217
    Location:
    UK
    Thanks ron :thumb:

    It is also now available for Standalone download


    Windows Vista Service Pack 1 Five Language Standalone (KB936330)
    Windows Vista Service Pack 1 is an update to Windows Vista that addresses key feedback from our customers. SP1 addresses specific reliability and performance issues, supports new types of hardware, and adds support for several emerging standards.
    http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/...6d-5ebb-413b-89c9-cb3d06d12674&DisplayLang=en

    Windows Vista Service Pack 1 Five Language Standalone for x64-based Systems (KB936330)
    Windows Vista Service Pack 1 is an update to Windows Vista that addresses key feedback from our customers. SP1 addresses specific reliability and performance issues, supports new types of hardware, and adds support for several emerging standards.
    http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/...4b-32b2-41cc-bd8b-d71eda5ec07c&DisplayLang=en

    Update for Windows Vista for x64-based Systems (KB937286)
    Install this update to copy a local version of key help topics available in the “Online Help” feature of Windows Vista.
    http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/...79-e0a9-434c-914e-54da43f37b0b&DisplayLang=en

    Update for Windows Vista (KB937286)
    Install this update to copy a local version of key help topics available in the “Online Help” feature of Windows Vista.
    http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/...a2-f435-4c42-82da-110948c001c1&DisplayLang=en

    Update for Windows Vista for x64-based Systems (KB947821)
    Install this update to enable future updates for Microsoft Windows to install successfully.
    http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/...06-d9f1-4700-acf3-3a58d533597a&DisplayLang=en

    Update for Windows Vista (KB947821)
    Install this update to enable future updates for Microsoft Windows to install successfully
    .http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/...e2-1aaf-4672-8951-4b7920f982e9&DisplayLang=en
     
  4. midway40

    midway40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Posts:
    1,257
    Location:
    SW MS, USA
    *Cautiously looking up in the sky to see if indeed pigs were flying* :D

    Welcome to the world of SP1 :)
     
  5. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    LOL
    gonna see if there is any updated drivers from creative for my x-fi since sometimes sleep mode doesnt work and i belive its due to creative drivers.
    woot driver came out 4 days ago.
     
    Last edited: Mar 18, 2008
  6. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,774
    Location:
    Texas
    Thanks for the news ladore.
     
  7. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
    thank you ron.update went smooth as silk good work MS
     
  8. HelpFromFrance

    HelpFromFrance Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2005
    Posts:
    283
    Just got the update here in France, all went well, don't seem to see any real difference so far. I will have to wait and see what time brings, but at least it did not trash my computer. :D

    Have a good day,
    HelpFromFrance
     
  9. midway40

    midway40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Posts:
    1,257
    Location:
    SW MS, USA
    There was an update on the 14th on the Vista X-Fi drivers (2.15.0006). I never did install it though. In fact I had forgotten about it until you just mentioned it, lol.
     
  10. PoetWarrior

    PoetWarrior Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2007
    Posts:
    335
    Just installed SP1 and it went surprisingly smooth and quick. Noticed an immediate improvement from Vista. I did have to reactivate via phone (real person).
     
  11. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    hmm, my windows update says no updates. o_O

    screw you microsoft :D

    but thank you Nick for the direct link.
     
  12. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    ye i had to press check for updates like 4 times then it appeared.
     
  13. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    do you know vista is dropping its prices when included with SP1?

    america and europe get the cheaper prices, United Kingdom EXCLUDED.

    w@nkers.

    good job for internet orders once again to stop em ripping off Uk'ers once more.
     
  14. Tony

    Tony Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2003
    Posts:
    722
    Location:
    Cumbria, England
    I had to update my sound drivers before it would go ahead with sp1.

    It started to download ok to 7% then staopped and the trusted install process went 50% plus and the download stopped.

    Restarted and windows finds the update and trusted install process runs high again and download stays at 0%.
     
  15. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,774
    Location:
    Texas
  16. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
    Any one notice a difference? heres what I noticed after download my boot up is longer but shut down seems quicker also slightly better performance once up and running
     
  17. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    for me boot up time is faster.
    as soon as my desktop loads all my tray icons are there.
    desktop loads in same amount of time but dont have to wait say 40seconds for tray icons to appear.
    all menus and progtams load faster.
    shutdown is also faster.
     
  18. Seer

    Seer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Posts:
    1,596
    Location:
    Singidunum
    Hi. :)

    Yes, SP1 installation behaved the same on my rig. I suppose Vista downloaded some updates (stopped download at 7%), then proceeded to install them (Trusted Install Process using up to 50% of CPU, some hard disk grinding too), and after a few minutes continued with download. Stopped for a while at 92% as well (again some CPU usage and HD grinding), continued and finished successfully.
    There was no need to restart, this procedure seems to be normal. I suppose you expected the download to be completely finished before the installation starts?
    btw I haven't noticed any change with "bootup".

    Cheers,
     
  19. midway40

    midway40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Posts:
    1,257
    Location:
    SW MS, USA
    Speaking of TrustedInstaller.exe, I used to have problems with it at times running at 50% even when I wasn't installing anything. Since SP1 I hardly ever notice it anymore so they must have fixed it as well.
     
  20. Cloudcroft

    Cloudcroft Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Posts:
    433
    Location:
    The Hill Country of Texas
    Downloaded and installed Vista SP1 last night, and when the notebook rebooted, it locked up. The only thing I could do was power off, and then back on, but it locked up each time. I tried this several times, then finally booted to safe mode and successfully ran system restore. I guess I'll try again later, but so far no luck with SP1.
     
  21. Tony

    Tony Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2003
    Posts:
    722
    Location:
    Cumbria, England
    Thanks Seer, it has taken some time but SP1 is finally installed.
    Thanks :thumb:
     
  22. Coolio10

    Coolio10 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2006
    Posts:
    1,124
    It won't show up in my windows update. Is it excluded for some people or something?
     
  23. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,774
    Location:
    Texas
  24. midway40

    midway40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Posts:
    1,257
    Location:
    SW MS, USA
    SP1 is being released in two waves. If your language falls under Wave 1 you will have to wait a little longer.
     

    Attached Files:

  25. Seer

    Seer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Posts:
    1,596
    Location:
    Singidunum
    You're welcome :)

    I had to check for it manually. Others too.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.