Windows Vista Firewall vs. McAfee Firewall vs. Zonealarm Free Edition

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by Gecko, Feb 3, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Gecko

    Gecko Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    Posts:
    21
    Which of the three have the best protection? Which of them slows down your connection the least? If I get Zonealarm pro, will I be able to turn off it's antispyware component? Thanks for your help.
     
  2. AKAJohnDoe

    AKAJohnDoe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Posts:
    989
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Get ZoneAlarm AntiVirus if you are running Vista. Pay close attention to the crosses in this table.
     
  3. Diver

    Diver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2005
    Posts:
    1,444
    Location:
    Deep Underwater
    If you run ZA on Vista your choices are either the free version or the full security suite with AV and AS. You can turn off both the AV and AS components, but you have to pay for them. The free version is hardly worth bothering with if leak test results worry you. IMO, the Vista firewall is pretty decent, although it is difficult to set up if outbound filtering is desired.
     
  4. AKAJohnDoe

    AKAJohnDoe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Posts:
    989
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Not true.

    Look at my previous post in this thread and examine the chart referenced in the link.
     
  5. Diver

    Diver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2005
    Posts:
    1,444
    Location:
    Deep Underwater

    OK, the landscape changed a bit since the release. All I can tel you is I ran ZASS on Vista and was not happy with it. Vista is a bit slow and bloated to start with, and some security software only makes things worse. Based on a 6 month run with Vista (I am back with XP these days), I got the best results with Avira Classic and the Vista firewall, leaving Defender and UAC enabled to cover spyware. Its also a good idea to enable SRP, but that might not be available on all versions of Vista.
     
  6. AKAJohnDoe

    AKAJohnDoe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Posts:
    989
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    And if you are running Vista paying close attention to those crosses and the footnotes associated with them shows a clearer picture.

    Essentially, the majority of the features in ZASS do not exist in the Vista version.

    I am running ZAAV under Vista because it is the fullest set of real features, the lowest price, and the full Firewall (with Program Control) and it runs quite well on my Vista notebook.
     
  7. Kees1958

    Kees1958 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5,857
    Ok,

    There are a lot serious firewalls, but Vista's own firewall is not bad at all. When you want lean, free and simple this is the one for you: VistaFireWallControl 1.2 It uses the Vista Fire Wall 'engine'. You can turn of VistaFireWall after instaling VFWC 1.2

    Off course when you want more control, more rules, more filter options the freeware version is to simple.

    Regards Kees
     
  8. Gecko

    Gecko Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    Posts:
    21
    Wow...I installed Comodo, and everything was really laggy. So I went to DSLreports.com and ran a speed test. My download speed was 50 times slower than usual! I should have just kept my malfunctioning McAfee! Does anyone know a firewall that doesn't slow down my download speeds?
     
  9. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,728
    Location:
    localhost
    ZA does not slow down connections (here)... have you tried it?

    Fax
     
    Last edited: Feb 4, 2008
  10. Gecko

    Gecko Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    Posts:
    21
    Fax, are you sure I won't have any lag? Because I'm not spending $40 on it otherwise.
     
  11. AKAJohnDoe

    AKAJohnDoe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Posts:
    989
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    -50x? I would probably clear all browser cache, reboot, and retry the test. If consistently -50x, I would uninstall (or at least disable) Comodo, clear all browser cache again, reboot again, and retry it. Not that I'm a fan of Comodo (I'm not), but -50x is hard to pin on any firewall.
     
  12. AKAJohnDoe

    AKAJohnDoe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Posts:
    989
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    You can try ZA for free for what, 15 days? 30 days?
     
  13. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,728
    Location:
    localhost
    Always test before buying.... there is a 15 days trial on all ZA products.
    15 days should be enough to test for major problems.

    Cheers,
    Fax
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.