Windows System Control Center

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by ruinebabine, Oct 31, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ruinebabine

    ruinebabine Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Posts:
    1,097
    Location:
    QC
    WSCC (free Sysinternals & Nirsoft's front-end)

    -> Windows System Control Center is a free new and interesting frontend for Nirsoft and Sysinternals software programs.
     
    Last edited: Oct 31, 2008
  2. Adric

    Adric Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Posts:
    795
    Anyone know what the purpose of the wscc.dat and wscc.cache files are for?

    The files are created when you run wscc, but everything in those files appear to
    be encrypted. Seems strange for a stand-alone front-end.

    Al
     
  3. ruinebabine

    ruinebabine Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Posts:
    1,097
    Location:
    QC
    Hi Adric,

    Those files are used by WSCC to store some settings and temporary data (EXE files icons, for ex). The two files are encrypted because currently there is nothing to edit there, and most of the data is temporary.
     
  4. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    5,633
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    No disrespect intended but this app offers as a service a rude privacy threat and sux because of it. If you have no internet connection for one it fails to open anything, second, if it does connect, theres obviously a database monitoring each time a utility is accessed, and guess who's addressed gets listed to who know where? A definite sales item for someone. No Thanks!

    Bad Idea IMO. :thumbd:
     
  5. Seer

    Seer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Posts:
    1,596
    Location:
    Singidunum
    EASTER,

    are you sure this is the right thread? You didn't confuse WSCC with some other app? If so, how on earth did you notice that?
    The only connection WSCC makes is when checking for "updates" - to the author's site.
    Now, if you don't mind showing some proof (screenshots i.e.) of your claims. No disrespect to you either, it's just that I haven't noticed the same...
     
  6. ruinebabine

    ruinebabine Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Posts:
    1,097
    Location:
    QC
    ...and this checking for updates have to be initiated manualy by the user if/when he feels a need for it (or you can simply use your web browser to go check the website for an app's update). I always apreciate this way of doing - no pushing.


    mEASTER,

    Here WSCC work perfectly when it is not allowed to connect and/or if your pc is not connected to internet. At least, for me, it is what's showing my experience with it and I would also be glad to be enlighted on what I missed!
     
  7. Pedro

    Pedro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,502
    Easter, to finish what Seer is telling you, when you open it the first time, it's expecting to see C:\Program Files\Sysinternals Suite and C:\Program Files\NirSoft . You need to change this if you want, or get the utilities there. Then it won't connect.

    ruinebabine, nice catch.
     
  8. glentrino2duo

    glentrino2duo Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2006
    Posts:
    310
    thanks for this info, ruinebabine!

    I've been looking for a long time for a gui for sysinternals suite..
     
  9. Seer

    Seer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Posts:
    1,596
    Location:
    Singidunum
    As I see it here, it won't connect even if you didn't change this defaults. Links/buttons in WSCC simply won't work.

    EASTER?
     
  10. Pedro

    Pedro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,502
    Strange. I got CFP prompting immediately after running it. Then i found the above option, "fixed" it and it's normal now.
     
  11. Seer

    Seer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Posts:
    1,596
    Location:
    Singidunum
    I have just tried this once again to confirm my claims. Fresh VM, default XP installation, Jetico is the firewall. Downloaded fresh copy of WSCC, started it. It does start with the "settings" window, click on "OK" without changing anything. No connection attempts. Yes I agree, strange.
     
  12. Pedro

    Pedro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,502
    Jetico is on right? :D
     
  13. Seer

    Seer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Posts:
    1,596
    Location:
    Singidunum
    Here's WSCC checking for "updates"...

    111108wscc.jpg

    Cheers,
     
  14. Pedro

    Pedro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,502
    Yep, that's it. Why didn't it connect before? Oh well.
     
  15. Seer

    Seer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Posts:
    1,596
    Location:
    Singidunum
    OK, an update. I had a little play with this app...

    This what I said is not correct. If you haven't changed defaults, when you click on links/buttons, WSCC will try to run "live" versions of Sysinternals' apps, so will connect to live.sysinternals in order to do it. But this -

    - certainly does not happen on both XP and Vista.

    Cheers,
     
  16. Pedro

    Pedro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,502
    I could be wrong about that little part, since the time to run it and click something is 2 seconds, but i'm not in Windows to check..
     
  17. ruinebabine

    ruinebabine Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Posts:
    1,097
    Location:
    QC
    No disrespect taken EASTER (I am always happy willing to learn and debunk any bad apps' behavior) but, as I value your opinion around here, I had been curious to know a bit more about your haste 'n' findings here.
     
    Last edited: Nov 13, 2008
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.