Windows Internet Explorer probem

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by samy, Feb 6, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. samy

    samy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2008
    Posts:
    148
    I am trying to assist my young neighbour solving a problem with his PC.
    He is running Wndows XP Pro (SP2) . A few weeks ago he was unable to open correctly his I.E. When opening the file he got the "home page" but immediately after a window opens with "Exception Information" and with the note "Internet Explorer found an error and needs to close" and the PC freezes. He has to use the Task Manager to remove the opened home page.
    This "Exception Information" (when clicked) leads to Code:0x0000005.

    On his PC he has also the Firefox browser which runs smoothly.
    I upgraded his I.E. to the version 8, but this didn't solve the issue.
    Now he has the same window opening with an additional remark:
    "The file has been retrieved. A problem with Internet page causes Internet Explorer to close and open the file again"
    But still the PC freezes.

    Is there any advice how to correct this problem?
    Is it necessary to re-install the operating system ?

    Thanks
     
  2. MerleOne

    MerleOne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Posts:
    1,272
    Location:
    France
    I would try to run IE in safe mode, without extension (just disable them, do not remove them, in IE settings - right-click on IE Desktop Icon to reach these settings I think). Also try running Hitman Pro to check for any malware.
     
  3. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,129
    Location:
    USA
    Try "Control Panel/Internet Properties/Advanced tab/Reset"

    It will reset IE to the original default settings.
     
  4. samy

    samy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2008
    Posts:
    148
    Many thanks MerleOne and Vicktek for the prompt answer.

    Probleme solved.
    I reset I.E. to the default status and run Malwarebyte A.M. which found two
    malwares (one of them a hijack one).

    I.E. v.8 is running smooth

    thanks
     
  5. MerleOne

    MerleOne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Posts:
    1,272
    Location:
    France

    This should only be used as a last resort because it may remove useful or required add-ons, IMHO. I have seen cases where it rended the browser unable to connect to some corporate servers.
     
  6. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,129
    Location:
    USA
    Were the connection problems caused by the removal of proxy settings?

    Regarding add-ons I hadn't noticed that they were actually removed when doing a reset - I need to have a look at that. I would agree that there are other steps to take first, such as checking for malware, emptying the IE cache, returning the security zones and privacy settings to default, confirming that the proxy option is not enabled (or the settings are correct if a proxy is used), and restoring "advanced settings" to default. One of the rules of troubleshooting is to notice the way things are before you change them (and don't talk about fight club).
     
  7. MerleOne

    MerleOne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Posts:
    1,272
    Location:
    France
    I was also referring to tools such as :
    http://www.tweaking.com/content/page/windows_repair_all_in_one.html
    which contains an IE fix module.
     
  8. samy

    samy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2008
    Posts:
    148
    MerleOne

    A great link to have handy in every PC

    thanks
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.