Windows FW inbound troubles!

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by Gen, Apr 16, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Gen

    Gen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    Posts:
    73
    Stem, help!

    I'm supposed to be good at firewalls/tcp/udp etc (which was the case when i used a 3rd party FW) but now that im on the Windows Vista FW it's really getting messy.

    On shields up! @ GRC the test says that my ports: 21-22-23-80 are wide open while i block all incoming connections + remade new rules specifically for these ports and yet there are open.
    For outbound I use the Windows Firewall Control freebie.

    I really have no clue what to do it's bugging me o_O
     
  2. Syncman9

    Syncman9 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2004
    Posts:
    113
    Location:
    UK
    You're not running via a router are you? not all routers close off the ports.

    What happens if you reset the rules ? do the same ports show open?
     
  3. Gen

    Gen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    Posts:
    73
    It's a wireless connection and reset doesn't do anything.
     
  4. Mem

    Mem Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    292
    Check your PC IP vs what Shields Up is reporting. It is the router that is the problem if they are not the same IP (which is most likely).
     
  5. doktornotor

    doktornotor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Posts:
    2,047
    Hmmm, 21 - FTP; 22 - SSH; 23 - Telnet, 80 - HTTP. Looks like your router has it's administration interfaces open for anyone to log on.
     
  6. Stem

    Stem Firewall Expert

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Posts:
    4,948
    Location:
    UK
    Hi Gen,

    As mentioned, it will be your router that is being checked by shieldsup.

    You will need to go into the router settings and disable any remote allowed access. Resetting the router will just place it back to default settings, and those settings will be allowing that remote inbound access.


    - Stem
     
  7. Gen

    Gen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    Posts:
    73
    Thanks for the help, will do that.

    1 more question: if the ports are open on the router and my windows FW closes them, am i still at risk?
     
  8. doktornotor

    doktornotor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Posts:
    2,047
    The ports should be open for access from LAN only. Unless you wish someone to take over your router. There's no need for every random folk out there trying to log on there. Plus the firmware of these home routers tends to be buggy, rarely updated, bundled w/ universal passwords etc.
     
  9. Stem

    Stem Firewall Expert

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Posts:
    4,948
    Location:
    UK
    Hi Gen,

    Your Win firewall will not close the open ports in the router, so you will be at risk of someone being able to enter remotely into the router. It is better to change the settings in the router and close off those ports.


    - Stem
     
  10. Mem

    Mem Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    292
    Also, if you do not have control of the router, ie you are at an unsecured hotspot, your Windows firewall will protect you when set up for the public network setting in Vista and the Windows firewall incoming defaults have not been changed. If they have been changed, well, it depends on what was done,
     
  11. Gen

    Gen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    Posts:
    73
    Thanks Stem

    Having already planned for this, i changed the setting for "public" long time ago (no control on router settings) but was still concerned since the ports were open in the scan.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.