'Windows Firewall Notifier' does not work when adding a rule to block an IP address

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by paulescobar, Jan 10, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. paulescobar

    paulescobar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Posts:
    181
    I think I have discovered a bug...or perhaps this is intentional behaviour?
    I have only a basic understanding, so I will share with you all...

    I installed 'Windows Firewall Notifier' (with default settings) on my 'Windows 7 Ultimate' system (in the actual "Administrator" account).

    It worked perfectly, no complaints.

    But then I needed to block a specific IP address.


    To do this, I created a new rule in the "outbound rules" section. Basically, this rule specified that all programs should be banned from visiting a specific IP address.

    I've successfully used such a rule before, without problems.

    Unfortunately, 'Windows Firewall Notifier' stops functioning properly when such a "Block Specific IP" rule is enabled.

    What happens is that the "pop-up" notification (allow/block confirmation) for NEW applications stops appearing. Only previously exempted applications are allowed internet access.

    To be certain, I uninstalled 'Windows Firewall Notifier' and applied the IP blocking rule. Everything worked perfectly, and only those applications which attempted to access the banned IP were affected.

    Is this a bug...or normal behaviour (that I have failed to grasp the logic of)?
     
    Last edited: Jan 10, 2013
  2. paulescobar

    paulescobar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Posts:
    181
    UPDATE: I contacted the developer with this concern, and he explained that it is a bug. There could be a fix for this in the next release, which will be released later this month (1.8.0).
     
  3. mrtonyg

    mrtonyg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    35
    Location:
    USA
    Did you create the rule from within WFN or straight in the Windows Firewall?
     
  4. paulescobar

    paulescobar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Posts:
    181
    I created it straight in the Windows Firewall (outbound).

    I'll accept any blame if what I'm doing is unorthodox, but I know no other way to ban specific IP's.
     
  5. mrtonyg

    mrtonyg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    35
    Location:
    USA
    I create all the manual rules within Windows firewall too and never had an issue with them...then again I don't block specific IPs.

    Glad to see the developer is going to address this issue.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.