Windows Firewall Control (WFC) by BiniSoft.org

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by alexandrud, May 20, 2013.

  1. alexandrud

    alexandrud Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Posts:
    2,007
    Location:
    Romania
    I have created a new section on the website that contains some frequently asked questions regarding WFC. It is located at this URL:

    http://www.binisoft.org/faq2.php


    It contains some of the questions that I have received over the years about WFC. I will continue to update this section with new answers to the most asked questions about WFC.
     
  2. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    6,064
    Location:
    USA
    Since installing WFC I'm seeing this error when attempting to check for updates in DisplayFusion:

    "An attempt was made to access a socket in a way forbidden by its access permissions 206.191.62.34:443"

    I have created an outbound rule that "allows" everything, but no joy.

    Will appreciate any help with this, thanks!
     
  3. NSG001

    NSG001 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Posts:
    682
    Location:
    Wembley, London
    Thanks :thumb:
    Sure many will find this useful.
     
  4. alexandrud

    alexandrud Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Posts:
    2,007
    Location:
    Romania
    For which file(s) did you create an outbound allow rule ? Did you check the Connections Log to see if a different assembly was blocked while checking for updates ? Maybe you need to allow one or more files. Many programs use satellite assemblies when checking for updates, maybe not the main exe is the one that connects to their update servers, maybe a different dll file. Try to ask the DisplayFusion developers which rules you should create in your firewall to allow their program to check for updates. These rules should apply to all firewalls, not only for Windows Firewall.
     
  5. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    6,064
    Location:
    USA
    Thanks for the reply. You are correct that the problem was caused by DisplayFusion using a different executable when checking for updates. The problem went away after I manually created a rule :thumb:
     
  6. smith2006

    smith2006 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Posts:
    793
    Thanks Alexandru! :)
     
  7. smith2006

    smith2006 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Posts:
    793
    No problem, Baldrick. :)
     
  8. smith2006

    smith2006 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Posts:
    793
    For me, it only happens after updating to Windows 10.
     
  9. Overkill

    Overkill Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    Posts:
    2,339
    Location:
    USA
    Whenever I check for updates this usually happens...
     

    Attached Files:

  10. alexandrud

    alexandrud Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Posts:
    2,007
    Location:
    Romania
    Do you have the following rule in your rules list ? It allows WFC to check for updates. If you have this rule and it still can't check for updates, check the proxy configuration.

    upload_2015-8-25_11-12-49.png
     
  11. singularity

    singularity Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2014
    Posts:
    76
    Location:
    India
    A comment at BitsDuJour on WFC
     
  12. Overkill

    Overkill Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    Posts:
    2,339
    Location:
    USA
    Yes it is there and allowed, where do I check the proxy config?
     
  13. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    6,064
    Location:
    USA
    WFC Main Panel/About/

    There's a checkbox for "Use proxy configuration". If you check it you can enter proxy information. If it's unchecked it implies no proxy.
     
    Last edited: Aug 25, 2015
  14. pajenn

    pajenn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Posts:
    930
    imo, WFC is better for controlling Window's Firewall than Glasswire, but Glasswire is also a great tool for notifying you of things and it has a bunch of additional features that some people may find useful - monitoring how much bandwidth different processes are using, informing you where they are connecting, monitoring webcam and microphone, ARP spoofing, hosts file monitoring, application monitoring (changes to file versions), and more. some of those feature are only available in the paid version, which is expensive relatively speaking. currently I'm using both WFC and Glasswire together and I think it's worth at least trying the free version with WFC, although its RAM use is very high. YMMV.
     
  15. Overkill

    Overkill Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    Posts:
    2,339
    Location:
    USA
    I don't use a proxy :confused:
     
  16. alexandrud

    alexandrud Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Posts:
    2,007
    Location:
    Romania
    Next time when you check for updates and you receive that error, verify in Connections Log if you see a blocked connection for wfc.exe. Does your allow rule match the blocked connection ?
     
  17. Overkill

    Overkill Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    Posts:
    2,339
    Location:
    USA
    Tried it and now it works. weird
     
  18. Overkill

    Overkill Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    Posts:
    2,339
    Location:
    USA
    Are these neccessary to allow?

    screenshot.2.png
    screenshot.3.png
     
  19. Wroll

    Wroll Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Posts:
    549
    Location:
    Italy
    I have both of them blocked. The only error I got, some old games wouldn't run for the first time unless rundll was allowed.
     
  20. Overkill

    Overkill Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    Posts:
    2,339
    Location:
    USA
  21. NSG001

    NSG001 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Posts:
    682
    Location:
    Wembley, London
    Daddy MS phoning home more and more.
    I block 'em all! :p
     
  22. Overkill

    Overkill Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    Posts:
    2,339
    Location:
    USA
    I was thinking it might be that. Thanks
     
  23. marzametal

    marzametal Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2014
    Posts:
    766
    Same here, even got svchost zipped up, only allowing dhcp and dnscache!
     
  24. clubhouse1

    clubhouse1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2013
    Posts:
    1,124
    Location:
    UK
    I've just reformatted my Windows 8 x32. I installed Panda FREE AV and then WFC..Before installation WFC warned me that it had detected a third party firewall namely Panda's...The free version does not have a firewall option is it a false positive or is their an aspect of Panda free av that could impair WFC?
     
  25. alexandrud

    alexandrud Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Posts:
    2,007
    Location:
    Romania
    Windows Firewall Control uses WMI to query the security center if a firewall is registered in the system (SELECT * FROM FirewallProduct). If the result is positive it means that Panda registers itself in security center as a firewall. Maybe they have a web filtering module which does filter the traffic. This should be addressed to Panda support. That message from WFC is just informative and does not affect WFC. But another firewall product may interfere with Windows Firewall.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.