Windows Firewall Control (WFC) by BiniSoft.org

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by alexandrud, May 20, 2013.

  1. Azure Phoenix

    Azure Phoenix Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2014
    Posts:
    917
    I don't have WFC installed right now. But from my experience adding NoVirusThank correctly did managed to keep the rules.
     
  2. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    6,918
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    That's good.
     
  3. NIronwolf

    NIronwolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Tuesday
    Posts:
    1
    Location:
    USA
    I use Chrome Remote Desktop to access a PC that lives in my closet. It uses an auto-update feature and whenever it updates I can no longer connect until I click the notification to allow the new remoting_host.exe file. Is there any way to more permanently allow a specific file, even if it changes? (Yes I understand this is a potential security risk.)
     
  4. alexandrud

    alexandrud Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Posts:
    1,780
    Location:
    Romania
    A new path requires a new rule. This is how Windows Firewall works. Firewall rules are defined per path basis. Can you configure that software to use a specific port? If yes, then create a rule for a custom port (e.g: 45190) for all programs (no path set) and use that rule to connect to it. The changes that another software will try to use the same port are pretty low. Or disable the auto update from it, since it is just a remote desktop app, not an antivirus that needs constantly updates.
     
  5. Umbra

    Umbra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Posts:
    6,142
    Location:
    Europe then Asia
    Does WFC tray icon, to be launched, needs particular executables?
    I don't talk about WFC.exe, and I know netsh.exe is used by WFC.
     
  6. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    11,879
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    OK then I guess Krusty didn't enable the Secure Rules feature.
     
  7. alexandrud

    alexandrud Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Posts:
    1,780
    Location:
    Romania
    No, but why do you ask? Did you encounter a failure scenario after removing certain file?
     
  8. Umbra

    Umbra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Posts:
    6,142
    Location:
    Europe then Asia
    no, just using a security soft with custom blocks of LOLbins and it prevents the loading of WFC's tray icon (the service and notifications still work).
    I know that blocking execution of Netsh.exe has impact on WFC but this ''issue'' is new, didnt happened before with the said soft. so i tought maybe a process related to WFC could be involved.
    Only remediation is to remove the security soft.
     
  9. alexandrud

    alexandrud Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Posts:
    1,780
    Location:
    Romania
    Try to add wfc.exe in the exclusions list of that software. There can be certain apps that may block the loading of tray apps. However, since the notifications are displayed, but not the tray icon, it means the wfc.exe as a process is running, but it is prevented to register the tray icon into the existing tray icons.
     
  10. Umbra

    Umbra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Posts:
    6,142
    Location:
    Europe then Asia
    That is weird, I added it, then decided to reset the exclusions list, readded wfc.exe , now it launches properly...
     
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.