Windows Firewall Control (WFC) by BiniSoft.org

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by alexandrud, May 20, 2013.

  1. Roberteyewhy

    Roberteyewhy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    Posts:
    489
    Location:
    US
    Hey Alex. WFC Windows Update. Never ever had to do anything with your rule before. Also, never had a prompt for Windows Update. Now however, it seems I have to add port 80 to your rule so as Windows Update works. Is this how it should be?

    You know Microsoft. They change things whenever they fell like it...just like they did with Windows Defenders' location.

    Robert
     
  2. Roberteyewhy

    Roberteyewhy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    Posts:
    489
    Location:
    US
    Just having problems with a Clean Install of v1903. Now, without adding port 80, WU works.

    "No rhythm, no reason!"

    Thanks,
    Robert
     
  3. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    11,763
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    OK cool, no problem. Can you give some more info about the projects, are they related to security tools?
     
  4. alexandrud

    alexandrud Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Posts:
    1,767
    Location:
    Romania
    My other biniware.com project that I have in mind, which is a new security software, is on hold due to the lack of free time. Meanwhile, I work for Malwarebytes for a few corporate products.
     
  5. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    3,504
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    I know you have to put food on the table, but your other Biniware.com project is much more important! :D
     
  6. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    11,763
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Cool, so you're working on corporate security products, nice to know. When you have the time, you can perhaps check out the problem with WFC, it's a really weird one.
     
  7. alexandrud

    alexandrud Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Posts:
    1,767
    Location:
    Romania
    I will try to take a look at it.
     
  8. riseout

    riseout Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2016
    Posts:
    2
    Location:
    The day before
    Hello,
    After a Windows update to 1903 the Connections Log is always empty, I think sometime ago i read about it on on this forum how to fix it but i'm unable to find it now.
    alex what can i do to fix it?
    Thanks

    WFC 5.3.1.0 (registered version)
    Windows 10 x64
     
  9. aldist

    aldist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2017
    Posts:
    427
    Location:
    Germany
    1 - After major updates or upgrades Windows system resets the audit settings, so the connection log is empty and no longer displays new events. This is eliminated by disabling and re-enabling the "Allowed connections" and "Blocked connections" options in the connection log.
    This will force the WFC to reapply the required audit parameters.
    2 - For the same reason, the WFC may stop showing alerts. To return alerts, you need to turn off the "Display Notifications" option in the WFC main window in the Alerts section, and then turn it on again.
    3 - Also in the Connection Journal on the right, untick the "Allowed connections" and "Blocked connections", and tick them again.
    4 - Also, if there are alerts, and the WFC connection log is empty, a command from the administrator to enable auditing and restart the computer:
    auditpol.exe / set / subcategory: "Filtering Platform Connection", "Filtering Platform Packet Drop" / success: enable / failure: enable
     
    Last edited: Jul 15, 2019 at 2:45 AM
  10. alexandrud

    alexandrud Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Posts:
    1,767
    Location:
    Romania
    What aldist wrote is correct. For version 5.3.1.0 you must do these steps. Or uninstall and reinstall WFC also solves it. In version 6.0.2.0 this is done automatically, so it just works.
     
  11. riseout

    riseout Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2016
    Posts:
    2
    Location:
    The day before
    Thanks aldist for your detailed explanation, everything works again!
    @alex, i have to find time to learn what has changed from the registered version to the free one.
     
  12. alexandrud

    alexandrud Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Posts:
    1,767
    Location:
    Romania
    Basically, nothing.
     
  13. popescu

    popescu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2018
    Posts:
    52
    Location:
    Canada
    Except the fact that "free version" is contacting Malwarebytes several time a day with reports about your PC and your browsing behavior....
    If you have a registered version, is advisable to use that version.
     
  14. Stukalide

    Stukalide Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2013
    Posts:
    37
    Since sometimes programs get blocked even though they have an allow-rule because the connection parameters happen to fall under a different rule, would it be possible to add a "See why blocked" context menu feature that shows why a particular connection entry was blocked? There's currently a "Search rules" function which is useful, but it only searches/filters by same program name.

    If it was possible to see what various rules a blocked connection falls within -- or best of all, what specific rule was the reason that connection was blocked -- that would be fantastic.

    Any chance of this?
     
  15. aldist

    aldist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2017
    Posts:
    427
    Location:
    Germany
    1. The WFC transmits limited information that does not include personally identifiable information.
    2. Disable telemetry transmission is very simple, in the subject it is described several times.
    3. The free version has several advantages, so I would use it.
    Look in the Сonnections Log, I can’t figure out anything else.
     
  16. popescu

    popescu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2018
    Posts:
    52
    Location:
    Canada
    If you dissable "telemetry" in Malwarebytes, the sofdtware still will send data about your PC to malwarebytes server.

    I suspect WFC free version to do the same.
    Issue is , you do not have another firewall to block comunication of WFC ......
     
  17. alexandrud

    alexandrud Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Posts:
    1,767
    Location:
    Romania
    You made that up based on some assumptions of yours. I explained here one year ago what data is sent, once a day only. I also mentioned that the data will not be sent if wfc.exe is blocked by a firewall rule, or if it has no rule while using Medium Filtering profile.
    This may be true for other Malwarebytes programs, but not for WFC (I know the code, I wrote it myself, including after the acquisition). WFC can be blocked the same way as someone would block any other software. Why do you insist on this non-sense idea of "another firewall to block WFC communications"? And after all, even other products from Malwarebytes can be blocked with Windows Firewall or any other firewall.

    This discussion is pointless.
    - A connection may be blocked by not having a rule: Medium Filtering profile and no rule at all.
    - A connection may be blocked by multiple rules if they match the connection details.
    - A connection may be blocked by a proxy or by a filtering engine of a security product.
    It is not easy to find the exact reason at WFC level, this is why such feature does not yet exist.
     
  18. popescu

    popescu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2018
    Posts:
    52
    Location:
    Canada
    You did provide an explanation, however from a logical point of view , doesn't make sense:"Depending on the number of existing users, WFC will continue to receive new features or not. A reduced number of installations will probably stop the development of WFC, a large number will probably continue the development."

    So, you are saying , if the number of users is large enough, Malwarebyutes will continue WFC development, and will continue to offer it for free....
    Knowing Malwarebytes, I have my doubts....that's why I prefer to use the previous registered version (for which I paid for) and I advice all other users to do so.
     
  19. Special

    Special Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2016
    Posts:
    199
    Location:
    Canada
    Lol @ the hate towards Alex, totally uncalled for... dude has been incredibly transparent about all this and I for one have trust in the guy, nothing shows otherwise either. Meanwhile you're on Windows 10... how that taste?
     
  20. Roberteyewhy

    Roberteyewhy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    Posts:
    489
    Location:
    US
    Nothing against anyone..not my business. But, I have always used Alexs' WFC version. Unless MB/Alex offers a greatly improved/feature update.

    Robert
     
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.