Windows Firewall Control (WFC) by BiniSoft.org

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by alexandrud, May 20, 2013.

  1. banita

    banita Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2019
    Posts:
    4
    Location:
    poland
    Thank you
    alexandrud
    love this firewall.
    Is fast, simple , small and do everything what I need.At the moment this is the best small firewall.I used all firewalls
    for over 20 years.great work :)
     
  2. AmigaBoy

    AmigaBoy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2015
    Posts:
    115
    Banita, it's not a firewall. :)
     
  3. banita

    banita Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2019
    Posts:
    4
    Location:
    poland
    Of course, I know it :)
     
  4. chrcol

    chrcol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2006
    Posts:
    897
    Location:
    UK
    The service granular control is removed in windows 10?

    Thats pretty shocking when Microsoft are supposedly improving security in windows 10. svchost in itself is already really bad, but the service granular control made it somewhat more bearable to manage from a security front.
     
  5. myk1

    myk1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2012
    Posts:
    83
    Location:
    Belgium
    Hmm.. I also liked those shortcuts buttons..
     
  6. chrcol

    chrcol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2006
    Posts:
    897
    Location:
    UK
    Doesnt matter really, its a front end for a firewall that barely has changed between windows XP SP2 and Current build of Win 10, it doesnt need updates etc. It just works.

    This software could be effectively abandoned and probably still work 100% in 10 years time. The only concern is the activation key system stays online.

    I still use build 4.9 on my PC.
     
  7. aldist

    aldist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2017
    Posts:
    448
    Location:
    Germany
    Yes, of course, I understand that, there I gave the names just for brevity.
    Resolved.

    And I also wanted to say that the installer by mistake got two identical files 1:1, but with different names, wfcUK.lng and wfcRU.lng.
     
  8. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,929
    Location:
    USA
    That's how I understood it, ie previously the check used HTTP and now uses HTTPs :thumb:
     
  9. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,929
    Location:
    USA
    Are there installation instructions somewhere? Specifically, since I currently have 5.4.1.0 installed can I install 6.0.1.0 over the top or must I uninstall 5.4.1.0 first? Will activation be carried over? Anything else to be aware of? TIA
     
  10. AmigaBoy

    AmigaBoy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2015
    Posts:
    115
    It was mentioned that you must uninstall v5 first. If you want to maintain your current firewall rules, select the appropriate option during the v5 uninstallation. If you want to keep your user settings, export them before uninstalling v5 and import them in v6.

    Activation will not be carried over, because it is no longer needed.
     
  11. JRViejo

    JRViejo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    36,922
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    FYI. https://www.wilderssecurity.com/thr...-by-binisoft-org.347370/page-193#post-2811155
     
  12. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,264
    Location:
    .
    4774.png
     
  13. alexandrud

    alexandrud Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Posts:
    1,788
    Location:
    Romania
    Yes it is correct. Until version 5.x.x.x. the checking for updates was using http and version 6.x.x.x uses https to connect to binisoft.org website.
    Because the auditing settings are external, WFC does not know the state of these settings during installation/update, therefore the logging for allowed and blocked connections will always be enabled during installation/update by WFC installer. Besides this, users expect to see entries in Connections Log. It is easier for an advanced user to remember to disable these settings, than me responding to support emails and explaining why the Connections Log is empty by not enabling those settings by default.
    I got instructions to remove them from the main page. I could have added them in the Rules tab, but there is no point if they are not on the main page. But, they are available in Rules Panel.
    WFC installer does not create or distribute a file name wfcUK.lng. I do not understand.
     
    Last edited: Feb 27, 2019
  14. smith2006

    smith2006 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Posts:
    793
    Updated to the latest V6 after completely uninstalling V5, noticed the hidden icon (notification area) on my desktop is still green in color.

    Is the new icon supposed to be in blue (to confirm whether is a problem at my end)?

    Thank you.

    EDIT: Correct information
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Feb 27, 2019
  15. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,264
    Location:
    .
    MWFC v6.0.1.0
    my desktop Icon shortcut is blue.
    my tray Icon remains green.
     
  16. smith2006

    smith2006 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Posts:
    793
    Thank you for the reply.:)

    Tried on a laptop, also same result - blue desktop icon, green tray icon
     
  17. alexandrud

    alexandrud Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Posts:
    1,788
    Location:
    Romania
    The icon of the executable file is blue, while the profiles icons remained the same: black, green, orange, red.
     
  18. alexandrud

    alexandrud Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Posts:
    1,788
    Location:
    Romania
    In the past two days I received a lot of emails related to the new orange button from the top right, with questions like:

    "Is WFC limited and I have to buy Premium?"
    "Which are the missing features from WFC if I don't get the Premium version ?"
    "Why do I have to pay, when I paid fro WFC a few years ago to become a registered user?"

    upload_2019-2-28_6-33-49.png

    The answer is:
    - Windows Firewall Control as a product is freeware and does not have any Premium features. They are all included, for everyone, for free. You don't have to buy or pay anything.
    - The company that owns now Windows Firewall Control is called Malwarebytes. Malwarebytes is also used as the name of the anti-malware software from the same company. The anti-malware product has a free and a premium version which costs money and which is subscription based. But this is another product which is different from Windows Firewall Control.
    - That orange button is just a way to advertise the anti-malware product from the same company. If you are not interested in using that product, you can just ignore the orange button with the label Try Malwarebytes Premium.
    - If you have installed on your computer the free or the premium version of the Malwarebytes anti-malware product, then the orange button will become blue and will have the label Open Malwarebytes, which will open the main window of the anti-malware software.
     
    Last edited: Feb 28, 2019
  19. Special

    Special Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2016
    Posts:
    227
    Location:
    Canada
    Looks like WFC's roots are getting too deep.
     
  20. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    7,031
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    It's been sold - to Malwarebytes. What did you expect?
     
  21. alexandrud

    alexandrud Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Posts:
    1,788
    Location:
    Romania
    It is just a button that opens a web page, that's all. Pressing that button is optional.
     
  22. lunarlander

    lunarlander Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2011
    Posts:
    217
    Hi,
    Just to report a bug in version 5. I exported rules to and imported rules from a USB memory stick. And turned off machine. Changed to another memory stick. Then started machine. Version 5 errors out, will not start. Removed memory stick, reboot machine - WFC starts OK. Maybe this is also present in version 6, will test today.
     
  23. aldist

    aldist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2017
    Posts:
    448
    Location:
    Germany
    ScreenShot_153.png
    Contradiction or I do not understand? So only newly added or and to existing ones ?

    On any version of Windows 10 you can use v5.0.2.0...v6.0.1.0.

    v6.0.1.0 is freeware, do not need activation. The new functions will be added only in v6.xxx, best shoice - v6.xxx.
    You can activate the old version online at any time. You can create a backup copy of the activation (export from the registry).
     
    Last edited: Feb 28, 2019
  24. AmigaBoy

    AmigaBoy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2015
    Posts:
    115
    There's no contradiction, it means it applies both to a) all existing [=current] rules and b) new rules that will be created in the future.
     
  25. aldist

    aldist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2017
    Posts:
    448
    Location:
    Germany
    There is a contradiction, because in the message alexandrud writes that it is applicable only to new rules, and in the WFC interface it is applicable to new rules and to existing ones.
    You really do not see the difference?
     
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.