Windows Firewall Control (WFC) by BiniSoft.org

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by alexandrud, May 20, 2013.

  1. Special

    Special Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2016
    Posts:
    238
    Location:
    Canada
    No one goes looking for the manual until they need the manual.
     
  2. minimalist13

    minimalist13 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2016
    Posts:
    15
  3. Mr.X

    Mr.X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    3,625
    Location:
    Mexico
    Meanwhile: https://www.binisoft.org/download/wfc6setup.exe
     
  4. alexandrud

    alexandrud Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Posts:
    1,800
    Location:
    Romania
    Will do.
    No one does open neither the offline chm file. Not even when it was there. The online PDF can be easily downloaded, if needed.
    Updated.
     
  5. AmigaBoy

    AmigaBoy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2015
    Posts:
    115
    Thank you for the update! Only problem I'm seeing is the Dashboard reporting it's connected to Public.
    Code:
    https://imgur.com/a/DXoZFk9
    Removed v5 first, installed v6. Also tried restarting the PC - W10 Pro 1809 x64.
     
  6. alexandrud

    alexandrud Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Posts:
    1,800
    Location:
    Romania
    I'm working on a fix on this. A new version will be published soon with a fix for this.
     
    Last edited: Feb 26, 2019
  7. Claudio R

    Claudio R Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2018
    Posts:
    15
    Location:
    Italy
    Too bad ... the 4 shortcut buttons from the dashboard have disappeared:
    • Browse to allow
    • Click to allow
    • Browse to block
    • Click to block
     
  8. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,313
    Location:
    .
    Will v5 rules Import to v6?
     
  9. banita

    banita Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2019
    Posts:
    4
    Location:
    poland
    Hello. Thank you for fantastic firewall .
    I uninstall v5, and try install v6 and have info- cant install, detected other firewall(comodo firewall)
    V5 can install without problems, with this message.
    In v6 when click continue nothing happen.
    I no have comodo.
    I run many times comodo uninstaller app. Nothing helped.
    Cant install v6 please any help. I spend 5 hrs for fix this :(
     
    Last edited: Feb 26, 2019
  10. alexandrud

    alexandrud Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Posts:
    1,800
    Location:
    Romania
    They were not really useful. They are still present in Rules Panel where you can also check the rule that is added.
    Yes. They have nothing to do with WFC version.
    There is a bug in the new installer which prevents pressing the Continue button when another security software is registered in Windows Security Center. I will publish a new version tomorrow with a fix for this. Please use the link below to download the previous version: https://www.binisoft.org/download/old/5410/wfc5setup.exe
     
  11. banita

    banita Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2019
    Posts:
    4
    Location:
    poland
    uff thanks ;)
     
  12. AmigaBoy

    AmigaBoy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2015
    Posts:
    115
    It seems that the WFC v5 user settings (not rules) can be imported normally into v6, so make sure to export them before removing v5. They will be reset, so if you've made many changes (Notifications exceptions etc.) it's convenient to be able to quickly import them.
     
    Last edited: Feb 26, 2019
  13. galileo

    galileo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2005
    Posts:
    71
    +1
     
  14. william1955

    william1955 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Posts:
    13
    I have similar problem to one reported by banita.
    I my case WFC installer reported KIS firewall installed.
    In fact, i uninstall KIS few months ago using regular method and additionally dedicated uninstaller.kavremvr.exe.
    Still installation is not possible.
    I have only WF active in Security Centre.
     
  15. aldist

    aldist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2017
    Posts:
    452
    Location:
    Germany
    If it is not possible to install v6.0.0.0.0, try clearing the registry of the remnants of uninstalled COMODO or KIS applications with the search for keywords comodo, kaspersky.
    @alexandrud
    If the Manual has already been downloaded and placed in the program folder, there should be a button to open it.
     
    Last edited: Feb 27, 2019
  16. alexandrud

    alexandrud Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Posts:
    1,800
    Location:
    Romania
    The problem is that these programs do not remove themselves from Windows Security Center where they still appear as registered. I will update the message to be more clear.
    Will do.

    A new version will be available later today. I am working on all these issues. Thank you for reporting them and thank you for your support.
     
  17. WFCuser

    WFCuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2014
    Posts:
    1
    Location:
    Germany
    Similar issue here: I have Bitdefender Total Security installed, but have disabled the Bitdefender firewall. Can't install WFC.
     
  18. Roberteyewhy

    Roberteyewhy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    Posts:
    559
    Location:
    US
    alexandrud, where can I download v5.4.1.0 just in case I want to revert from v6? ghacks link is currently not working.

    That's ok, I got it.

    Thanks,
    Robert
     
    Last edited: Feb 27, 2019
  19. aldist

    aldist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2017
    Posts:
    452
    Location:
    Germany
    No problem, see 8 posts up.
     
  20. Roberteyewhy

    Roberteyewhy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    Posts:
    559
    Location:
    US
    Thanks. Missed that.

    Robert
     
  21. alexandrud

    alexandrud Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Posts:
    1,800
    Location:
    Romania
    Windows Firewall Control v.6.0.1.0

    Change log:

    - Fixed: The installer can't continue if another security software is registered in Windows Security Center with firewall capabilities.
    - Fixed: In some cases, the connected location is reported Public instead of Private.
    - Fixed: The uninstall process does not always remove all files.
    - Fixed: The tabs width in Main Panel has a fixed width which prevents the tab name to be displayed completely.
    - Improved: If the PDF user manual is downloaded and placed in the same folder as wfc.exe, when launching the user manual the local file will be opened instead of the PDF file located on the web site.

    Download location: https://www.binisoft.org/download/wfc6setup.exe
    SHA1: b3ccb848461741dcbb0d2141abda91fe3e8a4e7a
    SHA256:
    bffe3186ff96e35ec0cd40799e8d8c27f71524efaa816960071e4be8f973e880

    All reported problem from version 6.0.0.0 are now fixed. The new version should work smoothly. Thank you for your fast feedback which led to a quick fix. Sorry for the inconvenience.
    Alexandru

    As always, please share your feedback regarding the new version.
     
  22. aldist

    aldist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2017
    Posts:
    452
    Location:
    Germany
    WELL OK, great!
    Error detected, two identical files, UK.lng = RU.lng
    How can I use two different files with the same language code, for example, 1EE.lng and 2EE.lng? Renaming 2ЕЕ.дтп in DE.lng or another does not give the expected effect.
     
  23. AmigaBoy

    AmigaBoy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2015
    Posts:
    115
    Thanks for the immediate update, everything works perfectly. :thumb:

    By the way, the release notes mention: "Checking for updates is made through http instead of https." Is this indeed correct? (edit: ok, perhaps this describes the situation before the update/fix).
     
  24. alexandrud

    alexandrud Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Posts:
    1,800
    Location:
    Romania
    Currently there is no Ukrainian language file. The file name must have the following format wfc??.lng, meaning wfcUK.lng.
    While the string Russian file will contain 000 = Русский, the Ukrainian one will contain 000 = українська
     
  25. AmigaBoy

    AmigaBoy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2015
    Posts:
    115
    Sorry, another post. I noticed the 6.0.1.0 update re-enabled on its own the "Log connections/Allowed connections" setting. I thought in general this was recommended to set to 'disabled' due to unnecessary extra resources?
     
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.