Windows Firewall Control (WFC) by BiniSoft.org

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by alexandrud, May 20, 2013.

  1. Circuit

    Circuit Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2014
    Posts:
    722
    Location:
    Land o fruits and nuts, and more crime.
    :argh:
     
  2. Mr.X

    Mr.X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    3,414
    Location:
    Mexico
    I am a moron :cautious:
     
  3. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    7,959
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    I'm another one. And a pretty decent Windows critic to boot. :oops:
     
  4. DavidXanatos

    DavidXanatos Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Posts:
    170
    Location:
    Viena
    Well "in general", meaning not all, just most,
    I suspect many here are an exception to this rule.


    Its really annoying (cause its not a valid argument) when people are advocating for bad tings just because the masses does not riot against other bad things.
     
  5. alexandrud

    alexandrud Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Posts:
    1,588
    Location:
    Estonia
    It was the opposite. We will give you this amount of money for your existing work and this salary to work with us. :) It is true that they wanted my knowledge, not really WFC. Anyway, WFC will not be open source.
     
  6. Circuit

    Circuit Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2014
    Posts:
    722
    Location:
    Land o fruits and nuts, and more crime.
    Sheeple is the term. Morons is a little harsh, careful they will melt away.:argh:
     
  7. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    7,959
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    The thing I like best is that WFC is been one of those long standing apps that simply did what was expected and that this Dev kept it up long term as long as he did, offering support, answering questions/concerns etc and is been really engaged with users of it.

    Nice to see those years and effort put into it return some surprise satisfaction for it's original builder. :thumb:
     
  8. Umbra

    Umbra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Posts:
    4,904
    Location:
    Europe then Asia
    It made development, testing and diagnostic easier and less costly. The question is not to have it or not, it is to tell the user you are using it.

    Exact, but it doesn't matter if it is justified or not, the company does what it want, it is their product. Like it or leave it. You still have the choice.

    Indeed, and what is funny is all those people complaining over and over but keep using the accused products, which is pure insanity...
    Why people don't complain about banks analyzing every transactions they do to build profiles on them with the purpose to tag them as good or bad customers deserving this or that service?
    What is the difference with a software company collecting telemetry? NONE, it is even worse.
    I don't say it is justified, but people should measure their opinions and get all the facts straight before complaining.
    Those people totally miss the big picture (PRISM and other mass surveillance, etc...) but guess what? for them it doesn't matter much, only software X collecting their IP and system infos is a crime...:rolleyes:

    Put a CCTV in my bathroom, means you know my name and address, you will see me, you can reach me in real life.
    Put telemetry, sure you may know my IP, some system infos, at worst my browsing history, but you can't locate me accurately or see me in my environment and how i live; you won't get my real name (unless i expose it), you won't collect my pictures, etc...

    Telemetry isn't surveillance, CCTV is; you can't compare them.

    Anyway we are already way offtopic , this thread is about WFC , not privacy.
     
  9. AmigaBoy

    AmigaBoy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2015
    Posts:
    96
    May I suggest opening a separate thread for those who still want to talk about Malwarebytes/telemetry etc., and keep this one for WFC operation/features alone?
     
  10. Umbra

    Umbra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Posts:
    4,904
    Location:
    Europe then Asia
    +1
     
  11. mocca

    mocca Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Posts:
    8
    Follow-up:

    I noticed that every time I launch MS Excel or Word, there is a notification of an outgoing call. Can I safely block these without compromising the functioning of both (and MS Office in general)? It is difficult to judge from the pop up notification if the outgoing call is legit or even necessary?
     
  12. AmigaBoy

    AmigaBoy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2015
    Posts:
    96
    Office should work just fine, unless you'd want to download online templates, help files etc. In this case, you can allow TCP outbound connections. Office also asks for UDP connections, I don't know what for. I've blocked those with no issues.

    Outlook also auto-creates an inbound rule. I don't really use it so I've disabled it.
     
  13. aldist

    aldist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2017
    Posts:
    239
    Location:
    Germany
    You are simply obliged to block all the processes of the MS Office. Starting from v2016, the MS Office transfers a lot of telemetry to its owner. At work Office this does not affect. v2010 - the latest version without telemetry.
     
  14. AmigaBoy

    AmigaBoy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2015
    Posts:
    96
    See here about configuring/disabling Office telemetry. Also note this (link included in the previous article).
     
  15. mocca

    mocca Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Posts:
    8
    Thanks AmigaBoy for the links. I'm not prepared to tamper with the registry entries (link1) in case I need to backtrack in 3 month's time. However blocking telemetry through the Telemetry Dashboard is worth looking into.
     
  16. kanenas

    kanenas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2002
    Posts:
    15
    I'll add my comments and a possible solution (works for me) for the case where the logging dies.

    This is a Win7 SP1 system so no Win10 idiosyncrasies.

    The log was always working up to the point I tried the 5.4.0.0.
    At that time, after installation it would work either until a restart, or around 80 minutes or even 5 minutes the last time I reinstalled it.

    In the last try, I saw an entry in the Event Log just before the logging stopped:
    -->
    System audit policy was changed.

    Subject:
    Security ID: SYSTEM
    Account Name: MyPC$
    Account Domain: WORKGROUP
    Logon ID: 0x3e7

    Audit Policy Change:
    Category: Object Access
    Subcategory: Filtering Platform Connection
    Subcategory GUID: {0cce9226-69ae-11d9-bed3-505054503030}
    Changes: Success removed, Failure removed
    <--

    0x3e7 is the NT Authority special account.
    Why it changed this policy, I don't know. Maybe something done by WFC caused it (?)
    The change seemed to refer to disabling logging in successful and failed connections. Right after it was set, the logging by wfc ceased.

    To cut a long story short, after lots of googling and registry searches, the solution came down to this:

    1. Run secpol.msc
    2. Navigate to:
    Advanced Audit Policy Configuration -> System Audit Policies - Local Group Policy Object -> Object Access
    3. On the right panel, "Audit Filtering Platform Connection" is probably 'Not Configured', so configure it.
    4. I enabled both "Success" and "Failure".
    5. Soon as you "Apply" the change, refresh the wfc log. It will work. Flip-flop with the change and you'll see it stopping-going.

    Why this happened, I've no idea.
    I had never touched these policies before and it used to work fine.

    Cheers.
     
  17. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,080
    Location:
    .
    moved to 5.4.0.0
    found a bunch of Invalid Ruled > deleted same
    found a bunch of Duplicate Rules > ?
    can't find what to do re Duplicate Rules in User Manual

    Edit: after another Restore Windows Firewall default and Restore Windows Firewall Control recommended. I deleted dupes and Duplicate Rules list is empty.
     
    Last edited: Aug 18, 2018
  18. Ares

    Ares Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2017
    Posts:
    3
    Location:
    USA
    Sorry in advance if this is a really stupid question-- MBAM says that it's free for the short term... but what happens to the people who actually donated/have accounts on BiniSoft?
     
  19. Umbra

    Umbra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Posts:
    4,904
    Location:
    Europe then Asia
    Same, you donated to @alexandrud , you didn't donated anything to malwarebytes, so they owe you nothing.
     
  20. aldist

    aldist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2017
    Posts:
    239
    Location:
    Germany
    For the previous users nothing has changed, you can activate the version to 5.3.1.0 inclusive.
     
  21. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,080
    Location:
    .
    #4592 continued....after machine restart upon first call WFC 5.4 Rules from tray menu. I get
    3582.png
    I click OK (3 times) and then WFC Rules opens okay.
    Any comments?
     
    Last edited: Aug 18, 2018
  22. alexandrud

    alexandrud Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Posts:
    1,588
    Location:
    Estonia
    Hmm, it seems that something (software, Windows Update) changes the auditing settings in Windows. You can re-enable the auditing by re-setting the notifications system. Just set them to Disabled and back to Display notifications or Learning mode. This would set again the auditing to audit success and failure again. Or from Connections Log, uncheck and check again those two check boxes. It will have the same result.
    My Account section is still available for existing registered users. Nothing happens.
    Reinstall your Intel HD graphics driver. WFC uses D3D for rendering and your driver seems to be broken.
     
  23. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,080
    Location:
    .
    3591.png
    Intel HD Graphics driver sorted.
    Thanks
     
    Last edited: Aug 18, 2018
  24. Access Denied

    Access Denied Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Posts:
    927
    Location:
    Computer Chair
    Been using just Windows Firewall default for a while since I had issues before. Reinstalled WFC to help keep it alive. New version is wonderful. Thanks for releasing it. :)
     
  25. Access Denied

    Access Denied Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Posts:
    927
    Location:
    Computer Chair
    Hadn't used WFC in so long I totally forgot about the "do not notify" box you can add stuff. That is just so awesome. I added the stuff that squawks at me for access that has no business talking on the inet in there and no more alerts.

    I turned on Learning Mode for a few hours while I went through and loaded everything I use, then turned it back to Display Notifications. Then I weeded out the telemetry from stuff like Nvidia and stuck it in the don't bother me box haha.
     
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.