Windows Firewall Control (WFC) by BiniSoft.org

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by alexandrud, May 20, 2013.

  1. PunchsucKr

    PunchsucKr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2009
    Posts:
    138
    Well I've made my choice, I value wfc more than BF and have kept it.. really i think it's the 3rd time something like this happened. BF has repeatedly led me to believe my system is infected instead of being protected.
     
  2. srb10

    srb10 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2017
    Posts:
    3
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Thank you. I was able to create rules that now work.

    One additional question, if I use OpenVPN client on windows, will that use the windows firewall and stick with the rules?
     
  3. _CyberGhosT_

    _CyberGhosT_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2015
    Posts:
    457
    Location:
    MalwareTips "Your Security Advisor"
    New issue with HMP.A as well, HMP.A 710 CTP4 detects WFC service as razzy infection, so needless to say I had no internet connection
    and had to remove HMP.A.
    I love WFC and if made to choose I will choose WFC, but why is all of a sudden all of this software trashing WFC and it's service ?
    Very odd.
     
  4. Antarctica

    Antarctica Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Posts:
    1,831
    Location:
    Canada
    Strange because I am also running HMP.A 710 CTP4 together with WFC and I don't have any problems...
     
  5. MessageBoxA

    MessageBoxA Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011
    Posts:
    62
    Can you please clarify something for me? Are you publicly stating that Digicert has agreed to give you a EV code signing certificate without performing a background check? Because that would be in direct violation of both CA Bylaws and Microsoft EV guidelines.

    Typically takes 2-3 days for code-signing certificates to come through.

    Amazing how quickly you became an expert on this subject but yet have never purchased a code signing certificate.

    -MessageBoxA
     
    Last edited: Jul 3, 2017
  6. guest

    guest Guest

    Could you password protect settings?... For kids
     
  7. Alpengreis

    Alpengreis Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2013
    Posts:
    481
    Location:
    Switzerland
    You saw the lock symbol near right top corner? Or you mean another thing?
     
  8. Eru

    Eru Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Posts:
    100
    Location:
    Poland - Sosnowiec
    You can do it
     

    Attached Files:

  9. alexandrud

    alexandrud Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Posts:
    1,827
    Location:
    Romania
    Nobody talked about an EV code signing certificate. This costs 449$/year. I talked about a simple code signing certificate. Please read again what I wrote. The background check is actually a document legalized at a notary that proves my identity. That's all. Anyway, I don't think you can buy an EV code signing certificate as an individual. But you know better anyway, since you already figured it out that I am not an expert. :)
     
  10. guest

    guest Guest

    Thanks I spent like 2 mins looking for it.
     
  11. Access Denied

    Access Denied Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Posts:
    927
    Location:
    Computer Chair
    I needed to add a couple more rules for completely working Network sharing. No issues with just these rules. Hope this helps anyone wanting to remove all unnecessary rules in WFC.
     

    Attached Files:

  12. Alpengreis

    Alpengreis Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2013
    Posts:
    481
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Just for clarification: Alexandru means this only for the Torrent things - and NOT generally!
     
  13. backwards_sdrawrof

    backwards_sdrawrof Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2015
    Posts:
    4
    You have to love those blackhat-like AV devs!
    https://www.theregister.co.uk/2017/...v_joins_antivirus_roasting_chorus_its_poison/

    It's not like a lot of the AV devs spend their free time developing new threats, because they're the best suited to bypass their own protections...

    Hey, MessageBoxA
    Code:
    You'd not happen to be one of them? I've to ask because my human radar just flagged you as hostile code.
    IF you want I can unflag you for 100 BTC.
     
  14. Andytay70

    Andytay70 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2015
    Posts:
    23
    Its strange how dodgy software vendors find it easy to get a cert but honest and legit people like alexandrud find it hard?
    I'm lost for words!
    Like _CyberGhosT_ said,
    Quote, "I love WFC and if made to choose I will choose WFC".
    I too share the same opinion.
     
  15. _CyberGhosT_

    _CyberGhosT_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2015
    Posts:
    457
    Location:
    MalwareTips "Your Security Advisor"
    +1 :thumb:
     
  16. Access Denied

    Access Denied Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Posts:
    927
    Location:
    Computer Chair
    Can you tell me why I am still seeing AdMuncher being blocked for TCP incoming when I have the rule set as such?
     

    Attached Files:

    • wtf.jpg
      wtf.jpg
      File size:
      29 KB
      Views:
      32
  17. Alpengreis

    Alpengreis Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2013
    Posts:
    481
    Location:
    Switzerland
    @Eliot

    Because 127.0.0.1 this is your IPv4-Loopback address, which means, it's your your Localhost IP (resolved address = localhost; your Host on your PC). And Windows Firewall can't handle Loopback things.
     
  18. Access Denied

    Access Denied Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Posts:
    927
    Location:
    Computer Chair
    Thank you
     
  19. yeL

    yeL Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2015
    Posts:
    154
    run WFC in Medium Filtering
    have "automatically set Medium Filtering after 2 minutes"
    switch to Low Filtering
    after 1:30 minutes uncheck the "automatically set Medium Filtering after 2 minutes"
    30 seconds later it still changes to Medium Filtering

    Is it possible to fix this?
     
  20. alexandrud

    alexandrud Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Posts:
    1,827
    Location:
    Romania
    I just made some tests with the latest version in release mode and also in debug mode and I couldn't reproduce this behavior. Once you uncheck the revert profile check box, then the entire timer is canceled so that it doesn't switch anymore the profile. Are these the exact steps ?

    Anyone else, did you encounter such a behavior ?
     
  21. Access Denied

    Access Denied Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Posts:
    927
    Location:
    Computer Chair
    I have used firewalls of all kinds since before 2003. I just wanted to post back how much I love Windows Firewall Control. It does what I wanted from all of them that failed to do so. Doesn't annoy the *** out of me and works flawlessly. It allows temporary rules when I am installing then deletes the mess from my rules, which is so nice. I can't say enough good things about it. Every time I turn on logging and see all the nonsense it blocked, I just smile and clear it all. Thank you!
     
  22. yeL

    yeL Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2015
    Posts:
    154
    Cannot reproduce it now, but it did happen. Why did you confirm the issue and deleted the post to write this one?
     
  23. alexandrud

    alexandrud Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Posts:
    1,827
    Location:
    Romania
    When I wrote my previous answer I said that I will fix it but I didn't had the chance to actually test it since I wrote the reply from my phone. Since you reported this as a bug I trusted your report and I thought that you could reproduce it since you have mentioned it. After testing this on the computer I saw that I can't reproduce it and I replied back. There are no hidden things here. :)
     
  24. Plutox

    Plutox Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2005
    Posts:
    11
    Could you please explain why this is?
    Why does ANY not cover TCP and UDP?
    Why does INbound behave differently from OUTbound in this respect?

    Thanks.
     
  25. alexandrud

    alexandrud Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Posts:
    1,827
    Location:
    Romania
    I don't know why it works differently for the torrent clients. Maybe because ANY doesn't support port forwarding. Since you can't specify the port used for the connection, specific rules are required for protocols that support port forwarding. Just a thought. Please ask the developers of those torrent clients why the status is unconnectable when you have an ANY inbound rule, and connectable when you have two different rules for the TCP and UDP protocols.
     
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.