Windows deletes backup image, but doesnt

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by statesman, Feb 3, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. statesman

statesman Guest

Hello people. I have been using Acronis Ti for quite a few years and have always been happy with it. The problem outlined below MAY NOT be a true image problem, but until I get it sorted, its going to mean formatting my backup drive if I want to put more than 2 complete images on it.

I recentley had the need to install a 3rd H/D, so my smallest WD80 drive, which was in use regularly was relegated to become the Disk Image backup drive. The new WD160 I bought replaced it in explorer.

As I had no free IDE slots (IDE 0)was taken up with CD-RW and DVD-RW drives and IDE 1 with the first 2 drives) I installed a PCI/IDE card

Got it all sorted, and the WD80 drive appears in Windows (which I named Disc image) and can copy to and from.

However, it doesnt show up in the BIOS, even tho there is a space for a 3rd and 4th primary and secondary slots, nor does it show up in the boot sequence startup screen.

I have read that this is because the new card has its own BIOS. In device manager it shows up under SCSI and raid controllers as "Silicon Image Sil 0680 ATA/133 controller, and under properties, as you would expect the WD80 shows up there.

Thats some background, now to my 1st question. When I copy anything to the driveconnected to the PCI/IDE card (In this case, my old WD80, Drive L (Disc Image) say the contents of a CD or DVD, as you would expect it shows up in explorer and in properties of drive L BUT if I then delete whatever was copied, it dissapears from explorer, but the properties, and windows disc manager and PM 8.0 still shows data on there (some of the discs space is used up) even after a restart.