Windows Defender Is Becoming the Powerful Antivirus That Windows 10 Needs

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Secondmineboy, Jan 30, 2016.

  1. plat1098

    plat1098 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2018
    Posts:
    157
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    Re: performance issues: on page 5 of the pdf-- improvements made in this cycle, quote:

    • Improved whitelisting capabilities to save time on scanning known good files
    • Built an internal testing system that includes performance gates to identify inefficient operations (from a performance standpoint) and a workflow for remediation

    Definitely, some welcome news, esp. the first. Hopefully, these apply to Home version also.
     
  2. Nightwalker

    Nightwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    Posts:
    1,121
    I dont know if it is placebo but I feel that applications launch faster if Windows Defender is running sandboxed and I noticed a considerable reduction in CPU usage too ( Windows 10 x64 build 1903).
     
  3. Bertazzone

    Bertazzone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2018
    Posts:
    137
    Location:
    USSR
    1903 here, using the sandbox and Windows is blazing fast. RAM usage for the container process is regularly more than the antimalware service, but CPU is very low for both.
     
  4. Umbra

    Umbra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Posts:
    6,161
    Location:
    Europe then Asia
    Years later they finally realized they should optimize WD performances. Better late than never.
     
  5. Nightwalker

    Nightwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    Posts:
    1,121
    Great to hear that, it seems that the sandbox offers more than security; the performance gains are tangibles in my machine, it is running like ESET here (but faster on web browsing).
     
  6. plat1098

    plat1098 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2018
    Posts:
    157
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    I installed 1903 and then like 2 days after, I was reminded to enable the Sandbox again (the transition nullified it). Then I forgot about it, things are running well on here after some initial hitches. Now, Nightwalker has again reminded--it really is "set and forget" with no impacts I can see. :thumb:
     
  7. Hiltihome

    Hiltihome Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2013
    Posts:
    813
    Location:
    Baden Germany
    Unfortunately the sandbox is still broken in German W10 -1903 Build18362.145 (Known issue)
    But I don't feel any performance issue anyway.
     
  8. MeAgain

    MeAgain Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2011
    Posts:
    65
  9. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    11,879
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Holy crap, so glad I'm not using any real-time AV.
     
  10. Bertazzone

    Bertazzone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2018
    Posts:
    137
    Location:
    USSR
    The Windows sandbox and Windows Defender sandbox are two completely different features. The former is enabled via "Turn Windows features on...) and the latter is enabled via powershell (admin) command.
     
  11. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    6,540
    Location:
    Hawaii
    I just discovered that my Win7 computer has Windows Defender on board, with the service disabled. I thought WinDef only applied to Windows 8 & 10. Evidently, I was wrong?

    So I enabled the WinDef service & WinDef is now running. The only thing is, I cannot find any WinDef process listed on Process Explorer. The WinDef service is running & the WinDef GUI says WinDef is running but... NO WinDef process is listed on Process Explorer! What gives, I wonder?
     
  12. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    6,920
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Windows Defender on Windows 7 is a completely different animal that just happens to have the same name as their AV for Win8, 8.1 and 10.

    It is an almost useless anti-spyware program. If you want MS AV for Win7 you will need to install Microsoft Security Essentials.
     
    Last edited: Jun 1, 2019
  13. itman

    itman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Posts:
    7,594
    Location:
    U.S.A.
  14. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    6,540
    Location:
    Hawaii
    ... when it snows in Waikiki, I will give your suggestion serious consideration. :rolleyes::isay::p
     
  15. Roberteyewhy

    Roberteyewhy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    Posts:
    549
    Location:
    US
    You have to go to Portlock. Lot's of snow there.;)

    Through either Powershell, Security Policy Editor or interface, I have enabled in Win 10 v1903 (clean install):

    Scan email
    Sandbox
    Network Exploit Guard protection
    Check for definitions every 1 hr.
    Antivirus high scanning level
    Tamper Protection
    Ransomware
    PUP Protection

    Works fine with MBAM Premium and no visible impact on the system performance.

    Robert
     
    Last edited: Jun 1, 2019
  16. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,788
    Pity it is only available for the Pro version, but it is not worth the upgrade price...
     
  17. Roberteyewhy

    Roberteyewhy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    Posts:
    549
    Location:
    US
  18. Nightwalker

    Nightwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    Posts:
    1,121
  19. Roberteyewhy

    Roberteyewhy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    Posts:
    549
    Location:
    US
    You sure it does not run in Win 10 Home? Just have to have version 1703 or higher. Running Pro so I can not test.

    Everywhere I have read just says, "Sandboxing is not enabled by default at the time of writing. It is available, however, on all devices running Windows 10 version 1703 or higher."

    I could be mistaken however.

    Robert
     
    Last edited: Jun 1, 2019
  20. plat1098

    plat1098 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2018
    Posts:
    157
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    I've made Windows Defender run in its sandbox off and on since 1803. It's a simple script via Command Prompt. I have Windows 10 Home.

    wdsdbx.PNG

    Now as for a system-wide sandbox, that's in Pro and Enterprise versions as of 1903. BUT, like with gpedit.msc, there is talk of enabling it for Home. You can search for it. Not going that route though, not now. Sandboxie suits me better at the moment.
     
  21. Roberteyewhy

    Roberteyewhy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    Posts:
    549
    Location:
    US
    Here is what you need to do to enable Windows Defender Antivirus sandboxing right now:

    1. Open the Start menu.
    2. Type powershell.exe to display PowerShell as one of the results.
    3. Right-click on the result and select "run as administrator" or hold down the Shift-key and the Ctrl-key before you select the result. Both options execute PowerShell with elevated rights.
    4. Confirm the UAC prompt that may be displayed.
    5. Run setx /M MP_FORCE_USE_SANDBOX 1.
    6. Restart Windows.
    https://www.ghacks.net/2018/10/29/the-windows-defender-antivirus-sandbox-in-windows-10/

    Robert
     
  22. Roberteyewhy

    Roberteyewhy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    Posts:
    549
    Location:
    US
    See above. (#2267) That's for Windows Sandbox not Defender Sandbox on Win 10 Home version. So, bottom line is that both of the Sandbox's can run in the Home version.

    Robert
     
    Last edited: Jun 1, 2019
  23. Bertazzone

    Bertazzone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2018
    Posts:
    137
    Location:
    USSR
    This is the Windows Defender thread and I was talking about its sandbox, which must be enabled via Powershell and will run in 1803+, any edition. They may or may not enable by default in future versions. Very easy to do. If @Bertazzone can do it, anyone can do it! :thumb:

    The new Windows Sandbox feature just rolled out is a separate, different feature and works in Pro+ editions if your hardware meets the requirements.
     
  24. Roberteyewhy

    Roberteyewhy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    Posts:
    549
    Location:
    US
    Again, not true. Windows Sandbox can be installed in Win 10 Home.

    But, you are correct, as this thread is about Windows Defender Anitvirus.

    No more from me except about WD,
    Robert
     
  25. shmu26

    shmu26 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2015
    Posts:
    1,348
    If you want to use this feature, which is equivalent to running a virtual machine, you need to enable virtualization in your BIOS.
     
    Last edited: Jun 1, 2019
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.