Windows Defender Is Becoming the Powerful Antivirus That Windows 10 Needs

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Secondmineboy, Jan 30, 2016.

  1. itman

    itman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Posts:
    7,733
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    Now I am confused. WD ATP is an add-on subscription service supposedly for Enterprise ver. only. That Win service doesn't exist on my Win 10 x(64) 1809 Home installation. I really don't know why anyone using WD would want to disable ATP use.
     
  2. guest

    guest Guest

    You are not confused, you are right. WD ATP is subscription only.
     
  3. ance

    ance formerly: fmon

    Joined:
    May 5, 2013
    Posts:
    1,298
    Is it possible that PUA tweak decreases performance? :doubt:
     
  4. focus

    focus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    433
    Location:
    USA
    sshot-2019-02-09-[09-45-13].jpg

    Windows 10 pro, latest released updates.
     
  5. itman

    itman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Posts:
    7,733
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    The minimum requirements for WD ATP haven't changed: https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/wi...s-windows-defender-advanced-threat-protection .

    What I believe MS did in 1809 was to include the WD ATP service in the Pro vers. to support the enhanced WD cloud scanning option capability. This .pdf shows what ATP features are available by OS ver.: https://wincom.blob.core.windows.net/documents/Windows10_Commercial_Comparison.pdf. Note that WD ATP EDR protections are only available on E5 version w/ATP subscription.
     
  6. Nightwalker

    Nightwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    Posts:
    1,148
    I dont know, but I have the impression that when PUA protection is active there is more system impact, really strange ...
     
  7. guest

    guest Guest

    I have it on Enterprise, and also set to manual start, so not active; so no big deal.
     
  8. Spartan

    Spartan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2016
    Posts:
    460
    Location:
    Dubai
    I heard that enabling PUA detection in Windows Defender creates a lot of False Positives
     
  9. elapsed

    elapsed Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,076
    I've never felt the need for it. I don't really understand why people turn it on, unless you're part of IT for an organization.
     
  10. Spartan

    Spartan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2016
    Posts:
    460
    Location:
    Dubai
    Me and you probably don't need it but it's good for n00bs who just go on clicking next, next, next blindly when installing software which may contain PUPs
     
  11. itman

    itman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Posts:
    7,733
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    Malwaretips has a posting on the full cost of running WD ATP:
    https://malwaretips.com/threads/windows-enteprise-and-windows-defender-atp-pricing.87227/
     
  12. topo

    topo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2013
    Posts:
    132
    i've used Unchecky for a long time and put it on all my friends computers. it is not 100% but it does a good job
     
  13. lucd

    lucd Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2018
    Posts:
    231
    Location:
    Island of Woman
    @Ultra Male

    to me that eset and WD are the lightest (perhaps panda dome too but ditched it after 2 days), I dunno what to make of such charts
    on the other hand Kaspersky, avast was heavy. If I want fast system even on old hardware (like a 6 y old laptop) I use WD with some small enhancements/blockers. I am positive 100% and fine with WD if not for some privacy concern
     
    Last edited: Feb 14, 2019
  14. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    80,164
    Location:
    Texas
  15. woodsy7909

    woodsy7909 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014
    Posts:
    7
    Location:
    United States
    Windows Defender has come a long way for sure compared to its early day. I still however use a 3rd party solution because I feel it suits my needs better.

    If you use Defender with other things I am sure it could be good enough for the average home user, but I feel it needs help, it can't be that alone.
     
  16. cheater87

    cheater87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Posts:
    3,205
    Location:
    Pennsylvania.
    How about Defender teamed up with say Comodo Firewall?
     
  17. itman

    itman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Posts:
    7,733
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    Read @cruelsister postings over at malwaretips.com on what she thinks of using only the Comodo Firewall. Additional features of it, like sandboxing, need to be deployed in combination with it.
     
  18. Bertazzone

    Bertazzone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2018
    Posts:
    211
    Location:
    Wonderland
    Yes, the Cruel One herself says it's fine. CF may do the heavy lifting, depending on how you have WD configured.:thumb:
     
  19. elapsed

    elapsed Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,076
    Defender doesn't do anything alone, it's paired with Microsoft Smartscreen. There is 0 need for 3rd party solutions.
     
  20. guest

    guest Guest

    For average Joe, smartscreen is a wall of paper unless set to block by the "admin" of the house.
     
  21. elapsed

    elapsed Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,076
    I guess you haven't installed Windows 10 in a while. The default is now "block". You need to manually go into buried settings just to find the option to add "allow" to the SmartScreen popup.

    So yes, SmartScreen & Defender work fine together without the need for 3rd party nonsense that's usually coded like $#!+.
     
  22. shmu26

    shmu26 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2015
    Posts:
    1,367
    Yes indeed, you have to be a geek or very determined to get past smartscreen these days on windows 10.

    Problem is those moments when it isn't available, and cases where it won't work at all, like unzipped rar folders, files ported over by flash drive, etc.
     
  23. guest

    guest Guest

    last clean install was last month...and i'm quite sure (not 100% tough) it was set to "warn" by default, i use 1809 enterprise and home on SUA with Microsoft account (maybe the reason why).

    MS code like **** honestly, just look at Memory Integrity BS, the thing enabled itself by default and you can't turn it off (even using reg tricks); it use Hyper-V so basically while it is enabled you can't use a VM on the same system; not saying some 3rd party apps can't run because of it...
    Every admins knows that MS Windows is plain BS, but it is a standard, we need it so we cope with it.

    Personally, the 3rd party apps are better made , of course i don't use crap softs...
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 18, 2019
  24. elapsed

    elapsed Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,076
    Literally no one that works in the security and bug hunting industry agrees with this. You're just making stuff up and hoping it's true, like a religion.
    Microsoft knows their OS better than anyone and knows exactly what API is available. Defender is the best coded AV available, this is not up for debate. You can debate their detection rates if you wish.

    I don't pollute my main machine with VMs so it's not really a concern for me.
    We're also getting a Hyper-V sandbox next Windows version so it's even less of a concern.

    Assuming you're correct I will just guess this is because it's the enterprise version then.
     
  25. guest

    guest Guest

    Btw, I work in the security industry, and even in the past for some security vendors.
    So i know probably a bit more than the common forum member.
    Many in the industry despise MS Windows, even more Win10 that keep changing the OS structure every 6 months by introducing dozens of issues/vulnerabilities via rushed features and so called "improvements"...

    For you a simple built-in scanner that manages to be heavier on the system than several 3rd party ones is good coding?
    For you waiting years to isolate WD's processes because they realized it can't even self-protect itself is good coding?
    If yes, there is not much more i can say...:rolleyes:

    if MS were good coders, we won't have endless issues/bugs/vulnerabilities reported almost in a daily basis...compared with Linux, the difference is mindblowing...

    The incoming windows sandbox, it is not even close to a VM, just a program sandbox... and Average Joe won't even get it, reserved for Pro/Ent users.

    VMs are crucial to corporations and professionals whatever form it takes.
    However, i agree with you, classic Home user don't need VMs.

    Anyway i said enough about it, feel free to disagree, not my goal to persuade you, everybody has an opinion well-founded or not.

    in Enterprise, yes, "warn" by default. i don't recall for Home version, but when i clean installed it i dont touch this setting, and my home version (1809 latest build) is also set to warn.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 19, 2019
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.