Windows Defender Is Becoming the Powerful Antivirus That Windows 10 Needs

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Secondmineboy, Jan 30, 2016.

  1. Brian N

    Brian N Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,174
    Location:
    Denmark
    Also, it's pretty bad that "Defender" doesn't have any additional defenses if it doesn't detect, let's say crypto ransomware (just to ride the current scare train), via signatures/heuristics/cloud. Other antivirus and security suites all have protection against this stuff as a last line of defense if it somehow manages to get past the initial scan. So that's worrisome to say the least.
     
  2. plat1098

    plat1098 Guest

    No, that's its main Achilles Heel, but a lot of EMET is supposedly going to be incorporated into Windows Security system proper with the upcoming fall Creators Build remake. Then, we'll see.
     
  3. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4,133
    Yup that is what I read as well. Time will tell.
     
  4. chrcol

    chrcol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2006
    Posts:
    897
    Location:
    UK
    For me an anti exe should block everything by default that isnt whitelisted.
    Something that allows or disallows based on reputation/heuristics to me isnt an anti exe.
     
  5. act8192

    act8192 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    1,588
    There was a discussion previously about PUP. So just FYI:
    On windows10 (1607), I expected MBAM to warn about OpenCandy in ImgBurn as it did on XP and Windows 7.
    Well, on 10 MBAM didn't even get a chance. Windows Defender grabbed the dll out of temp during installation, and that was that.
     
  6. chrcol

    chrcol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2006
    Posts:
    897
    Location:
    UK
  7. Iangh

    Iangh Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2005
    Posts:
    760
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    I have the same conclusion. I have set it to update at startup and every 2 hours, and it doesn't as far as I can see.
     
  8. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4,133
    Yup strange right?
     
  9. Iangh

    Iangh Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2005
    Posts:
    760
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Now we sit and back and wait for one of the clever bods to point out what we have missed.:) I'm guessing there is another policy that needs enabling?
     
  10. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4,133
    I would imagine so. If I get around to it I will dig around more.
     
  11. plat1098

    plat1098 Guest

    Oh really? Hmmm, and Malwarebytes is supposed to take the place of Defender or am I mistaken? If I had both, I would definitely keep Defender enabled regardless, right? In fact, when W10Security gets its mitigations in the fall, how will its protection compare relative to that which MB provides? This being that MB touts itself now as "catching what antivirus can't."
     
  12. ExtremeGamerBR

    ExtremeGamerBR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Posts:
    1,332
    Guys, Defender has Cloud Protection too. So I don't know if there is a point multiples signatures updates. Unless you manage to get infected while offline.
     
  13. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    7,127
    So that would have let the ImgBurn installer run, without offering any third party extras?
     
  14. alediniz

    alediniz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2016
    Posts:
    2
    Location:
    Brazil
    Guys, I decided to do a test using Windows Defender (I was using Avast Free before), but I did not get good results. Soon after removing Avast and enabling WD, I ran a full check of my system. After several hours (boring), WD detected some problems, between PUA and false positives. I put fp to be ignored and clicked to apply actions. WD said it would take a few seconds, but it was at least 2 hours in that process and it did not finish, taking full processing of one core processor during that time. I restarted, tried again without success. I had to go back to Avast. Any suggestions for this problem?
     
  15. act8192

    act8192 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    1,588
    Exactly. It installed. I was surprised, so started looking into MBAM(v2) log, found nothing. Then in Defender History it was there. I have a screenshot to prove it. Clearly it happened as the installer was making the stuff in the temp directory. I guess it was separate enough that it didn't break the installation. Other applications may not be so lucky.

    I do have that magic PUP setting done in the registry. Don't recall where it is, it's been a long time since that tip here.
     
  16. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    7,127
    It will be the same for any installer using OpenCandy. The installer will run without the third party offers. I think ESET products do the same for installers with OpenCandy. Most antiviruses will detect and quarantine the installer, preventing it from running. What WD and ESET do is a much better approach.
     
  17. act8192

    act8192 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    1,588
    It is a more convenient approach, so long as they can isolate one .dll, me thinks. IIRC, on XP or win7 I had to disable MBAM.
    Related details:
    When I clicked on the installer, I got a small blue WD alert that it's bad. I started installing and even though I was logged into admin account, Got a yellow UAC alert for unknown program, allowed it, and the rest you know.
    I looked at my WD settings - on at runtime, but not checking the cloud.
     
  18. ance

    ance formerly: fmon

    Joined:
    May 5, 2013
    Posts:
    1,289
    No ads, no pop ups, Windows defender is boring sometimes. :D
     
  19. ExtremeGamerBR

    ExtremeGamerBR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Posts:
    1,332
    Now you see why so many security users of this and other forums prefer other solutions. If my computer is working too well, something must be wrong. :D
     
  20. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    11,673
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    I suppose Win SmartScreen should take care of that.
     
  21. Djigi

    Djigi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2012
    Posts:
    554
    Location:
    Croatia
    Did you do that thru GPE or with Task Scheduler Tweak?
    I know this "twaek" was working before (it should be working now too):
    https://www.winhelp.us/configure-windows-defender-in-windows-8.html
     
  22. Iangh

    Iangh Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2005
    Posts:
    760
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    It was using group policy. Have now turned off WD to use just CFW.
     
  23. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4,133
    By the way, did a fresh install of 10 last night. Added the extra protection for WD via GP. Cloud Protection is enabled but grayed out. I give up lol.
     
  24. Nightwalker

    Nightwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    Posts:
    1,105
    What settings did you added? It is grayed out because of GP.
     
  25. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4,133
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.