Windows Defender Is Becoming the Powerful Antivirus That Windows 10 Needs

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Secondmineboy, Jan 30, 2016.

  1. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4,187
    Understand. So has to be hardware then eh?
     
  2. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    7,352
    Yes, it's just because of slow hardware. Maybe in future builds Microsoft will improve the performance of WD. Time will tell.
     
  3. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4,187
    I hope they do for your sake.
     
  4. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    5,291
    Location:
    USA
    Maybe the machines I am running are new enough that I wouldn't notice any slowdown. 2 of them have SSD drives. Still definitely faster than the previous version.

    As far as feeling safe with it, after seeing the test results posted in other threads today, I am coming a lot closer to it. Plus, I threw Sandboxie back on (not compatible with most 3rd party AV anymore), so in situations where I feel I am doing something risky I use it.
     
  5. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4,187
    I am sure the SSD is a big help for you Jack.

    Still not certain I am fully believing the posts today. I realize it's in black and white, but until I see consistent results not sure I can deal with WD only. I have not installed Sandboxie (yet). But I do use uBlock and OpenDNS plus Malware Domain List so that gives me some level of comfort.

    Just my two cents anyway.
     
  6. clocks

    clocks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,740
    I have a few issues with this program: 1. High cpu/disk usage. 2. VERY slow to open GUI 3. Exclaimation mark in system try icon every day, telling me I am overdue to run a scan, even though I just ran one the prior day.

    I've been incouraged by recent test results, but plan to go back to a 3rd party AV for now.
     
  7. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    12,722
    Location:
    UK
    If you use Ccleaner make sure you untick Windows Defender as Ccleaner cleans the scan logs so Defender thinks it hasn't done a scan.
     
  8. clocks

    clocks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,740
    Thanks. I don't recall running ccleaner yesterday, but will see if that makes a difference.

    Edit: After the creators update, WD seems to be running lighter than before.
     
    Last edited: Apr 14, 2017
  9. Macstorm

    Macstorm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,631
    Location:
    Sneffels volcano
  10. clocks

    clocks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,740
    I take this back. No lighter after update. I do not run benchmarks, but per taskmgr WD uses more cpu/disk/ram than most other AVs I have tried.
     
  11. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    5,291
    Location:
    USA
    Last night while browsing I got a popup that a malicious file had been detected. While trying to figure out what it was, it went back to 0 threats and showed me nothing of what had been done. I don't know if it deleted a threat, if it was a false positive, or if there was actually an issue at all. Things like this are what they need to fix if they want me to use this long term.
     
  12. Phant0m

    Phant0m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    3,721
    Location:
    Canada
    You probably came across a fake web alert, imposing as Windows Defender. :argh:

    In Windows Defender under ' Virus & threat protection ' section, under there and scan history should contain the information on the detected threat.
     
  13. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    5,291
    Location:
    USA
    I actually wish that was the case. :D When I first opened Defender it showed 1 threat and a link to click for details. When I clicked the details link it took me to another page in Defender with no info. When I went back to the main page there were 0 threats and no history. I was running a browser in Sandboxie anyway so I just emptied the sandbox and I'm not worried about it being an actual threat. And no, I didn't empty the sandbox until after I checked Defender. Even if I did empty it sooner there should have been history. I guess I'll never know what actually happened.
     
  14. guest

    guest Guest

    It was obviouuuuuuus why...because WD nuked and erased all traces of the infection before you clicked the link, so the time you arrived on the page there was no more malware, so no more infos !!! (just joking :p )
     
  15. clocks

    clocks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,740
    Does WD have a issue with large network transfers? I use Netgear Readydrive, which is basically a poor mans NAS, or just a USB drive plugged into my router. For a long time now, I used this setup with very few issues. Ever since using WD, I consistently get errors that crash my xfers to the connected drive. Not mention xfers are much slower, and sometimes pause for a bit.

    I wasn't sure if the issue was related to the Windows "Creators" update, or WD. So I completely disabled WD via group policy, and installed Webroot AV instead. Just tried a couple 5gb xfers, and they completed at full speed without any errors. So I am starting to wonder if the issue was WD.
     
  16. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    12,421
    Location:
    Here
    I've experienced slow file transfers over network, on local disks and on USBs disks also. Usually disabling WD temporarily improves transfer speed. So IMO, WD can create some problems when transferring data.
     
  17. clocks

    clocks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,740
    This is surprising to me. I could see a 3rd party AV having this problem, but not a built in Windows app.
     
  18. Cache

    Cache Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2016
    Posts:
    428
    Depends what third party AVs you are comparing WD to. WD is certainly much more of a drag than Webroot, for example, which uses minimal resources. WD's scans and constant downloading of definition files take their toll.
     
  19. clocks

    clocks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,740
    Of all the AVs I have tried over the past year or so (maybe 5 different ones), WD was the first/only one that caused slow speeds and consistent file transfer crashes.
     
  20. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    12,421
    Location:
    Here
    Since it's developed by MS it will probably have less compatibility problems with OS than 3rd party AVs. But it doesn't mean that it's the most optimized AV or less resource hungry than other AVs...
     
  21. boesdad

    boesdad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Posts:
    78
    Using Windows 10 defender from the Creator Update, how do you access "quarantine"
     
  22. rpsgc

    rpsgc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2005
    Posts:
    311
    Location:
    Portugal
    Go to: "Virus & threat protection" and then click on the text link "Scan history". Below "Current threats" there's the "Quarantined threats" section.
     
  23. boesdad

    boesdad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Posts:
    78
    rpsgc, thank you very much for the info.
     
  24. Special

    Special Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2016
    Posts:
    241
    Location:
    Canada
    How does Defender work with exclusions & symbolic links?

    If I want to exclude say my Music folder on my 3rd harddrive E:/Music, but also have a folder on my second harddrive D:/Music that is just a symlink pointing to E:/Music

    Do I need to exclude both?
     
  25. ance

    ance formerly: fmon

    Joined:
    May 5, 2013
    Posts:
    1,298
    Is the PUA registry hack still working with the latest version? :)
     
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.