Windows Defender Is Becoming the Powerful Antivirus That Windows 10 Needs

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Secondmineboy, Jan 30, 2016.

  1. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    5,378
    Location:
    Milan and Seoul
    The problem with Defender Control is that MD will disactivate it after a while. I'm gong to see if I can exclude it...
     
  2. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    8,077
    I've found that too. You won't be able to change that by excluding it, as Defender Control just changes some settings when you run it. After you exit it nothing runs in the background to make sure MD stays disabled.
     
  3. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    5,378
    Location:
    Milan and Seoul
    Yesterday I excluded Defender Control through its interface/menu and today it is still untouched by MD, it seems to be working... Wait a minute, I've just re-read your reply and maybe we are talking about different issues, if one exits Defender Control in blocking mode (MD is disabled) MD remains disabled. My problem was MD killing DC if left active by DC, usually after a quick scan. I've just run a quick scan with MD and it reports DC as a high risk, but doesn't kill it...
     
    Last edited: May 22, 2021
  4. act8192

    act8192 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    1,762
    What is MD?
     
  5. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,292
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Windows Defender is now called Microsoft Defender.
     
  6. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    8,077
    I just disable MD and then exit Defender Control, I never leave it running. Sometimes in time, Windows decides to enable MD again. In which case I run Defender Control again.
     
  7. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    14,454
    Location:
    Slovenia
    Is there any benefit in using Defender Control on Windows 10 Pro, since it can be permanently disabled in Gpedit?
     
  8. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    4,094
    GPO is only available with admin rights after confirming UAC and more. If malware has reached this state you probably have another bigger problem. User with limited account cant do this, that's one of windows security layers. Windows Defender is same powerful as other antivirus.

    In fact, with admin rights you can kick off any running antivirus, also your and in special Kaspersky listed in your signature.
     
  9. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    14,843
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    I noticed that when I boot my desktop I will always have 7GB of 8GB left. When I boot my laptop I have 6GB of 8GB left with the same apps running in the background except for Win Defender. So svchost.exe, Win Defender and the Memory Compression process are the culprit. Plus the Intel UHD GPU also uses RAM but I can't see how much.

    Most of the time 8GB is enough but browsers like Vivaldi are very resource hungry and I often keep it open. So if you then also want to load a video game or some other app it might become tricky. Also, it's still not clear to me if you should look at "working set" or "private bytes'' in Process Explorer. It seems like Win Def is using a lot more of the first.
     
  10. Floyd 57

    Floyd 57 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2017
    Posts:
    1,234
    Location:
    Europe
    Try bios, there's a setting how much vram for it to use. Or gpu-z to see vram usage. But idk if the entire ram is reserved at once, or dynamically as needed.
     
  11. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    14,454
    Location:
    Slovenia
    OK, but that was not my question. If I want to disable MD (which I do) why should I use Defender Control instead of GPO? Does it bring any other functionalities?
     
  12. Floyd 57

    Floyd 57 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2017
    Posts:
    1,234
    Location:
    Europe
  13. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    4,094
    turning Defender off permanently? use gpo please, no batch or other tweaks, gpo is for sure.
    i dont know how defender control is working inside, you can check out all options when monitoring them in "process monitor". Defender is ON here and manually OFF if i dont need it. If you dont need it permanent after boot you can create a task performing a tool or batch to turn it off after certain time* certain time because after boot windows is checking important files from time to time. and also sometimes after updates it turns on again. my machine is not the fastest one but defender dont bother me with lags or similar, i dont care about seconds when it checks new processes.
     
  14. Floyd 57

    Floyd 57 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2017
    Posts:
    1,234
    Location:
    Europe
    Batch is better, I have NEVER had WD enable itself since I used this. And if you wanna enable it, u just use the other bat for enabling.
     
  15. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    5,378
    Location:
    Milan and Seoul
    i just want to clarify that I very rarely disable MD, when I do, it is usually to speed up some file transfer, otherwise I'm really satisfied with its performance...
     
  16. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    14,454
    Location:
    Slovenia
    Thanks, I thought so also. I use GPO to disable it and it never gets enabled on its own, even when uninstalling 3rd party AV. Thought that there may be some other benefit of using 3rd party tool but I can't find one.
     
  17. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    8,077
    In my case, I have a test computer with tens of antiviruses installed and there are occasions on some Windows installs on it, where Windows will eventually enable MD again, even though I've run Defender Control.
     
  18. Floyd 57

    Floyd 57 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2017
    Posts:
    1,234
    Location:
    Europe
    That's worse than malware!
     
  19. ABaird3

    ABaird3 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2016
    Posts:
    98
    I'm not up-to-date on anti-virii, and my Kaspersky IS expires in a month, so I'm looking around. Is Windows Defender as good as paid these days (I don't mind tweaking)?

    I would go with WD as I don't look at dodgy sites, so my risk is negligible, but still I struggle mentally to get around the re-assurance of a quality paid product (I'm sure I'm not alone in this).

    Not a KIS v WD, I'm enquiring if WD is top-notch nowadays, and offers reassurance of a competent product. I hope so, and that I can save myself £17 (I say that flipantly, £17 is money well spent if needed).
     
    Last edited: May 24, 2021
  20. SouthPark

    SouthPark Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2012
    Posts:
    562
    Location:
    South Park, CO
    I think WD is as good as any AV if you harden it a little with the wonderful (free, open source) Configure Defender on "HIGH" setting. Basically, with one button it activates a number of hidden settings to add enterprise protections to WD for home and pro users. (The "MAX" setting is essentially kiosk mode and is not recommended for most users.)

    https://github.com/AndyFul/ConfigureDefender
     
  21. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    8,077
    Well they are all on separate Windows installations. They're not running together.
     
  22. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    5,378
    Location:
    Milan and Seoul
    Yes it is. I used to have Kaspersky IS and Avira Pro in the past, nowadays Windows Defender's impact on my computer is as light as the above mentioned AVs, detection as tested by professional labs is also excellent with few false positives. Any AV paid and free, should not be relied upon as the sole antimalware solution, their detection rate is never 100%, a good backup/image of your system will give you absolute peace of mind in conjunction with an AV.
     
  23. Bunkhouse Buck

    Bunkhouse Buck Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Posts:
    1,142
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    You are I are totally in sync and identical in our approach and logic. I create an image each day and have for many years.

    No AV is 100% infallible so you achieve 100% by image or other backups-its that simple. Daily backup/images alleviate all of the stress and paranoia that unfortunately appears on this forum all too frequently.
     
    Last edited: May 25, 2021
  24. ABaird3

    ABaird3 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2016
    Posts:
    98
    I think I might give WD a whirl when my KIS expires, then. It's a mental hurdle not to have a 3rd-party av, it feels like going out naked.
     
  25. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    6,774
    Location:
    USA
    You'll be back. :isay: Going from one of the most configurable suites to something with almost no options leaves you feeling like something is missing.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.