Windows Defender Is Becoming the Powerful Antivirus That Windows 10 Needs

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Secondmineboy, Jan 30, 2016.

  1. Spartan

    Spartan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2016
    Posts:
    1,042
    Location:
    Dubai
    Windows Defender doesn't whitelist files right? as in, it keeps scanning them over and over again?
     
  2. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    3,029
    if what you mean is to scan only new and changed files since the last full scan, then the answer is no, it doesn't.
     
  3. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    3,029
    see this post of @plat1098's.
     
  4. Tyrizian

    Tyrizian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Posts:
    2,838
  5. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    3,029
    no problem.
     
  6. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    39,273
    Defender Control v1.8 (April 21, 2021)
    Website
     
  7. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    14,373
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    I also noticed this, so I have excluded a couple of folders from scanning. Because I hate it when icons take too long to load because apps are getting scanned. They should really fix this in Win Defender.
     
  8. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    14,382
    Location:
    Slovenia
    Microsoft Defender now blocks cryptojacking malware using Intel TDT
    https://www.bleepingcomputer.com/ne...blocks-cryptojacking-malware-using-intel-tdt/
     
  9. GrDukeMalden

    GrDukeMalden Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2016
    Posts:
    384
    Location:
    VPN city
    The only thing I can recommend regarding tweaks to WD is to get configure defender, set it to MAX mode set the security center to be visible. And also enable the anti-ransomware thing with all of your file folders protected by it. And some exclusions for any software you use that would edit those files. But be sure to keep a copy of configure defender handy in case you need to set some ASLR exclusions for whatever reason.
     
  10. GrDukeMalden

    GrDukeMalden Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2016
    Posts:
    384
    Location:
    VPN city
    I wanted to share some information. Bleachbit can be used to clear WD's quarantine very quickly. Much faster than going through all of the UAC prompts one after another.
     
  11. digmor crusher

    digmor crusher Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2012
    Posts:
    906
    Location:
    Canada
    Yah, you really don't need to go that hardcore, High setting is more than enough. And if by ransomware thingy you mean Protected Folders, well many find it problematic and don't use it at all due to its blocking legit programs. I don't use it, for me a strong backup strategy such as using Macrium Reflect is a far better option.
     
  12. GrDukeMalden

    GrDukeMalden Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2016
    Posts:
    384
    Location:
    VPN city
    maybe not max mode then, but I would definitely change the cloud security level to "block" and the timeout check to the full 60 seconds from the template of "high"
     
  13. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    39,273
    How to stop Windows 10 Defender from uploading files to Microsoft
    May 2, 2021
    https://www.bleepingcomputer.com/ne...0-defender-from-uploading-files-to-microsoft/
     
  14. Nightwalker

    Nightwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    Posts:
    1,293
  15. itman

    itman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Posts:
    8,394
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    The problem here is WD doesn't provide file exclusion capability as most third party AV's have. For example, exclusion of .docx, etc. files.
     
  16. Hiltihome

    Hiltihome Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2013
    Posts:
    1,031
    Location:
    Baden Germany
    For sure WD does exclusions by file types.
     
  17. itman

    itman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Posts:
    8,394
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    I am referring to suspicious file submissions; not file scanning exclusions.
     
  18. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    14,373
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Yes, I had a little discussion about this in another thread. If it really impacts detection that much it would mean that Win Defender is a bit crappy if you ask me. Because you would hope that even without this feature, it should already be able to block most malware with cloud protection enabled, see link.

    https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/mi...lient-behavioral-blocking?view=o365-worldwide
     
  19. clocks

    clocks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,772
    Has defender become hyperactive since the recent windows update? Seems to gripe about so much lately. Suddenly it has gone all Comodo on me, blocking and asking about so many things.
     
  20. Bunkhouse Buck

    Bunkhouse Buck Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Posts:
    1,121
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    Have latest updates and if anything, I find it less intrusive and it was almost zero for me to begin with compared to Kaspersky, etc.
     
  21. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    8,899
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Have you got Controlled Folders enabled? That was bugging me while I used MSD.
     
  22. Gandalf_The_Grey

    Gandalf_The_Grey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Posts:
    818
    Location:
    The Netherlands
  23. clocks

    clocks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,772
    No I have controlled folders off. It was really acting up when I was trying to install Jellyfin. And on my Dads PC, it wouldn't let him log into the connect.xfinity website.
     
  24. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    14,373
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Yes, that's why I try to avoid updates as much as possible. But I'm not sure if it's possible to only download signature updates, without updating the WD engine.
     
  25. SouthPark

    SouthPark Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2012
    Posts:
    529
    Location:
    South Park, CO
    AFAIK, downloading signature updates automatically updates the engine and, when needed, the client version as well. I didn't experience the bug reported by Ghacks, but my WD engine updated last night to the fixed version.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.