Windows 8 and Memory

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Osaban, Apr 6, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,222
    I've had Windows 8 for more than a week and I must say the more I use it the more I like it with metro and all. My question is about memory committed, I have 8GB of RAM, and its usage varies between 1.5 GB to 6.5 GB sometimes without doing anything demanding (at the moment I'm writing it's using 2.1 GB).

    Considering that Vista (64bit) on another machine never used more than 1.5 GB out of 2 GB RAM, I wonder whether it is normal and why this huge difference compared to Vista.
     
  2. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,786
    I don't really know 8 very well, but my guess is that if the RAM is there, it's probably caching everything under the sun to improve performance...
     
  3. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,647
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Osaban,

    Same here. I don't like using the Win7 Start Menu anymore. Metro is better.

    I have 16 GB of RAM and I've never seen more than 2.4 GB being used. It's usually around 2.0. Sorry, I don't have an answer.

    Edit... Try Sysinternal's Process Explorer. That will tell you what is using the RAM.
     
  4. moontan

    moontan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Posts:
    3,931
    Location:
    Québec
    one thing to check out for are 'leaky' Metro apps.

    some of those are notorious for leaking RAM, especially think like clock apps and such.
     
  5. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,222
    Task Manager shows 92 services, with most of them using less than 1 MB of memory, only Chrome services add up to 150 MB, Avira 27 MB, and a Service Host with 50MB. At the moment memory reads 1.9 GB therefore it dropped since I posted this thread. This value is the same as yours Brian.

    Kerodo you are probably right, as I have been testing this machine a lot, it caches everything and releases the memory on reboot. As a matter of fact the performance of my new computer is to say the least amazing compared to my old machine.
     
  6. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,855
    He is. But this isn't new to Windows 8, it was introduced in Windows 7. I remember reading an article from a bunch of "researchers" that though it was a giant memory leak that was "somehow" overlooked... that is until Microsoft told them it was caching.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.