Windows 8.1 is available now

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by ronjor, Oct 17, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,740
    Location:
    Texas
    http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/news/press/2013/oct13/10-17windows81pr.aspx
     
  2. Janus

    Janus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012
    Posts:
    588
    Location:
    Europe - Denmark .
    Great! and thank you ronjor.

    Regards Janus , have a nice day :))
     
  3. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    758
    so this is but a service pack? can we say that?
     
  4. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,136
    thanks

    the first thing i noticed are the different hashes compare to the leak versions
     
    Last edited: Oct 17, 2013
  5. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    7,280
    Location:
    England
    In case it helps anyone I have just done the update on my Windows 8 Pro with Media Center.

    You can do it all without signing in to a Microsoft account.

    I went to the store where it had the update waiting for me to click on (no signing in required)

    It downloaded it (3+GB) and started installing after a restart. here are the named stages I went through.

    Applying PC settings

    Setting up.

    Checking Devices

    Getting ready

    Restarted (again)

    Setting up a few more things

    Getting ready (again)

    Agree to licence (agreed and then choose CUSTOM settings)

    Sign in to Microsoft (selected create an account which brought up an option to just keep using an existing account , my local one.)

    Finalize

    Hi we're setting things up and installing apps.

    So now I'm here using IE11. All my apps were still there and working so far.

    This includes EAM and Sandboxie 4.06.
     
  6. aladdin

    aladdin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,986
    Location:
    Oman
    Thanks Stapp for step by step instructions. How about AX64, did it work for you?

    Best regards,

    Mohamed
     
  7. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    7,280
    Location:
    England
    Haven't tried AX64 on it yet Aladdin although it is installed. Will post in the AX thread when I do.

    IE11 is just so fast, the pages almost seem to load before I have finished typing.
     
    Last edited: Oct 17, 2013
  8. aladdin

    aladdin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,986
    Location:
    Oman
    Dearest Stapp,

    Excellent news about AX64 and IE11. At least AX64 being installed didn't give you BSOD as it did to MarcP.

    Best regards,

    Mohamed
     
  9. moontan

    moontan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Posts:
    3,931
    Location:
    Québec
    i looked at the Windows Updates and the Windows Store, nothing yet.

    running the Beta here.

    maybe i should disable the local account and go back to the 'cloud' account?
     
  10. harsha_mic

    harsha_mic Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Posts:
    791
    Location:
    India
    try clicking download from windowsstore.com. It will then navigate you to your local windows store, from where you should be able to do the update.

    b/W i have started the update process in the morning and had to leave the system for work :(. Should be all done when i return to home :)
     
  11. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,740
    Location:
    Texas
  12. c2d

    c2d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Posts:
    570
    Location:
    Bosnia
    Installed...works great !
     
  13. siljaline

    siljaline Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
    Microsoft starts rolling out Windows 8.1
    http://www.zdnet.com/microsoft-starts-rolling-out-windows-8-1-7000022052/

    • The Windows Team Blog •
    Windows 8.1 now available!
    http://blogs.windows.com/windows/b/bloggingwindows/archive/2013/10/17/windows-8-1-now-available.aspx
     
  14. moontan

    moontan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Posts:
    3,931
    Location:
    Québec
    i don't think you can upgrade to the final version from the 8.1 Beta.

    so I went and restored an image of Windows 8 I had.

    downloading it right now from the Store.

    can the download be saved as an ISO?

    should keep me busy for the better part of the day.
    I guess I should go to the liquor store and get something good to drink. :p
     
    Last edited: Oct 17, 2013
  15. guest

    guest Guest

    The file size download makes me feel lazy to upgrade. :cautious:
     
  16. moontan

    moontan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Posts:
    3,931
    Location:
    Québec
    hahaha! :D

    anyway, I downloaded the whole thing from the Store and everything went fine.
    I created a base disk image right after install.

    since I upgraded from a base Win 8 image I get to re-install all my programs.
    I expected to be able to upgrade from the Beta but no such luck.

    anyway, I like to geek away on this stuff so it's all good. :p
     
  17. NICK ADSL UK

    NICK ADSL UK Administrator

    Joined:
    May 13, 2003
    Posts:
    9,217
    Location:
    UK
  18. moontan

    moontan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Posts:
    3,931
    Location:
    Québec
    anyway, i'm glad the little logon Beta fish is gone.

    i like the blue windows logon much better. :p
     
  19. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    4,091
    Review: Windows 8.1
    http://www.neowin.net/news/review-windows-81

     
    Last edited: Oct 17, 2013
  20. PoetWarrior

    PoetWarrior Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2007
    Posts:
    335
    I think W 8.1 is a keeper. Upgraded nicely on my MSATA drive. It's a little quicker and I like being able to clean roughly 4 Gigs from the upgrade (used Disk Cleanup). :)
     
  21. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    4,047
    Location:
    USA
    Updated 8 with Media Center to 8.1 through the store. Minimal issues so far. I did have to reinstall my graphics drivers and I had to remove and reinstall SmartFTP. I uninstalled NIS for the upgrade because I don't like to have AV while doing an upgrade of this type. Now to decide what to put back... :ninja:
     
  22. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    4,091
    Last edited: Oct 17, 2013
  23. Robin A.

    Robin A. Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Posts:
    2,279
  24. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,740
    Location:
    Texas
    http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/windows-8/how-remove-windows-old-folder
     
  25. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,012
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    the hashes will be different. the leaked version matches the msdn and technet versions not the update version though this is only if you got the correct leaked verison.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.