Windows 7 hostfile...

Discussion in 'privacy general' started by CreepyKangaroo, Mar 2, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. CreepyKangaroo

    CreepyKangaroo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    Posts:
    31
    I recently just moved to windows 7 64bit from xpsp3 32bit. :)

    So far I've found this one thing that bugs me! The host file in Win7 cannot be used the way I used it on xp. I'm unable to block websites by pointing it to 127.0.0.1 in the host file!!! o_O

    The host file is located here: [ C:\Windows\System32\drivers\etc ]

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    # Copyright (c) 1993-2009 Microsoft Corp.
    #
    # This is a sample HOSTS file used by Microsoft TCP/IP for Windows.
    #
    # This file contains the mappings of IP addresses to host names. Each
    # entry should be kept on an individual line. The IP address should
    # be placed in the first column followed by the corresponding host name.
    # The IP address and the host name should be separated by at least one
    # space.
    #
    # Additionally, comments (such as these) may be inserted on individual
    # lines or following the machine name denoted by a '#' symbol.
    #
    # For example:
    #
    # 102.54.94.97 rhino.acme.com # source server
    # 38.25.63.10 x.acme.com # x client host

    # localhost name resolution is handled within DNS itself.
    # 127.0.0.1 localhost
    # ::1 localhost

    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    How exactly should I edit the host file to block websites? I'm no expert in this and I need help!!!
     
  2. siljaline

    siljaline Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
  3. CreepyKangaroo

    CreepyKangaroo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    Posts:
    31
    I don't want to use MVPS host file. I need to manually add entries to the host file, which I have done successfully, but it does not work. I can still visit the websites...
     
  4. stackz

    stackz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Posts:
    619
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    Just run notepad as administrator, then File > Open (change file types from Text Documents (.txt) to All Files(*.*) ) > navigate to the hosts file. Now you can edit and save changes.

    127.0.0.1 www.yahoo.com
    #successfully blocked yahoo
     
    Last edited: Mar 2, 2010
  5. Meriadoc

    Meriadoc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Posts:
    2,642
    Location:
    Cymru
    I also add some entries for privacy reasons, see above that will do it.
     
  6. CreepyKangaroo

    CreepyKangaroo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    Posts:
    31
    It worked!!! :D

    All this rime I have been doing trials with www.msn.com and for some reason msn cannot be blocked, but when I tried www.yahoo.com it worked on the very first try! I have been looking all over the net for a solution but this thing about msn was not mentioned anywhere!!!

    Would any one like to verify it?
     
  7. Meriadoc

    Meriadoc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Posts:
    2,642
    Location:
    Cymru
    You cannot block certain microsoft addresses with a hosts file by design. You will have to use a router/firewall.
     
  8. CreepyKangaroo

    CreepyKangaroo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    Posts:
    31
    Thanks for the help.

    Still, I have one more question and I would rather not make another topic about it.

    I'm running KIS 2010 On my Win7 64bit but there is also Windows Defender running in the background. When I installed KIS windows firewall was automatically disabled but Windows Defender was not! I don't want two malwares conflicting with each other! Should I disable WD?
     
  9. siljaline

    siljaline Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
    That would be an incorrect statement, unless you did not want someone that uses your computer, as an example, to go to a certain Microsoft site.
    Many components of certain MS sites are blocked by some HOSTS files
     
  10. Hugger

    Hugger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Posts:
    1,003
    Location:
    Hackensack, USA
    You can disable it if you want too.
    I'm using NIS 2010 and have Defender disabled and have no problems.
    I'm have Windows 7 Pro 64 bit.
     
  11. Meriadoc

    Meriadoc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Posts:
    2,642
    Location:
    Cymru
    @ siljaline I don't understand your post.

    I don't like to use a hosts file that way, is not what it is meant for (but I do add two entries as I've said,) anyway query_no_host, blocking at a low level will bypass a hosts file.
     
    Last edited: Mar 2, 2010
  12. siljaline

    siljaline Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
    You can block MS Site(s) using a HOSTS file, if you wish.
     
  13. Meriadoc

    Meriadoc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Posts:
    2,642
    Location:
    Cymru
    How do you mean?

    It seems I cannot block any of the sites listed in strings of dnsapi.dll by design.
     

    Attached Files:

  14. siljaline

    siljaline Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
  15. Meriadoc

    Meriadoc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Posts:
    2,642
    Location:
    Cymru
    Sorry siljaline it must be a language thing, my bad, perhaps I forgot to patch, but I still cannot.
     
  16. siljaline

    siljaline Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
  17. Meriadoc

    Meriadoc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Posts:
    2,642
    Location:
    Cymru
    Yes I know, on my Window 7 machine I do exactly as stackz pointed out - as you can see under his post.

    I'm also referring to what creepykangaroo noted
    re.siljaline
    here

    xpprosp3
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.