Windows 7 Firewall

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by rdsu, May 29, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. rdsu

    rdsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Posts:
    4,456
    Hi,

    Some one already tested the new Firewall in Windows 7?

    I read this article and it seems that I will not use any 3rd party firewall when install Win7...

    Do you know if this version protect us from ARP Spoofed packets?
    Or we can have the hability to create rules for that...?

    Thanks
     
  2. deanmartin

    deanmartin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Posts:
    231
    Location:
    USA/KY
    rdsu, I dont no the answer to your question, but thank you for the article.
     
  3. Mem

    Mem Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Posts:
    292
    It appears that Seth Fogie has not used Vista since its' firewall has outbound control as well - which the Win 7 firewall is based on. The problem is that many people don't want to manually fool with rulesets. MS needs something like Vista Firewall Control (free version) to allow easier application based outbound control. It would be even better if MS added this type of interface to Win 7.

    http://www.sphinx-soft.com/Vista/index.html

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=239750
     
    Last edited: May 29, 2009
  4. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,121
    Location:
    USA
    .
    I agree. While the Windows 7 firewall is clearly improved (based on the linked review) I would not describe it as easy to use. "Ease of use" is one of the big advantages of many third party firewalls.
     
  5. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,779
    Rdsu, as mentioned above, the only way to really easily deal with the Win Firewall without going crazy is to use Vista Firewall Control. It seems to work well enough, and the paid version has a lot more features, etc.
     
  6. benton4

    benton4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Posts:
    158
    Location:
    Oregon
    Stem, a firewall moderator here at Wilders, was kind enough to create this guide for those of us, like me, who aren't really sure how to set up a wirewall correctly- as you can see it is for the Vista firewall so this may help.
    Thank you Stem!!

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=239750
     
  7. rdsu

    rdsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Posts:
    4,456
    Thanks, you give me useful tips to try this firewall :)

    I will take a look at the free version of Vista Firewall Control.

    I'm just interested to have a very good Inbound protection, also light and fast, and can control the Outbound by rules. I don't want useless popups annoying me...
     
  8. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,779
    Vista Firewall Control will give you popups, so if you don't want that, no use looking there. You can manually setup rules yourself based on Stem's or other guides. Just more work. :)
     
  9. rdsu

    rdsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Posts:
    4,456
    I will try it on VirtualBox... :)
     
  10. entropism

    entropism Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Posts:
    321
    Just got Outpost Free (x64) working with Windows 7. I was a bit surprised, everyone was saying it couldn't be done, but it went through without a hitch, installing with Vista SP2 compatibility.
     
  11. subferno

    subferno Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2004
    Posts:
    87
    I tried the 32 bit and ran it in the SP2 compatibility mode as well. It installed just fine but none of my applications could connect to the interweb.
     
  12. entropism

    entropism Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Posts:
    321
    Well, it's working fine on here, I'm considering myself lucky.
     
  13. Trespasser

    Trespasser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Posts:
    1,194
    Location:
    Virginia - Appalachian Mtns
    Windows 7's firewall is pretty much like Vista's. I imported my ruleset from Vista into Windows 7 with no problems at all. Just read Stem's HowTo on Vista's Windows Firewall with Advanced Control. You'll be fine.

    Later...
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.