windows 2003 server and vista dualboot

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by lodore, Jul 2, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    Hello,
    i got windows 2003 free from the microsoft site since im a student.
    i have found a guide on how to convert it to a workstation.
    has anyone else converted 2003 server to a workstation?
    i was thinking of keeping IE lockdown mode and using opera as normal.
    messing around with it in virtualbox atm.
     
    Last edited: Jul 2, 2008
  2. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,779
    Yes, I just did that myself last night. I used this guide:

    http://www.msfn.org/win2k3/

    Made many of the changes, but left a few. I disabled the IE7 high security mode since I wanted to use IE7 normally. But if you prefer Opera, then there's no harm in leaving IE in it's default state.
     
  3. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    I used Server 2003 a couple years ago.

    I didnt follow the Workstation guide though since I did most of the tweaking with nLite.
     
  4. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    Hey Kerodo,
    i looked at that guide also.
    im just installing all my apps in my vm and they are all working great.
    the only thing i cant test is my graphics card driver for my nvidia 8800gt.
    if you went to nvidia.com which drivers for the 8800gt would you download?
    i want a smooth transition.
    even in vmware with only one processer windows 2003 server is so much faster than vista. cant wait to install it properly.
    i managed to install windows live messenger 8.5

    i have already nlited my windows 2003 server disc.
    not done much to it but instead of the bultin administrator account it creates me a admin account with my name instead,uk keyboard and regtional settings,license key etc.
     
  5. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    Download the XP drivers.
     
  6. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    thanks:thumb:
     
  7. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,779
    Hi lodore,

    Sorry, I'm not up on the nvidia drivers much. But you are right, 2003 is way faster than XP or Vista by my observations. It's similar to 2k in performance on my PC, just newer and still supported. I'm loving it...

    The AV choices are more limited, but I have settled on McAfee 8.5ip6. I could have used Nod32 I guess, but I don't want a web scanner, and I have had issues with Nod before in Xp. So I settled for McAfee for now...

    But very nice OS overall... very snappy. :)
     
  8. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    Hello Kerodo,
    the xp drivers worked.
    the dual boot was a success.
    about the only thing you cant install is windows media player 11. doesnt bother me since i use media monkey. im really happy i got windows live messenger installed. got one strange issue with java and opera. try to load a certain game and it says certain file missing. game works fine with IE7.
    i acually like webscanners.
    nod32 is cheap but you have to buy 5 licenses.

    which version of mcafee is that?
    link to mcafeee website with that perticular version would help.
    where did you buy it from and how much?
     
  9. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
  10. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    acually my college does use it.
    will try to find out if i can get it from them when i go back in september.
    in the mean time will see if i can buy it cheaply.
     
  11. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,779
    Decided to give Nod32 another try here. So far it's working ok, the web scanner doesn't seem to have as much impact as I remembered it having before on Xp. And the other general slowdown issues aren't there now either. Perhaps it was just an Xp related problem for me. I do think Nod is probably a little better than McAfee too. If you want to try McAfee you can get a trial version on their site (see the link WSFuser posted above).

    Yeah, 2003 only let's you get WMP10, don't know why they don't give you 11. I use 10 just for video, with VLC when needed, and then Winamp for audio..

    Btw, I too had some similar issue with Opera 9.5 and Java, and a file missing error. What I did was note the file it was looking for, and I found it in the Java install directories, then copied it over to the Opera folder, and that fixed the problem. Might work for you too...
     
  12. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    Although you dont use it, maybe youd like to know that you can slipstream WMP11 on Server 2003.

    iirc Its also possible to install (just google it).
     
  13. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    ah ha thanks. i thought it would be possible.
     
  14. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,779
    Thanks, that's interesting to know also....
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.