Windows 2000 IDE Image to empty SATA ?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Tonkel, Aug 15, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Tonkel

    Tonkel Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Posts:
    4
    Location:
    bavaria / germany
    first of all, i want to say hello to everybody here,

    if somebody has a little time for me i would be very pleased. i want to do the following:

    i have my actual system W2K on a IDE HDD, imaged with TI+Universal Restore. I want to restore these now on my new computer with new empty SATA HDD. Partitions are C:, D:, E:.

    At last, with a trick, i found out how to tell TI that the external USB-HDD (where the restore-image on) should have a different driveletter than C,D,E. This was the way: I was preparing the SATA HDD with TI-Boot-Disc (don't know the english word) in the mode "Abgesicherten Modus". I was building 3 primary partitions C-D-E. So the external HDD becames an other drive-letter and i was able to have my C-D-E combination on my new SATA

    I gave TI, while the restore-preparation, all the new drivers (SATA etc.) from the homepage of my mainboard manufacturer. (ASROCK - K8NF6G-VSTA).

    The effect now is - Windows 2000 trys to boot (black screen with the white lines at the bottom) and if the bar is full it comes to an blue screen with "inaccessible boot device"

    so my questions are:
    1.) is these operation W2K-IDE to SATA principally possible?

    2.) could i be that my prepartions are incorrect?

    3.) if TI offers me to restore the whole image, i see a fourth partition (C, D, E) and MBR. But the easy-restore isn't acceptable for me because then the partitions would be renamed to C->D, D->E, E->F. Maybe i miss the MBR-theme - and this is my problem?

    please exuse me, if my english isn't correct. :oops:

    kind regards, Daniel
     
  2. jmk94903

    jmk94903 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    3,329
    Location:
    San Rafael, CA
    Did you restore the MBR? That's essential to have a bootable hard drive.
     
  3. Tonkel

    Tonkel Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Posts:
    4
    Location:
    bavaria / germany
    hello John,

    when do i have to restore it?

    at first, before any action? If i do it, TI show that it will be done. The bar with the green lines is full, but thats all, it stops at this point and nothing more happens. So the try to restore the mbr allways fails.
     
  4. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    I have not used UR, but there are several things you could try:

    Doing a normal (non-UR) Entire Disk Image restore (check the Disk # checkbox) and then just restoring the C: partition from the image using UR.

    If UR will work properly with multiple partitions, try doing the Entire Disk Image restore with UR.

    I wouldn't worry about the drive letters TI assigns when booted from the CD. These are often different from what Windows uses. It's generally best to go by the partition labels. (UR may work differently in this regard.)

    Is your hard drive a different size than the original? If so, you should be able to restore with resize and not have to setup the partitions before you start the restore.

    It also may be possible that the restore worked just fine. The fact that Windows is actually trying to start means the MBR is probably okay. Are you sure the SATA controller drivers you selected are the correct ones? Does the BIOS have an option to set the SATA controller to an IDE Compatible mode?
     
  5. K0LO

    K0LO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,591
    Location:
    State College, Pennsylvania
    I was thinking this too. If you can set the SATA controller on your new mainboard to IDE mode then the restore may work. After you get Windows working you can install the SATA driver and reset the BIOS to AHCI mode.
     
  6. jonyjoe81

    jonyjoe81 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Posts:
    829
    I would check the drive letters and make sure they didn't get changed around during the restoration. If that checks good than I would troubleshoot all the other sata drivers/bios etc.

    You need to check the "mounted devices" drive letter (usually c: ) and bounce that against the "partition ID" drive letter (which is the one that usually gets changed), if these don't match then you will have a restored drive that will start to boot than hang just before windows is suppose to start.

    I've done several IDE to SATA hard drives restorations and they have all work perfectly without me having to install any drivers are BIOS tinkering. Even though when I restored to SATA drives I didn't encounter any drive letter problems, I wouldn't rule it out as a possible problem in other configurations.

    It's a quick thing you can check using a "savepart" boot cd. The savepart program will let you read the registry on a non-booting hard drive and check the drive letters.

    Other "experts" here in the forums will tell you it's not a drive letter problem, but until you rule it out by actually checking the registry you can never be sure.
     
  7. jmk94903

    jmk94903 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    3,329
    Location:
    San Rafael, CA
    It doesn't matter as long as you check the MBR box during a restore.

    On the question of whether the SATA drivers were installed during the UR process, since you see the start of the boot process, I would assume that they have been installed.

    You might want to look at the boot.ini file and see if it is pointing to the correct partition. If your old drive had a diagnostic partition or something else before the boot partition, and if that partition wasn't restored to the new drive, boot.ini will be pointing at the wrong partition.
     
  8. Tonkel

    Tonkel Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Posts:
    4
    Location:
    bavaria / germany
    hey everybody,

    thank you very much for your time spending on my problem,

    i still have no success. I tryed to give the drivers via F6 Button with the W2K CD. First it says that there is no storage but after i have given the drivers from floppy it accepts and shows the "nForce Storage...". After this i didn't want to stop so i continued the repair-process. I thought maybe it fixes the driver problem. but while the automatic repair - while scanning "C:" partition allways at 25% the computer shuts down.

    meanwhile i did fixmbr, fixboot too.

    so john, the next i will do, is, what you sayed about the boot.ini - i think you mean that one in the image - right. what could be the next step?

    i found it - its that one in the image

    [boot loader]
    timeout=0
    default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINNT
    [operating systems]
    multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINNT="Microsoft Windows 2000 Professional" /fastdetect
    C:\CMDCONS\BOOTSECT.DAT="Microsoft Windows 2000-Wiederherstellungskonsole" /cmdcons


    Daniel
     
    Last edited: Aug 16, 2008
  9. jmk94903

    jmk94903 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    3,329
    Location:
    San Rafael, CA
    That looks right for the first partition on the first hard drive although I don't recognize the last line referring to cmdcons.
     
  10. Tonkel

    Tonkel Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Posts:
    4
    Location:
    bavaria / germany
    hi @all,

    i solved it!

    it was and it is the hole time the one of the twoo new HDDs. i bought two new SATAs 250 GB and 500 GB. the 250 - where i tryed all the time must have a hardware defect. because today i restored my image to the 500er and except some driver-missings and so on it works fine.

    thank you all for your time you have spended.

    kind greetings from germany / Unterfranken near Wuerzburg
    Daniel
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.