Windows 2000 cannot browse websites, and DHCP service won't start!

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Comp01, Jul 3, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Comp01

    Comp01 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Posts:
    638
    Ok, I was using the Services Tweak guide online (forgot the URL) and set DHCP to "Manual" and for the first time I tried to go online with my win2k box (I am using dialup) it dials up, authenticates, and says that I am successfully connected, I bring Mozilla Firefox up, and it says that http://www.mozilla.org/ cannot be found (The homepage I have it set to) so I try a host of other sites (yahoo, microsofts, msn, hotmail, here) and it all comes up the same, its like I cannot resolve the hosts IP's, I tried a ping on microsoft.com and yahoo.com got a "Unknown Host www.microsoft.com" and "Unknown Host www.yahoo.com" - so I restored the registry from before I messed with the services, still the same problem, go into the services and see that DHCP isn't running, I right click and go to Run I get an error message: "Could not start DHCP client service on local computer. Error 1068 the dependancy service or group failed to start." and, come to think of it I was online before (When I first got the PC) it had Norton System Works 2003 and I uninstalled it, I done a search and found a bunch of stuff relating Norton causing problems like this, but, I still cannot fix it, everything else works on the PC except for the internet! (I can connect, it says I am connected, but NO web pages load). How can I resolve this issue?
     
  2. nick s

    nick s Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Posts:
    1,430
    Is the DNS Client service running? In case there are other missing service dependencies, you can restore the default win2k service startups per Black Viper.

    Nick
     
    Last edited: Jul 3, 2004
  3. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    I had that problem a while back and that is what was wrong. It couldnt find the DNS address. I had to manually put it back.==Winxp pro
     
  4. UNICRON

    UNICRON Technical Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2002
    Posts:
    1,935
    Location:
    Nanaimo BC Canada
    if you can ping the ip of the domain, your net connection is fine, and indeed a dns issue.

    at command line> ping www.yahoo.com

    at command line> ping 66.94.230.50

    if the ip works but the domain fails you have your answer (provided the yahoo webservers are up).
     
  5. Comp01

    Comp01 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Posts:
    638
    I got it working now, it turns out the dependencies were on the NetBIOS (I used NoShare from GRC.com) and thats what was stopping it, it is all working 100% now...
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.