Windows 10 Issues, Problems & solutions

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by emmjay, Aug 1, 2015.

  1. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    7,192
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Does anyone know what would happen if I clicked Settings > Update & Security > Windows Update > Advanced options > View your update history > Uninstall latest preview build? I have not signed up for beta testing so as far as I know I should not have a Preview build installed.

    Maybe it is just a generic link? :doubt:
     
  2. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    7,368
  3. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    7,192
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
  4. emmjay

    emmjay Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Posts:
    1,387
    Location:
    Triassic
    Why is MS sending out W10 upgrade to those who have not requested it?

    I was not aware that this upgrade was mandatory.
     
  5. wshrugged

    wshrugged Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    Posts:
    255
  6. emmjay

    emmjay Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Posts:
    1,387
    Location:
    Triassic
    Tnx, I did not see that thread. I thought I was alone on this. Tnx @wshrugged

    Damn it. It is trying to install and I can not stop it. I think I will have to go to a previous Image as I can not figure out what else to do. I'll read through the entire thread. Looks as though that user may have a solution.
     
  7. wshrugged

    wshrugged Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    Posts:
    255
    You're welcome. Let us know, here or there, if and how you get it sorted.
    Still haven't seen a consistent pattern as to why some are affected/afflicted. Multiple causation?
    Damn it, is right. Good luck.
     
  8. emmjay

    emmjay Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Posts:
    1,387
    Location:
    Triassic
    Yesterday I read through the entire thread created by @geekatlarge . What a terrible experience he was put through. Shameful.

    To recap: I did not reserve W10. I had KB3068708 and KB3035583 uninstalled and hidden. Windows Update has always been set to do not download. However, this did not stop W10 from being downloaded and the install started automatically - and it continually installs whether you hide it or cancel it. Before shutting down completely I checked for all GWX associated updates and the only one I had not uninstalled was KB2990214. I missed this one.

    Fixed (I hope): Last night I shutdown the system and restored to an image that was created before July 29, 2015. Chose not to go online until I checked for anything GWX related. Made sure that WU is definitely set to do not download. Went through the list of installed windows updates and removed anything GWX related and hid it. I checked system32 for the GWX folder, not there. Went online and all the updates eventually came in - s-l-o-w-l-y. over several hours .

    I hid everything W10 related. KB2990214 did not get resent though. I am very wary of this evil brute.

    Note: The impacted system is an OEM W7/Pro build. W10 downloaded Aug 22 and I did not see it come in. BT~Windows folder there Aug 23 - the auto install started Aug 24.
     
  9. wshrugged

    wshrugged Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    Posts:
    255
    Thanks for reporting back. Wow. You had never even reserved W10 on this machine.
    People like you and @geekatlarge (he got nonsense help from MSFT) are able to 'fix' this MSFT, major screw-up. Wasted, non-billable time for you. Worse yet for the incapable who may be affected.
     
  10. geekatlarge

    geekatlarge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2013
    Posts:
    66
    Location:
    Searching for $Windows.~BT folders
    Insidious, isn't it? Sounds like you spent a huge chunk of time on this as well. I hope you were successful. Thanks for the update.
    Yes, exactly. Can't tell you how much time I've spent on the phone between and sometimes during jobs. I'm trying to reach business customers first, especially those on metered connections or slow DSL. "Do you see any failed Windows Updates? Does it say Windows 10 is trying to install?" followed by some version of "We don't want that! It keeps popping up but we never clicked on it! Why didn't they tell us and let us stop it? Isn't that illegal?", then the 10 to 15 minute explanation of what's happening including that it's not an easy fix and not even a certain fix based on some of the reports I've seen. Lots of very unhappy people out there, most of them blaming the slowdowns and overages on their ISP's until I brought it to their attention.
     
  11. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    7,192
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    My Lock Screen seems to be broken.

    Lock Screen Broken.PNG

    If I navigate to C:\Windows\Web\Screen I find that all default images are still present but I can't use them.

    Lock Screens.PNG

    If I press Windows key + L I get a different screen again. Any ideas?
     
  12. pegas

    pegas Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Posts:
    2,369
    I can choose the background either Pictures or Presentation (in the drop down menu), hmm maybe it is just question of translation. OK what happens when you add folder Screen?
     
  13. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    7,192
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    I can add the Pictures folder, but I haven't added any pictures yet.

    Apparently Windows Spotlight is only available on Win10 Home version.
     
  14. pegas

    pegas Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Posts:
    2,369
    OK, slideshow is presentation in my case. Anyway there has to be an option Pictures in the drop down menu, isn't it? I would give a try to add any folder with pictures. It might reset the setting.
     
  15. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    7,192
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    I tried navigating to C:\Windows\Web\Screen as above but no images are found, even though they clearly are located there.
     
  16. pegas

    pegas Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Posts:
    2,369
    Btw, all MS updates applied? There is always an option, you surely know what it is ... (factory reset) but if Win 10 works fine, apart this bug, I would wait, you may find a solution later. Sorry, I can't help you more, I don't have a clue.
     
  17. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    7,192
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Yep, all updates are installed... like I have a choice anyway with the Home Edition.

    I had this issue with a previous Win10 installation and just got done reinstalling Windows and my programs yesterday, so I'm not too keen to start again as you can appreciate.

    It really is a minor bug that perhaps might be solved with a patch at some point. I've been searching and it looks like plenty of others had this issue in testing so maybe they just haven't polished this 'feature' yet.

    Thanks for your suggestions. :thumb:

    Cheers!
     
  18. pegas

    pegas Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Posts:
    2,369
    Good choice to wait a while. Moreover when others have experienced the same bug. A solution will surely come up.
     
  19. emmjay

    emmjay Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Posts:
    1,387
    Location:
    Triassic
    Users in remote locations who do not check out all the default settings in W10 before going online could be in for a costly surprise ...

    http://stopthecap.com/2015/08/18/mi...ndreds-of-dollars-in-internet-overlimit-fees/
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 27, 2015
  20. Coldmoon

    Coldmoon Returnil Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Posts:
    2,981
    Location:
    USA
    Thanks for that reminder. It isn't an issue with my current non-metered, non-capped DSL connection but it will be an issue where I am moving to with capped cable Internet. I will be making certain this setting is the first thing I fix for the relatives...
     
  21. emmjay

    emmjay Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Posts:
    1,387
    Location:
    Triassic
    Last edited: Aug 29, 2015
  22. TS4H

    TS4H Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Posts:
    523
    Location:
    Australia
    Finally there is a way to Remove Feedback, Contact Support and Cortana permanently thanks to Winaero and a MSFN user.

    "Behind this trick is an application called WIMTweak which manages Windows Packages and allows you to hide/unhide them from the Windows image (WIM) file. It works on offline images as well as online. WIMTweak was created by MSFN user Legolash2o, so credits for this awesome tool go to him."

    Remove Feedback http://winaero.com/blog/how-to-uninstall-and-remove-feedback-in-windows-10/
    Remove Contact Support http://winaero.com/blog/how-to-uninstall-and-remove-contact-support-in-windows-10/
    Remove Cortana http://winaero.com/blog/how-to-uninstall-and-remove-cortana-in-windows-10/
     
  23. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    7,368
    I just upgraded two ThinkPad T410 laptops to Windows 10 from Windows 7 Pro. In both cases I had done a fresh install of Windows 7 via Lenovo recovery media, which installs Windows 7 along with some Lenovo drivers and software. I then installed any missing drivers via ThinkVantage System Update, then installed all Windows Updates.

    There were no issues on the first computer until the upgrade finished and the Windows 10 desktop had loaded. After this, the laptop froze completely and was no responding to any keyboard and mouse input. I held down the power button until the laptop shut down, then powered it up again - only to face the same issue. The third time Windows booted, it did not freeze, and it has been working fine since then. On the other laptop it froze only on the first boot.

    This is behaviour I had not witnessed before. I've installed Windows 10 on 12 computers so far, and will be installing it on another computer tonight.
     
  24. emmjay

    emmjay Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Posts:
    1,387
    Location:
    Triassic
    With all those upgrades you have successfully completed, you have no doubt accumulated a good deal of knowledge - you have all the prerequisites pretty much down pat. You have obviously got the systems up to date and ready to go with both hardware and firmware. W10 freezing on a fresh install of 7 certainly eliminates several culprits. The hard shutdown seems to be clearing whatever is causing the freeze on that specific laptop. A full power reset sometimes helps prior to an upgrade. It drains all the power from the system to reset all the hardware and clear the volatile memory - this is something that was suggested to me. The other was to increase the size of the swap file.
     
  25. ArchiveX

    ArchiveX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2014
    Posts:
    1,435
    Location:
    Land of the Light
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.