Windows 10 Issues, Problems & solutions

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by emmjay, Aug 1, 2015.

  1. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    11,235
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    I don't know why I differ. I've never had to do fresh installs, from WinXP onward. My OS don't slow with time. I can still use (although I use it rarely) an over 10 years old WinXP. It's not slow.

    Maybe it's my image restores. Whenever I have an issue that isn't easily fixed I restore an image taken the day before. When there was no issue.
     
  2. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    8,003
    Could be you have stronger hardware too. My laptop (turned desktop) is 7 years old with just a core 2 duo 2.2, 4gb ram, etc... not exactly high performance, but for the most part, it gets the job done. I find Linux much snappier and 95% less disk intensive compared to Win, but that's a whole different topic...

    So far my 10 clean install has performed great..
     
  3. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,000
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    My word!

    If I knew how much a difference they make I would of grabbed one [or two] years ago.
     
  4. ArchiveX

    ArchiveX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2014
    Posts:
    1,464
    Location:
    Land of the Light
  5. Rolo42

    Rolo42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2012
    Posts:
    571
    Location:
    USA
    Not if the single partition got corrupted, driving a restore, which you can't do from the restore partition because there isn't one (it got corrupt).

    I was able to restore and resize only the Windows 10 partition from a different Windows 10 build using Paragon Rescue Kit 14 Free (very nice software BTW) and the auto-boot-repair did its thing and everything worked fine. Besides, Microsoft tends to write software on the assumption that conditions will never change and users won't tinker with stuff and nothing outside of errors they can conceive--basically, not robust enough to handle custom configs or things going wrong.

    I would also hate to restore the entire drive if I only needed to fix boot config data.

    I had the same thing. I reboot the modem, router, and PC: same issue. I changed from Comodo DNS to Norton DNS and problem instantly cleared on all devices (other PCs, phones).
     
  6. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,839
    Hi Brian
    can i do with it with weather and mail ?

    i have a question , i want a local account and i have a local account
    can i keep it ? for example cornaga i tried to sing in and it changed my local account to a microsoft account

    thanks
     
  7. SirDrexl

    SirDrexl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Posts:
    556
    Location:
    USA
    Is Windows 10 forcing you to use Homegroups for file sharing? They set my network type to Public (without asking as they did in Win7), and it looks like the only way to change it is to go through the Homegroup settings, which I presume will enable Homegroups.
     
  8. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    11,235
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
  9. Rolo42

    Rolo42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2012
    Posts:
    571
    Location:
    USA
    I've had to do this on one machine as well. No, it doesn't enable Homegroups. You can use regular time-tested file sharing in Win10 (I do--Homegroups would constantly break, hang, hiccup, and be slow--yet another fine idea with awful implementation).

    Odd thing though: disabling the Homegroup allow rules in Windows Firewall did block regular file sharing.
     
  10. SirDrexl

    SirDrexl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Posts:
    556
    Location:
    USA
  11. emmjay

    emmjay Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Posts:
    1,413
    Location:
    Triassic
    I have upgraded a few W8 systems to W10 for some friends and family, though I am concerned about one laptop because it is 5 years old and was purchased thru an OEM. It has been designated end of life by the OEM and has a graphics chipset that no longer gets updates. Because it is modified by the OEM, Intel can not update it and advises against an update. So I left things as is. They work OK under W10. There are some things I have had to teak here and there, but the system is performing quite well right now and my friend is happy.

    What is concerning me is what happens later on, say after a year or so as MS adds more features to W10. I can not see this PC performing as well as it does now, especially with feature updates being imposed on him. Unfortunately it is unlikely that this PC can take advantage of the new security enhancements that are being proposed by MS, like Device Guard and others. In a link sent to me yesterday by another poster , I read that the OEM would issue the support for systems with this capability. My friends PC will not qualify. Going back to W8 mortifies him - we have a backup, but I think he would rather die from a thousand cuts than go back to W8. He is feeling a bit betrayed right now. I see a lot of people have upgraded older PCs too, so they may be in the same boat - misery loves company!!!
     
    Last edited: Aug 17, 2015
  12. Adric

    Adric Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Posts:
    1,477
    The hide Utility is too little too late and a very weak effort trying to fix something that is broken. Also, The GPO changes to Notify and not auto-install only works if you do not manually 'Check for Updates' in the WU menu. You have to let the system find the updates on its own in order for updates not to be downloaded and auto-installed.
     
  13. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    8,003
    Yep, it's a bit hard to say where MS's vision will take 10. They could quite easily add "features" that either we don't want or that our machines can't handle down the road. That's why I think they've forced the updates, so they can push anything they want on people in the future... they're in total control.
     
  14. ArchiveX

    ArchiveX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2014
    Posts:
    1,464
    Location:
    Land of the Light
  15. emmjay

    emmjay Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Posts:
    1,413
    Location:
    Triassic
    I was asked to cancel the GW10 reserve on a friend's PC - they reserved it, but have changed their mind after the initial download failed. I offered to redo it for them using the ISO but they wanted anything to do with W10 removed from their system. I opened the GW10 icon and cancelled the reserve - the cancellation showed as accepted. I also uninstalled the GWX windows updates and hid them. Rebooted. Did a diskcleaup. Rebooted. On a search argument I came across some GWX entries: in WINSXS there are a lot of GWX folders/files. Is it OK for me to delete these folders and files?
     
  16. emmjay

    emmjay Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Posts:
    1,413
    Location:
    Triassic
  17. ratchet

    ratchet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Posts:
    1,988
    I'd uninstalled a number of the W10 "apps" however, after a reboot they were all back. Any input appreciated!
     
  18. Tyrizian

    Tyrizian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Posts:
    2,838
    It's a quirk with the operating system, try uninstalling them a second time and then initiate a reboot afterwards, this worked for me.
     
  19. Carver

    Carver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2006
    Posts:
    1,909
    Location:
    USA
    Did you unpin the app from the start menu first then uninstall
     
  20. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    8,033
    @ratchet Ty uninstalling them with IObit Uninstaller 5. You need to click on Win Manager to uninstall modern apps.
     
  21. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,000
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    That looks like something REVO Pro can't do.
     
  22. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    8,033
    @Krusty13 Only the new version 5 of IObit Uninstaller can do it. It also finds and removes the leftover registry keys.
     
  23. emmjay

    emmjay Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Posts:
    1,413
    Location:
    Triassic
    After having helped others to get W10 and rolling back a friends PC to the original OS, here I am having a problem with W10 downloading onto my W7 system - out of the blue. What? I have WU set to notify. It was not reserved on this PC. I had KB3035583 and KB3068708 uninstalled and hidden. I am baffled.
     
  24. Dragon1952

    Dragon1952 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Posts:
    2,283
    Location:
    Hollow Earth - Telos
    "There’s been a lot of discussion about Telemetry in Windows as well as avoiding the Windows 10 upgrade. Here is the list of service bulletins we compiled and what they do. It should be noted that even when not installed, they may appear again so this will require some effort on your part. Most people will simply not bother with this but it's great information for any tech to have at their disposal or simply for research purposes"......http://www.majorgeeks.com/news/stor...to_avoid_telemetry_or_windows_10_upgrade.html
     
  25. Dragon1952

    Dragon1952 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Posts:
    2,283
    Location:
    Hollow Earth - Telos
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.