Windows 10 Issues, Problems & solutions

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by emmjay, Aug 1, 2015.

  1. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,000
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Hi bidd,

    It seems I'm not alone - http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/...0/d4b8dc64-bdae-4b9f-b1bf-409df5b9b9d4?auth=1

    Like the OP in that thread, if I resize Weather the tile starts working again, just not on the largest size.

    I don't use any other of these new apps except Weather and News, the rest bore me.

    Do you remember a small program called Weatherzone Weather Tracker? It has been discontinued but I like it on my PCs. It does get it's info from BOM and updates ever 10 minutes, or whatever frequency you choose.

    Cheers.
     
  2. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,000
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    I've just finished doing a clean install on one machine and for some strange reason I cannot connect to one site using M$ Edge on this machine but have no problems with any other sites. I can access the site with IE 11, Chrome, Cyberfox and Firefox on that machine, just not Edge. I can access the site using Edge on two other Win10 machines on the same network.

    I've cleared the cache, cookies and other data but still cannot connect.

    The site is my.gov.au in case it matters.

    Any ideas?
     
  3. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    8,033
    It just opened for me in Edge. What is happeing when you try to open it, is it timing out?
     
  4. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,000
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    I get a "Something went wrong" (or similar) with a suggestion to refresh the page or search for what I want, neither of which help. I'm on another machine now and can still access the site with it.
     
  5. pegas

    pegas Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Posts:
    2,430
    JFYI works fine here in Opera 39 as well as IE 11.
     
  6. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,000
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Fixed it! I had set Edge to only block third-party cookies but when I tried to log in here I was told I needed to allow cookies. Check the setting and it was blocking all cookies, so changed it back to block only third-party cookies and problem solved!

    Here's what I was getting.

    Error.PNG
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.