Windows 10 Issues, Problems & solutions

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by emmjay, Aug 1, 2015.

  1. emmjay

    emmjay Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Posts:
    883
    Location:
    Triassic
    I opened this thread for those who are having initial or on-going issues with Windows 10.

    While all the 'good news posts' are encouraging in other threads, those who are struggling or frustrated need a separate thread to discuss their situation because these posts are being lost in the flurry of excitement.

    Unfortunately, my W10 upgrade failed on error code C1900208.after the download reached 100% complete .

    I googled the error and a lot of people have this same error. It appears it was a WSUS issue, however MS has no solution for this failure and says it continues to happen and this error code is also appearing on the install. They are looking into it and their response is, WAIT. I received my upgrade on July 29 and MS sent me an email notification July 31 informing that my upgrade would soon be sent to me. I assume this means that WSUS does not know this WU failed.
     
  2. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,773
    Location:
    Texas
  3. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    2,878
    Location:
    Australia
    Is there a way to stop the Mail app if we aren't using it?
     
  4. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,646
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Use autoruns in Sysinternals.
     
  5. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    2,878
    Location:
    Australia
    Thanks Brian. I'll have to look into Sysinternals. I haven't used it before.
     
  6. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,773
    Location:
    Texas
    You have to open an account to use the email app. I assume you are talking about the service?
     
  7. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    2,878
    Location:
    Australia
  8. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,773
    Location:
    Texas
    That seems to be correct.
     
  9. Tyrizian

    Tyrizian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Posts:
    2,806
    These are the issues I experience.

    1. Store applications or modern apps (Calculator, Calender, Weather, etc.) are opening and running on their own.

    Only solution for now: Closing the Application Frame Host, temporarily solves the issue, Note: If you're running Microsoft Edge, it will close out the process as well.

    2. Search won't always let the user click the box to search something, making the search function useless.

    Only solution for now: Clicking Start, then the search box is the temporary fix.

    3. Action center will be highlighted white, making you believe that there is a notification message, but when the Action Center icon is clicked, if says no notifications.

    Only solution for now: None if you want to run Action Center,
    If you have no need for Action Center, then disable it from system icons.

    Other than the above issues, Windows 10 has been pretty stable for me.
     
  10. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    2,878
    Location:
    Australia
    Yes same here.

    With Search I found just ending it in Task Manager gets it going again.
     
  11. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,646
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Use autoruns.exe (as an Admin) and click the Logon tab. Remove ticks from items you don't want to auto start.
     
  12. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    2,878
    Location:
    Australia
    :thumb: Ta!
     
  13. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    5,242
    I just tried to upgrade a Windows 7 Dell laptop from a Windows 10 flash drive I created from the Windows 10 ISO with Rufus, and I was asked for a product key. I'm writing the ISO to the flash drive again now using the Windows 7 USB/DVD Download Tool, to see if that makes any difference. I used the Download Tool for my previous two upgrades (and both cases I did not need a product key), but I have seen from posts on the internet that Rufus is preferred method so I tried it instead.

    Edit: I used the deafult settings in Rufus, and Windows 7 is activated.

    I tried again with the newly created flash drive, and am still asked for a product key,
     
    Last edited: Aug 2, 2015
  14. Tyrizian

    Tyrizian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Posts:
    2,806
    For some reason, Microsoft has decided to provide keys that are universal for everyone.

    Windows 10 Home - YTMG3-N6DKC-DKB77-7M9GH-8HVX7
    Windows 10 Home SL- BT79Q-G7N6G-PGBYW-4YWX6-6F4BT
    Windows 10 Pro - VK7JG-NPHTM-C97JM-9MPGT-3V66T
    Windows 10 Pro VL-MAK - QJNXR-7D97Q-K7WH4-RYWQ8-6MT6Y

    Source: - http://malwaretips.com/threads/windows-10-provides-the-official-iso.48944/page-2#post-416351
     
  15. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,646
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    You will be asked for a product key during a clean Win10 install after you have completed the upgrade. You should choose Skip.

    I used UFDs made by Rufus and PowerISO. I'll check the Rufus one again.
     
  16. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    5,242
    Thanks, I did not know that. I have however just got the upgrade to start without being prompted for a product key by selecting the upgrade option in the Media Creation Tool.
     
  17. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    5,242
    Yes, I know, but I was trying to upgrade an existing Windows 7 install, not do a clean install. Anyway, as per my previous post, when using the Media Creation Tool to do the upgrade I was not asked for a product key.
     
  18. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,646
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    I just used a Rufus UFD to upgrade a UEFI Win8.1 to Win10. I wasn't asked for a Product Key.

    I've now upgraded 8 computers. Not all mine.
     
  19. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    5,242
    The upgrade completed with no problems, and Windows 10 is running well. This is the third upgrade I've done from Windows 7.
     
  20. prius04

    prius04 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    Posts:
    1,238
    Location:
    USA
    Kind of a weird issue after the upgrade to W10 but, so far, it's the one of the very few I've experienced that has me baffled. Here goes:

    I was poking around (never a good idea, of course) and somehow unticked the box next to Internet Explorer 11 in "Turn Windows features on and off" in "Programs and Features". I immediately checked the box, as it was originally, and then clicked the OK button. Result = Internet Explorer magically disappeared from Windows Accessories in the start menu. Further, IE won't start even if I navigate to the IE folder and click the executable (iexplore.exe); absolutely nothing happens.

    I've tried a few remedial steps in order to get IE to run but, as is oft repeated, it looks like 'He's dead, Jim'. Just thought I'd throw this out there in the event anyone else had the same experience. Frankly, I almost never used IE and will not miss it if the thing really is dead, but the way it just disappeared like that piqued my curiosity as to exactly what might have happened. I mean, I figured it should have become functional again after I re-ticked the box. :confused:
     
  21. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,646
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    prius04,

    I removed the tick, clicked No, tick is present again (not by me), OK. IE is still there.

    I removed the tick, clicked Yes, put tick back in, OK. IE is still there.

    I removed the tick, clicked Yes, OK, reboot requested, IE is gone. Programs and Features, put tick in IE, OK, reboot requested, IE is present.
     
  22. prius04

    prius04 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    Posts:
    1,238
    Location:
    USA
    Brian K,

    Thanks a bunch for checking. I should have stated in my earlier post that I was able to get IE to reappear in the program menu after ticking and rebooting, but it will not start whether I click IE from the menu or navigate to the IE folder and click on the executable directly.

    I just recently looked in the Event Viewer and noticed it's returning a fault in C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\ntdll.dll - oh boy!
     
  23. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,646
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Weird. My IE starts OK.
     
  24. prius04

    prius04 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    Posts:
    1,238
    Location:
    USA
    Yeah, it's definitely strange. I am not sure how to go about troubleshooting an ntdll.dll fault but, based upon reading accounts of that particular fault in the past, I'm not sure I even want to try.
     
  25. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,646
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    You know my method of fixing things. If you are stumped after 5 minutes, restore an image.
     
Loading...