Windows 10 Creators Update, non-Insiders opportunity.

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Phant0m, Apr 5, 2017.

  1. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    7,183
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    I've pinned both Control Panel and Command Prompt to Start for easy access.
     
  2. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    7,361
    In my case, just entering c or p at the Start Menu, is enough to find Control Panel. But, I never need to open it, except to perhaps to open Devices and Printers to truobleshoot my computer after installing Windows, to make it try and find any missing drivers.
     
  3. plat1098

    plat1098 Guest

    Yes, installed via Update Assistant and Control Panel stayed pinned to task bar. The only thing I had to do, thanks to someone's good observation, was install driver for Realtek High Def audio. Anyone do that and come to find audio sounds better than it ever did? My little Creative Labs speakers teach those annoying upstairs tenants a serious lesson, thanks again. :isay:
     
  4. beagle1957

    beagle1957 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2013
    Posts:
    8
    Location:
    United States of America
    I was able to restore Control Panel to the Win-X menu and keep Settings via Win-X Editor from http://winaero.com. Thinking about using it to re-point 'System' to the Control Panel instead of the 'About' page in Settings.
     
  5. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    5,307
    Location:
    USA
    If you go to Personalize, Themes, Desktop icon settings... you can select to have a Control Panel shortcut on your desktop. At least until a later update when I assume they will remove it. If that is an acceptable workaround. You can also pin it to the start menu or taskbar.
     
  6. guest

    guest Guest

    Indeed, Start Menu > Windows System > pin to Start Menu or Taskbar...what is difficult with that?
     
  7. NormanF

    NormanF Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Posts:
    2,354
    I would like Microsoft to develop a long term version... it works for businesses, why not for home users?

    People should have a choice between a stable edition and being on the cutting edge with the latest features.
     
  8. XIII

    XIII Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Posts:
    890
    On Windows 10 1607 I had several shortcuts to Firefox in the start menu (each with a different URL to open; for example online mail, calendar, contacts, etc.). Each shortcut has its own custom icon to visually distinguish them.

    After upgrading to 1703 all icons use the same default Firefox icon from the manifest file and changes to the shortcut icon are ignored. Is this intended behavior, or a bug in 1703?

    How can I work around this? (Have multiple shortcuts to Firefox with different icons)
     
  9. XIII

    XIII Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Posts:
    890
    I can't open the Defender security center in the tray by left clicking on any of my systems. Right clicking and selecting the (one and only) option "Open" works fine.

    1703 bug?
     
  10. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    7,361
    It's the same for me.
     
  11. TairikuOkami

    TairikuOkami Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Posts:
    3,112
    Location:
    Slovakia
  12. plat1098

    plat1098 Guest

  13. ArchiveX

    ArchiveX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2014
    Posts:
    1,434
    Location:
    Land of the Light
  14. NormanF

    NormanF Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Posts:
    2,354
    By the way: you can install Windows 10 without the MCT by downloading the ISO.

    Burning an ISO to a USB flash drive, isn't the only option.

    If you install a virtual CD/DVD ROM drive like gBurner, you can mount the ISO file with it and double click it to launch the Windows 10 setup.exe.

    Just follow the prompts to install Windows 10.
     
  15. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,062
    I have upgraded to creators update today. no issues so far. I have uninstalled f.lux and turned on nightmode. btw if you are running any build of windows 10 it has native support for mounting iso so no third party software needed.
    If you have more than 4gb of ram there is a seperate svchost process for every service now which is good if one crashes but does looks messy in task manager.
    it looks like edge has more processes now as well. I have one tab open in edge on youtube and it has 5 processes.
    This is the first time I have updated to a new build of windows 10 which hasn't knocked out the licensing for shadow protect spx.
     
  16. XIII

    XIII Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Posts:
    890
    Can one set a sunset/surnrise schedule based on a custom location without enabling location services for all Apps? (like in f.lux)
     
  17. NormanF

    NormanF Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Posts:
    2,354
    If you want pure Windows, you can't do an upgrade with Enterprise. You have to do a clean install. Upgrade is only supported from the version you're currently running on you PC.
     
  18. NormanF

    NormanF Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Posts:
    2,354
    I have turned off f.lux on my PC because I hate the dim display at the night setting. I prefer the daytime mode.
     
  19. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,062
    Doesn't look like it. if you turn of location settings it will ask you to set the start and end time yourself. You can stop apps from requesting access to location thou.
    The tray icon saying your location is currently in use isn't specific as to what app is using it which isn't particularly useful.
     
  20. TairikuOkami

    TairikuOkami Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Posts:
    3,112
    Location:
    Slovakia
    Night light is a nice feature, but it as basic as it can be, literally, you can only turn it on or off. F.lux on other hand is improving all the time.
     

    Attached Files:

  21. Special

    Special Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2016
    Posts:
    243
    Location:
    Canada
    Hey guys, this is sort of a cross post from the COMODO Firewall thread, but the answer is kinda urgent for me as the Creators Update is in two days and you guys are all on the latest and greatest, so maybe someone here also uses CFW and might know this answer. Anyway here is the Copy/Paste from the Comodo thread.

     
  22. Phant0m

    Phant0m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    3,721
    Location:
    Canada
    I've experienced an issue updating to Windows 10 Creators Update with MalwareBytes Free v3.0.6, Comodo Firewall setup.

    Windows 10 Creators Update would fail with ' 0x8007042B - 0x4000D ' error. Last phase at 99% if I remember correctly. I tried second time without altering anything, and was reproducible.

    Unfortunately this type of error and looking through the Windows Setup-Related log files, hadn't revealed anything useful especially no driver or any file causing the fault. However when I've disabled the drivers for both security products, Windows 10 Creators Update finished without a hitch.

    I did suspect MalwareBytes initially, but on another PC I've installed this and tested the Windows 10 Creators Update and successfully updated Windows.

    I also know that I've tested on another PC the latest Comodo Firewall package that was released shortly after my initial Windows update. The Windows 10 Creators Update was successful.
     
  23. wat0114

    wat0114 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Posts:
    2,629
    Location:
    Canada
    It can be set to to a schedule.


    night_light.PNG
     
  24. Marcelo

    Marcelo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Posts:
    194
    Location:
    Rio de Janeiro, Brazil.
    The only problem I had was with the Intel Update Utility. Also if you use Kaspersky and is updating instead of performing a clean install wait for the message that Kaspersky has adjusted to Windows 10 after the update or you'll experience a lot of slowness.
     
  25. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,849
    The CU on my Samsung machine was not perfect, but a clean install done with MCT was quick and flawless. Yes, I will have to re-install all programs but having two working machines I can take my time, and done once a year it isn't the end of the world. I think Windows 10 is better than ever, I also find Windows Defender is not slowing down neither machines as in the past...
     
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.