Windows 10 Announced - Released 29-Jul-2015

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by ronjor, Sep 30, 2014.

  1. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    7,695
    I've just installed the latest Windows 10 updates, and rebooted, and the RAM usage is extremely low. On my 6GB laptop, memory usage is sitting at just 46% with 42 tabs open in Chrome. Actually, I'm using 360 Extreme Explorer, but it by default it renders just about all pages with Chrome.

    This is really impressive considering I have two antiviruses, and hundreds of programs installed. For example, there are 17 icons in the system tray, and around 30 third party services running.
     
  2. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    I also did the update and Windows Outlook had an update as well. Outlook is now in Safe Mode. How can I take it out of Safe Mode? I have explored all the ribbons and can't find a setting. Can anyone help? Thanks :oops:
     
  3. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    105,762
    Location:
    Texas
    https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/kb/3114409
     
  4. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    15,851
    Location:
    UK
    Have you tried uninstalling KB 3114409 ?

    (I am presuming you are using Win 7 as in your sig)
     
  5. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    Arrgh! I neglected to change my signature to WIN10. Thanks for noticing. ;)
     
  6. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
  7. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    105,762
    Location:
    Texas
    http://betanews.com/2015/12/10/windows-10-security-features-for-the-enterprise/
     
  8. wolfrun

    wolfrun Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2009
    Posts:
    674
    Location:
    Canada

    Attached Files:

  9. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    I missed the November WIN10 upgrade to 1511 because I didn't have 31 days on WIN10 yet. Does anyone know when the second attempt will be in December?
     
  10. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    8,377
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    You could download the Media Creation Tool, create an ISO and upgrade when you're ready if you like.

    https://www.microsoft.com/en-au/software-download/windows10

    Scroll down to where it says, "Download Tool Now".
     
  11. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
  12. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
  13. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    105,762
    Location:
    Texas
    Doesn't exist. However, it doesn't hurt to put forth a good effort in shoring up the system.
     
  14. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    8,377
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    :thumb:
     
  15. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    13,862
    Location:
    Slovenia
    Yes I saw that today also. It looks like we are getting really large spam campaign.
     
  16. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    Problem is if you read how Enterprises are hacked, the problem isn't the operating system, it's the operator
     
  17. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    105,762
    Location:
    Texas
    Pebkac. :)
     
  18. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    7,695
    I just did another install of Windows 10. This time I did a clean install on an old XP laptop. It was the first time I've done a clean install of Threshold 2, using a Windows 7 Product Key. The install went fine, and my Windows 7 Product Key was accepted - after spending a while verifying it.

    The install took about 40 minutes, after which Windows was already activated and working well. When I checked in Device Manager, there was just one missing driver. I went to Devices and Printers and ran the troubleshooter for my laptop, and Windows found and installed the missing driver, and prompted me to reboot to finish installing it. After rebooting there were no missing drivers. I installed Lenovo Drivers Management, which found no driver updates, but found an old Windows 7 audio driver from Lenovo to replace the generic high definition audio driver Windows had installed.

    Windows 10 is running really (as expected) despite the specs being medicore - the laptop has a 1.6GHZ L7500 Core 2 DUO CPU.

    Until you have to start paying for Windows 10, I think it really makes sense to upgrade, rather than opting to stick with Windows 7. If I had chosen to do a clean install of Windows 7 on this computer, I would have been faced with spending hours rather than minutes installing Windows Updates, and possibly would have had to manually install some drivers.
     
  19. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    8,377
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Roger, that is my thoughts also. :thumb:
     
  20. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    7,695
    I'm going to replace Windows Defender with something lighter, such as PC Manager, as it was causing noticable slowdowns at times. For example, I was installing some software and the install was going slowly, and when I launched Task Manager, it turned out Windows Defender was causing the slowdown due to high CPU use.

    However, I wil admit that on some systems WD works really well. On one of my i5 laptops, WD didn't seem to be causing any noticable slowdowns. I guess it just doesn't fare so well on slower CPUs.
     
  21. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,488
  22. WildByDesign

    WildByDesign Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2013
    Posts:
    2,587
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
  23. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    6,053
    Location:
    USA
    One reason that I haven't seen mentioned for why many people have a problem using Edge is Microsoft didn't implement an automatic import of favorites from Internet Explorer during upgrades from Windows 7/8. Many of my customers don't realize that Edge is a different browser since the icon looks very similar to IE. They also don't know that IE is still on the computer, and even if they did they don't know how to navigate to iexplore.exe and create a desktop shortcut. If MS had arranged to import the favorites all of those folks would be happily using Edge since they generally don't use add-ons.
     
  24. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    105,762
    Location:
    Texas
    https://blogs.windows.com/msedgedev/2015/12/16/smartscreen-drive-by-improvements/
     
  25. Martin_C

    Martin_C Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2014
    Posts:
    525
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.