Windows 10 Announced - Released 29-Jul-2015

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by ronjor, Sep 30, 2014.

  1. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,996
    Location:
    USA
    A simple and safe way to upgrade is to use the Microsoft Media Creation tool to download the ISO, burn the ISO to disc or flash drive, and then run the setup from the Windows 7 (or 8 ) desktop (don't boot it as it will ask for a license key). There's no need to wait on GWX/Windows Update.
     
  2. happyyarou666

    happyyarou666 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2012
    Posts:
    803
    well good luck with that one as ill be using w7 for quite a while after all the ~Snip~ thats been going on with 8 to now 10 , its hilarious how microsoft keeps on amazing me with the new degrades instead of upgrades it releases including its crappy new data mining policy , makes you wonder what the hell they must be smoking , unbelievable, and if its about dx12 , i dont need it ill just use opengl Khronos instead which doesnt require a new OS and if that doesnt work ill wait for a dx12 api hack over to 7 if possible , but as it is in its current state both w10 and microsofts policy is ill stay clear from w10, thank you
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 1, 2015
  3. Robin A.

    Robin A. Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Posts:
    2,546
    Windows 10 closes the sad Windows 8.x.x.x chapter. I will be using 10 and 7, never going back to 8.1, which I never liked.
     
  4. Rolo42

    Rolo42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2012
    Posts:
    571
    Location:
    USA
    This is what I did and it upgraded/activated fine. ("burn disc for another PC" option)

    The part that isn't working is the clean installation's activation (key is blocked error).

    cf. http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/windows-10/media-creation-tool-install?ocid=ms_wol_win10

    Win10 is faster and smoother than 7 and has a more usable desktop, especially with multiple monitors.
     
  5. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,996
    Location:
    USA
    I've read that some people are using the "Reset" option to effectively get a clean install.
     
  6. Rolo42

    Rolo42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2012
    Posts:
    571
    Location:
    USA
    I don't want (and can't use) a faux clean install.

    I don't want it because I know that it isn't clean and any quirkiness in the future will always be met with "I wonder if I should have reformatted..."

    I can't use it because the upgrade puts the recovery partition at the end of the drive, which interferes with Samsung Magician's over-provisioning tool. (Yes I can work around that but I don't do workarounds unless I have no choice.)

    Edit:
    I'm having it attempt activation every 5 mins with Task Scheduler
    Code:
    start slmgr.vbs /ato
    ping 127.0.0.1 -n 10
    taskkill /F /IM wscript.exe
     
    Last edited: Aug 1, 2015
  7. c2d

    c2d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Posts:
    572
    Location:
    Bosnia
    I have done a clean install of Windows 10 Pro (did an upgrade first). Only issue, slow boot.

    Laptop:i3-2330M, 8 GB RAM, SSD

    With the Windows 8.1, it took about 30 seconds to boot.

    With Windows 10, exactly the same boot / restart takes nearly 2 minutes to get to the desktop.

    After the Windows logo disappears, there is a black screen for more than 1 minute before the blue "Please wait..." appears.

    Probably something about graphic card and drivers. No time to fix it. Going to vacation. Other than that, Windows 10 looks and feels very good.
     
  8. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    5,405
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Hello,

    It is possible to boot into the CD/DVD/flash drive that you made with the Media Creation Tool and do a clean install of Windows 10 after you have upgraded and maintain your activation. You will be prompted twice during the clean install to enter your key, just do not enter a key and skip these steps. I had upgraded my Windows 8.1 to Windows 10 using the upgrade option of the Media Creation Tool (as the GWX app did not work for me) and it activated but I was not satisfied with the install. I went back to the Media Creation Tool, created an ISO which I burned to DVD, booted it, used the advanced options to delete all partitions on the destination drive, and then proceeded to do the clean install of Windows 10. I skipped entering any key the two times I was asked for it and Windows 10 installed fine. It was activated when it booted to Windows 10 for the first time. Please be advised that I did the clean install after I had already done the upgrade to Windows 10 and it kept its activation so I cannot verify if you do the clean install over your old version of Windows before updating and activating whether it will properly activate or not...
    See a detailed post about my experience here: https://www.wilderssecurity.com/threads/hidden-recovery-partition-on-windows-10.378372/#post-2511761
    HTH...
     
  9. Rolo42

    Rolo42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2012
    Posts:
    571
    Location:
    USA
    As I said, I did this yesterday.
     
  10. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    5,405
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Hello Rolo42,

    Yes, I had noticed you had already done this as I was commenting only about the clean install (and it could also be done by booting the install media you create) asking for your key and the possible key is blocked errors some had seen. My main point was when asked to enter your key when doing a clean install was just not to enter a key and skip these steps the two times you are asked for your key, and the clean install should work fine and activate.
     
  11. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,996
    Location:
    USA
    Thanks, I was wondering how this was done. Do you know if this is the stated procedure from Microsoft?
     
  12. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    5,405
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Hello Victek,

    I am not sure if this is Microsoft's stated procedure or not. I found this after a lot of searching but cannot verify where I actually found the answer. I only know that it worked in my case so it should work fine for others also. Sorry to not to be able to give a more definitive answer...
     
  13. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,996
    Location:
    USA
    I haven't found something from Microsoft about it yet, but a number of "how to" sites are saying the same thing, ie skip the key and the clean install will activate automatically (provided of course that the upgrade was done and activated properly beforehand).
     
  14. Rolo42

    Rolo42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2012
    Posts:
    571
    Location:
    USA
    I don't know how I can make this any more clear but I'll try:

    In post 1654, I linked the official Microsoft procedure for upgrading and clean installing; this is what I have done. Win7 Ult genuine/activated even got GWX --> upgrade via ISO setup.exe --> Win10 Pro activated --> boot ISO, perform clean install, no keys entered --> won't activate

    Yes, it is supposed to work but it is not working as advertised for a lot of us (presumably it's just a load issue, in spite of the error message). This is a caveat emptor and a solicitation for ideas/experience/info from anyone who got past this.
     
  15. Robin A.

    Robin A. Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Posts:
    2,546
    The in-place upgrade puts the recovery partition after the OS C: partition. It OS is the last partition before the upgrade, the recovery becomes the last one after it. If OS is not the last, the recovery is put after OS, before the next partition.

    Just curious, what does Magician require? Free space at the end of the disk?
     
  16. Dragon1952

    Dragon1952 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Posts:
    1,894
    Location:
    Hollow Earth - Telos
  17. pandorax

    pandorax Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    Posts:
    386
  18. Dragon1952

    Dragon1952 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Posts:
    1,894
    Location:
    Hollow Earth - Telos
  19. bberkey1

    bberkey1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2013
    Posts:
    243
    Location:
    United States
    Seems to be more questions and circumstances that MS "missed" while focusing on data mining options and loopholes to configure. Can't expect them to find all the bugs right away, but seeing how the upgrade via update was their big push, you'd think they would have had months and months of testing the upgrading processes through numerous situations. Whether retail, OEM, or upgrade, not to mention hardware concerns, I think they should have waited until October to release. This fellow's situation isn't as common as joe blow, but it is one that they need to clarify, among others

    http://www.tomshardware.com/news/windows-10-revert-os,29727.html
     
  20. pandorax

    pandorax Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    Posts:
    386
    https://www.fsf.org/news/the-fsfs-statement-on-windows-10
     
  21. Kirk Reynolds

    Kirk Reynolds Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    Posts:
    243
    According to what I've read, even in the pro version you can't disable automatic updates from downloading. You can only delay non-security(?) updates and defer upgrades and features for a limited time. You can stop device driver downloads in the traditional way through System -> Advanced system settings -> Hardware tab -> Device installation settings, but that's it.

    Is this correct? I'm sure this has been discussed, but this is a long thread and I haven't really kept up with it that much.
     
  22. Robin A.

    Robin A. Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Posts:
    2,546
    In the Pro version, there is an option to notify the need for a reboot, so it can be scheduled, and another to disable the updates for other MS products (Office, etc.). Not sure about delays.
     
  23. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,967
    Yes, from what I've read and heard, you cannot stop updates, even in Pro, just defer them....
     
  24. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,996
    Location:
    USA
    Anyone who has used the preview builds already knows what to expect and can make an informed decision about upgrading. It makes sense for those who haven't to read reviews and generally do their homework, such as check for third party hardware support/drivers, to avoid surprises. Personally I don't see any loss of functionality switching from 7 to 10 on my machines.
     
  25. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,996
    Location:
    USA
    You cannot turn off updates in the UI, however there is a tutorial for how to control/disable updates in the "Windows 10 forums":

    http://www.tenforums.com/
     
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.