Windows 10 Announced - Released 29-Jul-2015

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by ronjor, Sep 30, 2014.

  1. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,942
    Location:
    USA
    OK, here's how to get it done in what I believe is a safe way. First you need to know whether you're current 7 or 8 is 32 or 64 bit. If you're not sure right click on the Computer icon to view system properties and see what it says. Next download the correct (32 or 64 bit) Windows 10 media creation tool here:

    https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/software-download/windows10

    Run the media creation tool and choose Upgrade. It will take a while to download all of the installation files. When it's ready begin the install and follow the prompts. It's mostly automatic until you actually boot 10 for the first time. Then you will see a number of options that you can configure (or use express settings). If you have a password on your User account you will have to enter it to login as usual. When you get to the desktop for the first time I recommend checking System Properties again to confirm that Windows 10 is activated (mine was no problem). If you run Windows Update again there will be a few small updates. Note also that if you're coming from 7 you will have a local admin account. You can go into Settings and change this to a Microsoft account if you wish.

    I hope this is clear enough. Let me know if you have any questions and best of luck :)
     
    Last edited: Jul 29, 2015
  2. Tony

    Tony Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2003
    Posts:
    725
    Location:
    Cumbria, England
    Does anyone know how to disable the synaptics scrolling icon?
    There is a registry edit suggested here for windows 7 http://programming.nullanswer.com/question/24236903
    But it does not seem to work for windows 10.
    There used to be an option for virtual scrolling that would get rid of the icon in synaptics setting but it does not appear to be there now.

    It is quite annoying as it seems to crash sometimes leaving the icon on the screen.
     
  3. Robin A.

    Robin A. Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Posts:
    2,546
  4. XIII

    XIII Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Posts:
    890
    Since the download was still not finished I used the tool provided by Microsoft.

    Weird enough this tool converted my US version of Windows to a version in my local language.

    Worse: Windows 10 Pro does not activate. The 8.0 (Pro & WMC) keys that I bought directly from Microsoft are not accepted! Did those change when I upgraded to 8.1?

    The last 5 characters of the Windows 10 Product Code displayed are indeed different from the ones I stored in my password manager…
     
  5. Dragon1952

    Dragon1952 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Posts:
    1,864
    Location:
    Hollow Earth - Telos
  6. syrinx

    syrinx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2014
    Posts:
    413
    Used the tool to download and make an ISO. Upgraded Windows 7 x64 Pro (OEM) to Windows 10 Pro from inside windows for the free upgrade, didn't even ask me for a serial. Activation completed, no problems. Restored Windows 7 and now off to work on a new image w NTLite while the software vendors catch up before I do a clean install of Win 10 for my gaming system...

    Didn't encounter a single issue/error, very smooth (if not long) upgrade here even if I'm not actually using it yet.
     
  7. niki

    niki Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Posts:
    364
  8. Dragon1952

    Dragon1952 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Posts:
    1,864
    Location:
    Hollow Earth - Telos
  9. taleblou

    taleblou Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Posts:
    1,281
    yes it says windows 10 upgrade reserved. we'll let you know when the upgrade is ready to be installed on this pc message.
     
  10. hawki

    hawki Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Posts:
    4,387
    Location:
    DC Metro Area
    Does a download of Windows 10 first check your system/drivers to make sure it will work properly on your PC?
    Does it also first check your installed programs and tell you if any will not function properly on Windows 10 OS?
     
  11. taleblou

    taleblou Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Posts:
    1,281
    mine is an ASUS with win 8.1 OEM licence is internal based. So it activates automatically SO will upgrading or doing a clean install of windows 10 will skip license key install, since my win 8.1 is oem internal.? So the Microsoft tool posted is the one that download and installs windows 10? So all I need is to run it? I thought windows 10 would be a separate full download like 8.1 was to 8.0?
     
  12. hawki

    hawki Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Posts:
    4,387
    Location:
    DC Metro Area
    Can someone explain this please, From very positive review of Windows 10 on PC MAG site:
    "Windows 10 Is a Clear Winner.................
    .......If you look up all the complaints about Windows 10 thus far, with only a few exceptions, the objections are minor if not completely unimportant. The only substantial grouse is about the continuous auto-updates, which can often overwrite a specialty driver necessary for the machine to operate. This is a problem that needs quick fixing.............."

    Sounds fairly serious flaw to me.

    http://www.pcmag.com/article2/0,2817,2488522,00.asp
     
  13. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    80,337
    Location:
    Texas
    It checks everything and downloads what it needs for drivers.
    As far as programs go, I haven't noticed any that I have been using not working.
     
  14. syrinx

    syrinx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2014
    Posts:
    413
    In order to make use of the 'free upgrade' you cannot start with a clean install. You must begin the update within windows (genuine) and go through the lengthy process of 'upgrading'. Once you've done this and their server has saved the activation info for your Hardware IDs, you can then format / repartition etc and install a clean version which *should* auto-activate the next time you are online unless the HWID of your PC has changed. I haven't tested this stage -yet- but the 'upgrade' (of a clean win 7 oem restore) went flawlessly for me. By clean, I mean I hadn't installed anything on to that image.

    I created an ISO using their tool (burnt it to a dvd) and launched it from inside Win7 with the internet wide open. Scary I know, but as I wasn't intending on doing anything other then 'upgrading/activating' my system and did a full restore of my "actual system" after the fact it wasn't a big deal. Now they have my Hardware ID saved and activated so I *should* be able to reinstall without issues once I finish my syspreped/NTlited version.

    I was pleasantly surprised by the process (aside from the time it took) and am hoping the move to Win10 with Asimov (and other things) removed. It's actually the unified write filter available in pro now that has my attention atm and I'm really hoping to make use of.

    I griped about the updates being mandatory elsewhere and I still don't like it but I can get around that with manual tweaks/downloads/sysprep images and NTLite: ~ love it!
     
    Last edited: Jul 29, 2015
  15. Raza0007

    Raza0007 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Posts:
    1,425
    Location:
    USA
    I can vouch for that. I had just installed Windows 10 on my system when it automatically downloaded and installed a Windows 10 compatible Nvidia video driver for my video chip. I was not too upset this time because it saved me the effort of going to the Nvidia's website to look for a driver myself, but the fact is that Windows 10 installed a device driver on my system without consulting with me, essentially behind my back. This is something I do not like or want.
     
  16. taleblou

    taleblou Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Posts:
    1,281
    oh so I should do a upgrade first and then I can do clean installs of win 10. Also my pc info says windows 8.1, so the windows 10 version should be the home version and not the pro?
     
  17. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    80,337
    Location:
    Texas
    You can opt out of that after the upgrade.
     
  18. syrinx

    syrinx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2014
    Posts:
    413
    1) Backup your system with a 3rd party program to a secondary drive if possible.
    2) Detach the backup drive from the computer.
    3) Upgrade from inside Windows
    4) If your experience is anything like mine, it shouldn't have issues and it'll be all grand~ if not, restore the backup you made with #1!
    5) If all went well, format, reinstall and use your clean Win 10!
    6) If anything fails, restore 1!

    As for the 'versions' if you have home / home premium it'll be the Win 10 Home version for you.
    If you have Pro / Ultimate it'll be Win 10 Pro
    (Not so sure of the Win 8 names but that's what they are on 7~ Only 8 version I have experience w is Embedded Industry and I hated it.)
     
  19. Raza0007

    Raza0007 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Posts:
    1,425
    Location:
    USA
    I thought you could not opt out of the automatic Windows updates. Or are you saying that the automatic drivers update is separate from automatic Windows update?
     
  20. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    80,337
    Location:
    Texas
    Driver updates.
     
  21. Raza0007

    Raza0007 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Posts:
    1,425
    Location:
    USA
    ^ Then that is good to hear that you can opt out of the automatic driver updates.
     
  22. Robin A.

    Robin A. Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Posts:
    2,546
     
  23. Tyrizian

    Tyrizian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Posts:
    2,823
    This build is actually pretty stable for a first release.

    So far, I am really enjoying Windows 10.
     
  24. Robin A.

    Robin A. Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Posts:
    2,546
    5) As I have understood, this requires activation with a key. To avoid this, you shouldn´t format, but install in place from the ISO. After this, you can clean-install without activation.
     
  25. Dragon1952

    Dragon1952 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Posts:
    1,864
    Location:
    Hollow Earth - Telos
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.