Windows 10 Announced - Released 29-Jul-2015

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by ronjor, Sep 30, 2014.

  1. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    1,351
    you know, it's highly probable that a faulty driver or an incompatible hw is the real culprit there. i suggest you delete all the partitions on your hdd/ssd including reserved ones and format it, then try a clean install.
     
  2. Umbra

    Umbra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Posts:
    5,780
    Location:
    Europe then Asia
    +1. Also use the drivers from the hardware vendors, not those offered by M****
     
  3. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    6,791
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    I've already been there and done that with the same result. Clearly you missed my message to Umbra.
     
  4. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    6,791
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Two machines, both upgrades and clean installs = fails.
     
  5. Umbra

    Umbra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Posts:
    5,780
    Location:
    Europe then Asia
    Disabled secureboot in BIOS?
    Reset BIOS to default settings?
     
  6. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    6,791
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    No. Only one of my machines is EUFI. The other isn't.
    Yes.

    Come on Umbra, you're really reaching now.
     
  7. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    5,812
    Windows 10 version 1903 available for all manual seekers
    https://www.ghacks.net/2019/06/07/windows-10-version-1903-available-for-all-manual-seekers/
     
    Last edited: Jun 7, 2019
  8. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4,143
  9. Azure Phoenix

    Azure Phoenix Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2014
    Posts:
    905
    I also had issues with the new upgrade. But a clean install fixed the issue.

    From what I understand the difference between @Krusty experience and mine might be due how we did a clean install differently.
     
  10. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    5,100
    Location:
    USA
    I've still not seen it offered on any PCs I have access to. I just use the ISO or Upgrade Advisor.

    ---I have to take that back. It is currently updating through Windows Update on a PC right now.
     
    Last edited: Jun 7, 2019
  11. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    1,351
    now then, did you dl update asst. from ms, dl 10 iso using it and then create a bootable usb using rufus? if this ain't the order you followed, give it a try.
     
  12. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    6,791
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    No thanks. I'm over it.
     
  13. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    11,784
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    I think you misunderstood me. In the future I will buy a completely new machine with Win 10 Home installed. Normally speaking, it will run just fine, so no need to install stupid updates that may break things.

    This risk is highly overrated. Most of the time, a hacker will first need to be able to exploit some app, before it can run a kernel exploit. Haven't patched Win XP in 10 years, never a problem. And Win 8 and 10 are a lot more secure.
     
  14. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,767
    I've tried several times to download Windows 10 version 1903 using the MediaCreationTool from MS to no avail, the download window remains open for hours on progress 0%. I have successfully upgraded my machine to 1903, but out of curiosity, I wanted to try a clean install to check whether there was any improvement in terms of speed (I have experienced two mild freezing of the system in two weeks but I can't honestly say for sure whether 1903 is responsible). Any ideas why the MediaCreationTool is not working? I live in Seoul.

    It has worked perfectly for past versions of Windows 10.
     

    Attached Files:

  15. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    6,791
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Have you tried changing your DNS settings just to see if that makes any difference? May not help but it couldn't hurt.
     
  16. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,767
    It worked. Thanks a lot Krusty! DNS was set on automatic selection, I changed it to Google DNS and voila'. It is strange though, as I mentioned, it has worked at least twice in the past with standard settings... Go figure!
     
  17. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    6,791
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Nice! Glad it worked for you. I'm becoming a bit of an expert on downloading 1903, it's just the installations I have trouble with. :confused:
     
  18. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    10,183
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    pb1,

    It can be removed.

    It is potentially dangerous as if you resize the Win10 OS partition to having less than 7 GB of Free Space, then Win10 becomes unbootable and can't be fixed. I have several Win10 test OS with 1 GB of Free Space so I'm not a fan of Reserved Storage.
     
    Last edited: Jun 9, 2019
  19. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    5,812
    What about "Fast Startup" mode? It was enabled or disabled during installation?
     
  20. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    6,791
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Disabled. Also, disabled immediately after the clean installs.
     
  21. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    12,027
    Location:
    UK
    What other tweaks are you doing after install? (both on clean install and upgrade)
     
  22. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    6,791
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Upgrade? None. Some tweak I have applied may be causing my machines to stall at the spinning dots, but I've read other people have ran into the same thing.

    Clean install? Well many. NoVirusThanks SysHardener + OSArmor being examples. Tweaking WD using PowerShell as well [PUA detection, update frequency to 1 hour + some risk reduction]. Disabled Edge from pre-launching and pre-loading. Maybe Windows doesn't like that?
     
  23. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    12,027
    Location:
    UK
    I just wondered if you did another clean install (when you are feeling strong!) without the tweaks (apart from the privacy ones in Settings.. privacy)
    and seen if things were ok then.
    It could help narrow things down.
     
  24. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    6,791
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    "When you are feeling strong", being the operative words, @stapp :D

    I don't know how long I can delay an upgrade now that it is sitting in Windows Update ready to be downloaded. I suspect I am living on borrowed time. :sick:
     
  25. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    3,505
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    My ThinkPad Yoga (4th Gen) Win Pro was offered v1903 on May 30 and upgraded without a hitch.

    And after a Check for Update my ancient HP Intel Atom N550 netbook now also. After two failed WU (timeout?) attempts since Friday, Update Assistant worked a charm (took 18 hours :argh:).

    But still waiting on my Dell XPS (8th Gen) Win Home. Could never update to v1809, after I was offered it eventually with a manual check, and even with Update Assistant or MCT ISO.
    Suspected a system corruption, but maybe there is a block on that system. Rather that, than clean install (yes I know, I know ... but I've never had to do a clean install).
     
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.